We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel... experience so/so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
fort collins
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful hotel... experience so/so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The building itself was phenomenal. Location can't be beat. Sometimes the service was wonderful, other times - not so much. For a hotel that ends up around $275.00 a night, you would think the hotel bar would have all the ingredients to make their signature cocktails. However during our two night stay, they were out of mint. For Real. How is that possible in a high end bar for two days to be out of mint? Some bad attitude from employees overshadow some others that tired hard to please. Unfortunately it wasn't near the experience that a good boutique hotel in downtown Denver provides. Won't stay again unless we get a much much better deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear makelymyday,

We’re very sorry you encountered some challenges during your visit to the St Julien. We strive to make every guest’s stay a memorable and enjoyable experience, and we’re never happy when a guest leaves with an unfavorable impression. I will personally follow up with you regarding your stay.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    109
    30
    19
    17
See reviews for
115
181
35
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed there for three nights over New Years and loved it. It's walking distance from all of the great shopping and eating on Pearl Street. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was very luxurious. We took advantage of the great happy hour at Jill's restaurant, as well as the hot tub. The lobby had entertainment every night we were there, which was a nice touch. I highly recommend the St. Julien. The concierge was really helpful and knowledgeable, and even checked us into our flights and printed our boarding passes from her computer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear lpearson337,

Thank you for enjoying your New Year’s celebration at the St Julien! We’re always thrilled when guests share milestone events or important holidays with us – and we’re especially pleased when we’re able to make the occasion extra special. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and took advantage of much of what the hotel has to offer. Happy New Year to you and yours! We hope you’ll be back to see us again before 2013.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Loved our stay at the St. Julienne. Comfy room with top notch amenities and a great view of the mountains. Service was excellent. It was nice to be able to park the car and walk everywhere from the hotel. Great food and nightlife are at your doorstep. Great for couples looking for a getaway.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the mountain, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear thefers,

Thanks so much for the great review. We’re so glad you enjoyed the mountain view and how easy it is to get around Boulder from the St Julien. Please consider us again for your next getaway.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed there for two nights on business.

Pros. Location is excellent. Walk to everything. Value. Average....a little pricy, but I felt it was worth it. Decor. Impressive, rooms, lobby, etc. Very well done, I was blown away by the bathrooms.

Cons. Not much to complain about. The live band is great, but can get loud but they wind down around 11 ish. Bars do let out which can be loud but nothing out of the ordinary.

Overall. I am back in the area again in February and will book the same hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for back of hotel. You get a great view of the flatiron mrs and avoid some of the bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Irishcreamer,

We love hearing from satisfied guests such as yourself, especially when they tell us they plan to return! Thanks very much for your great comments. We look forward to seeing you in February!

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was here two nights. The room was a good size and was generally clean, although there was an armchair in the room that needed a good clean as the arms had dark patches where people had been sitting and resting their hands - hence the score of only 2 for cleanliness.

The staff were very helpful and the bar area and lobby were very good. Live jazz one night when we were there which was better than the live music you sometimes find in hotels. Handy for down town boulder and we went out both nights to local restaraunts within a couple of blocks of the hotel.

I didn't use it personally but was told by a colleague I was travelling with that the gym and spa were quite small but OK.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear ARH51,

We appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed the live music during your stay. We work hard to create an atmosphere of casual elegance, and we think the music helps toward that end. Please return for another stay when you have a chance!

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

St. Julien is a well appointed, luxury hotel in the center of Boulder. We were thoroughly enjoying our weekend stay, until construction began in the spa, late on Saturday night. The noise was very annoying and made it hard to be in our room. I am not sure why the hotel would subject guests to construction noise on a weekend. Other than that, I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: hmmmm......doesn't seem right to have to ask if they are doing construction at night.........but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear CCC4,

We’re very sorry that our construction work in the spa became an inconvenience to you. We tried to schedule the work so it would have the least amount of impact on our guests, but obviously we missed the mark where you’re concerned. We hope you will visit us again so we can make it up to you.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice on business and both times have been extremely impressed with the rooms, the hotel facilities and the staff. A really good hotel. I would recommend highly!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Cmb1978,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We love our business guests and hope that you’ll come back and stay with us when you’re able to get away from work, as well.

Peter Walstra, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
#2 Family Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.