We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtle elegance, great staff and a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Julien Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Julien Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
St Julien Hotel and Spa
900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% savings with B&B Pkg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
701 helpful votes 701 helpful votes
“Subtle elegance, great staff and a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The St julien is everything you want in a small city hotel. Quality appointments, friendly, solicitous staff and. A great location.

Walking distance from the main walking street in the center of town, this hotel is convenient to the best restaurants and shops in town and only 5 minutes from CU.

The rooms are plush with great amenities. Linens, towels and bathrooms are top notch. As are the beds. And no noise from the street or other rooms.

All this without being stuffy. the lobby is active and fun.

we love the St Julien when we visit Boulder.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear msk6261,

Thank you for your generous review. I particularly like that you felt comfortable in the relaxed atmosphere we’ve tried to create here at the St Julien. We think that Boulder has an inviting, relaxed elegance and we’ve tried to replicate that in the atmosphere at the St Julien. It’s gratifying to hear that guests are enjoying it. Please come back and see us again.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    122
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
119
195
39
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I try to stay here any time I go to Boulder. Centrally located and great place to relax and the food is fantastic. Had a company event here for about 50 people and the Executive Chef and staff put on an amazing evening - from Cheese and charcuterie boards server with French baguette, Tableside flambé Shrimp scampi, Roasted Prime Rib carving station served with natural jus and Bearnaise sauce. Duck a L’Orange.Sauteed Alaskan Salmon filet with beurre blanc sauce, Garlic mashed potatoes and more. Would highly recommend for a company event!
The rooms are well appointed and there a few rooms with large balconies. HIghly recommend.Clean and elegantly appointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear BLKing,

Thank you for your kind note. Our staff at Jill’s Restaurant will be especially pleased to see all the nice things you had to say about your business event. I’ll be sure they get the information. Please consider us again for your next business (or personal) trip.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

For a hotel that is more costly than the Broadmoor, I expect service to be impeccable. It isn't at the St. Julien. We had drinks on the Terrace but waited 20 minutes for service & I finally had to go fetch a server. This is after a manager said someone would be right out. Mgr failed to tell anyone in the bar we (and 2 other tables) were waiting. Sat amidst dirty tables that evening, again had to go get our own drinks - bar mgr said we weren't sitting in a service area. It was on the Terrace again, with folks all around us, listening to the band. They were moving dirty dishes to be able to sit down. Sloppy! The room was fine but the comforter was stained (eew!) - the duvet came apart in the night to reveal a very nasty spot on the comforter. If we stay in Boulder again it will certainly be somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a Flatiron view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear bailey1560,

I’m terribly sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. We will contact you privately to get more detail and see if we can resolve your concerns.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This stay was my third at this property, and every time, I really enjoy it. Even though I have never used the Spa here, the bathrooms are like mini-spas with huge tubs, natural stone showers, and 'Canyon Mint' bath soaps, salts, and gels. Junior Suites have beautiful balconies with a sweeping view of the Flatirons. The hotel is a short distance from Pearl Street (good shopping and restaurants) and there's a scenic jogging path behind the hotel. I've stayed at one other property in Boulder, but no need to go back if there is a room at the St. Julien!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Bambi0920,

We love hearing from return guests – and love even more that they seem to continue to enjoy their time with us more with each visit. Thanks so much for your continued business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed two nights over Labor Day at the St. Julien. It was great in every way. The rooms are all spacious and have luxury bathrooms with tub and shower. The hotel restaurants and bar are top notch as well as the pool and fitness facilities. I had two treatments at the spa which were also timely and reasonably priced. The location is reasonably walkable to all of the major attractions and many hiking trails. Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear pittraveler08,

We’re so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us over the Labor Day weekend. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of a wide variety of the hotel’s amenities, which is the best way to stay at the St Julien. Please do come back and visit us again.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just came back from visiting my son at CU. We have stayed at pretty much all the hotels in the area, however, if you can afford the premium look no further. The St. Julian is in the same class as some of the best hotels in Chicago. The service is exceptional, the common area is very well done and the rooms are beautiful. Our room had a balcony overlooking the mountains, almost special

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear woodmanChicago,

Thanks very much for the kind words! We always appreciate it when guests compare us to hotels in some of the world’s biggest and best cities – and we strive to make the St Julien experience as special as possible. We’re glad you had such a wonderful stay – and please come visit us again.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Definitely a top notch hotel for facilities - both the individual rooms and common areas probably make it the best hotel in Boulder (although I can't really compare because I haven't stayed anywhere else). Hotel also has little "extra touches" (eg. turndown service, bathrobes etc..) that are fitting of a 5 star hotel. The service is also excellent -- especially the concierge (Lori) who was particularly knowledgeable and helpful. The only negative I noted is one that has been reported by others -- not being able to sit outside and have a drink on a nice afternoon because of a wedding. Overall the hotel is on the pricey side - but is worth it. Definitely recommend.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StJulienHotel, General Manager at St Julien Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Franny67,

So glad you think the St Julien is the best hotel in Boulder. And thanks so much for your complement on our concierge services. It’s important that guests know they have a resource for information on Boulder and the surrounding area, as well as on what’s available at the hotel. We apologize that a wedding prevented you from enjoying a drink outside on the patio. The next time you visit us we’re hoping you can enjoy that drink with a view.

Peter Walstra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Julien Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Julien Hotel and Spa

Address: 900 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boulder
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
#1 Business Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for daily Happy Hour from 4:00 to 6:30pm daily. Our terrace is open for food and drinks, and features live entertainment most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Julien Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julien Hotel Boulder
St Julien Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Julien Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.