We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallops of Wonder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbriar Inn

Greenbriar Inn
8735 N Foothills Hwy, Boulder, CO 80302-9350
303-440-7979
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Greenbriar Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 36 & Lefthand Canyon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scallops of Wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

1980's decor. 1960's feel. Strange rock tables from Bedrock. The food sublime. The service was unevenly paced...sometimes the waiter appeared, the bartender helped serve, another bar tender came out, and it took us over a half an hour to get the check. it was sort of a surprise who might show up next, but everyone that dropped by the table was helpful. We ate outside which added to the feeling that it was a special night in our own little tucked away inn. Scallops were amazing, salmon was perfect, the Caesar sald made table side I could've eaten all night. The grapefruit sorbet not only cleansed the palette, but delighted the whole table. A great place to impress a date, but somehow it also calls to mind the casual elegance that would please Don Draper

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cannot speak to any other meals at the Greenbriar Inn, but I can highly recommend the brunch. The only thing that keeps me from giving it an "excellent" is that fact that it is a buffet. But the tables were beautifully set; the room is very attractive; the garden is lovely; and the food was delicious--from oysters on the half shell to specially prepared omelets to tasty desserts. The wait staff was attentive and friendly, and there was no skimping on the champagne. I hope to go back before we leave Colorado for an evening meal here. Everything I saw and tasted made me think it would be a fine dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a one of a kind experience and should not be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is one of the best all around dining experiences I have ever had and I have had MANY in several cities coast to coast! The food is absolutely incredible and the service is superb. Special occasions are perfect for this establishment. Wine list to match...be ready to spend some money and be ready to have a culinary experience that you will not forget. Noteworthy items I have had here and recommend: pork belly appetizers, foi gras, duck entrees, and of course any of the beef is prime. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, at the base of the mountains and much of the food is grown right on the property.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Forever Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was one of those dishes that makes you rave about it, case and point. The location is superb, never a hassle with parking, everyone is very friendly, oh, and the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsenburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak Tar Tar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just stopped by the Greenbriar with 10 people, family and friends, at8:30 pm, following a friends memorial service in Jamestown. They made the Steak Tartar special for me since it I knew it used to be on the menu. Both the Ceasar's Salad & the Steak Tartar were made table side. Service was impeccable and everyone else raved about their food, from steak to duck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbriar Inn also viewed

 

Been to Greenbriar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbriar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.