We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Root Beer, go somewhere else for food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BJ's Pizza Grill & Brewery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BJ's Pizza Grill & Brewery
1690 28th Street, Boulder, CO 80302-5103
303-402-9294
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Californian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic Root Beer, go somewhere else for food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went for a late lunch and our server, though we were at a booth, was also the bartender. He quickly got our drinks and took our order and didn't come back until after I notified the manager of problems at our table. My wife & I ordered the deep dish wheat crust veggie pizza. (Substituted roasted red peppers for the olives). A different server brought out two plates for us. They had hardened cheese on them. It took about 5 minutes and I finally got the attention of a manager who quite apologetically brought us clean plates. 30 minutes after we ordered, our pizza arrived and the manager showed up to serve us. My wife took a first bite and commented that the pizza was cold. I picked up the pan in my bare hands (the server had proudly carried it out with a gripper set because it was very hot) and again flagged down the manager. We eventually got a hot pizza, and the manager did take the pizza off our bill ..... but if you want good pizza stop in at Old Chicago on the other side of Pearl Street.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great brew pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

BJs is big, loud, busy and good fun. Nothing fancy, good burgers, huge menu and Fat Tyre, plus 99 other beers.Plenty of tv screens, with funny US sports playing, only joking Uncle Sam

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kent, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We arrived in Boulder in time for a late dinner. I did a search in the GPS for nearby brewery's and BJ's came up. Atmosphere is great, menu is huge and they seem to have a beer for any preference you may have. My husband ordered the Mozz. and Tomato salad followed by fish tacos, I had the watermelon feta salad followed by small pork chop and fresh green beans and baby reds. FOOD was so GOOD we went back for lunch the following day! Service was great also! Look forward to visiting again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Micro Brew with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

All staff is very friendly, they offered and served a 2nd Pizza after the first fell off the table (being already eaten halveway) without the restaurant's fault, very tasty food, good beer :-) decent size of portions .... The owner came by and said hello, which always gives a nice touch to the place. I really do not know what else to say ..

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good choice for families with little ones (esp. those w/ allergies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After confirming that our 4 year old with nut and dairy allergies could have something on the menu (pizza, no cheese), we decided to make a go of it while my wife's mother was visiting from out of town. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodating treatment by the wait staff, and even the manager on duty who stopped by our table. This is notable for us as we also had our 6 month old (+stroller) in tow which can make us a dreaded pariah for "sit down" restaurants.

And of course there's the food, which was good and went well with their house beers which, while not standout (a difficult accomplishment in this neck of the woods, to be sure), was certainly a worthy accompaniment.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Pizza Grill & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to BJ's Pizza Grill & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BJ's Pizza Grill & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.