We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Indian buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Restaurant

Taj Restaurant
2630 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80305-3325
303-494-5216
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $13 - $13
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Scenic view
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Scenic view
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Above average Indian buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I recently ate at Taj for the second time, the first having been when my son graduated from CU several years ago. Two of us had the buffet and found it to be very good. The price is certainly right and the staff is pleasant and caring. I would go there again in a heartbeat. It is certainly one of the better Indian restaurants I have eaten in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

First time at the Taj. Dropped in on a Thurs for lunch. I thought the buffet was quite excellent actually. Good choice of entries. Will definitely try again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, no problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were there with a group of 16. We were accommodated in the back room, and we all had the buffet. Something for everyone, and it was very good. We did not have the server confusion that other people wrote about, but maybe that's because we were a mass of people and our inertia carried us through! This was walking distanced from our hotel, and we considered ourselves fortunate to have a non-fast-food option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Taj is a very good Indian restaurant with a varied menu that includes all the regulars: samosas, muligatawny soup, delicious naans (try the kabuli naan seasoned with nuts and dates). The curries and biryanis are very good and there are many vegetarian items, such as saag paneer to delight the senses. Service is efficient and courteous. This is the place for a good Indian dinner accompanied by cold bottle of Kingfisher.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service can hurt your experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Friday night. 5 out of 8 got the buffet, 3 ordered off the menu. The taste of the food was pretty average, selection at the buffet was good. Our waitress was super confused, she must be used to everyone going to the buffet. The non-buffet order were brought out wrong

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.