We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buff Restaurant

Buff Restaurant
2600 Canyon Blvd, Boulder, CO 80302
303-442-9150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Tampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I went to Buff on a Thursday morning while we were visiting Boulder upon the reviews of this website. We were greeted and sat right away at a table in the quaint diningroom. I am a type of person who needs a water refill often so I enjoyed the water pitcher on the table with fresh lemons. We both ordered and the food was out within minutes. The menu was varied and interesting and we really enjoyed the food. Our waiter was attentive and seemed genuinely nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    53
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Iconic breakfast cafe but very tired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Buff has not changed in 25 years. The decor, piles of setups and napkins and a awkward self service plastic pitcher of water sit on the worn out tables, and the quirky but small canning jars attest to this fact. The breakfast menu is as extensive and interesting as ever, but the friendly servers in their "Eat in the Buff" t-shirts are stretched way too thin. The breakfast potatoes and eggs were finally served only lukewarm. Somewhat disquieting to see was that The Buff has seemed to taken a page from the airlines with a number of adders to their menu's prices. "Real" maple sirup is $3 extra, for example. This place could be great again, but based on today's visit it isn't any more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

During my 1st trip to Boulder a friend recommended this local restaurant known for their amazing breakfast. We went on a chilly morning around 10, so we had to wait about 40 minutes before being seated. The place was packed with a mix of local families, couples and college students. The wait was definitely worth it!

I had the pacific benedict and it was absolutely delicious!! Others in the group had the baja benny and the ole homestead skillet. Everything looked & tasted awesome! Great weekend breakfast!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've never been disappointed with anything on their menu, and I've been there many times. The atmosphere is great, it's in a convenient location, Love the Heartland and the Matterhorn!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located across the street from the Boulder Marriott, it's an easy to walk to if you are staying there. We had our first experience at the restraurant on a Sunday morning. Not recommended...when we arrived there was a 15-20 minute wait. We sat at the "first come-first served" bar and we were in and out within a reasonable time. Service was not neglected at the bar. When we left the wait was 45 minutes. Because the food was so good, we decided to return on Monday. Needless to say, the crowd had thinned out. Overall the breakfast food was excellent..I went from coast to coast with the California omelet to the Atlantic omelet! Both were wonderful, but totally differently.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buff Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buff Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.