We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
1039 Pearl St, Boulder, CO 80302
(303) 544-5973
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 11th Street
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently ate dinner at the Kitchen with three friends. We were able to get a reservation same day (made around 3pm) for dinner at 7:30 that night.
We started our meal with delicious cocktails and wine. The server was helpful describing the drinks and wine with great knowledge, and we were all happy with our choices.
For dinner we had the price fixe family style meal. One of our group could not eat a part of the meal due to food allergy and they were able to add extra hummus and crostini to supplement her aspect of the meal. Otherwise the price fixe is not able to be changed. Appetizer of olives, crostini with pea tapanade, and beet salad were fantastic! The meal- mussels with white sauce (with lots of crostini for dipping juice!), crab pasta, and Colorado lamb was superb! We had adequate portion size for our group, none to spare, but we couldn't have eaten another bite! The dessert, strawberries with cream were delicious and just right after our large meal. I had wine with dinner that was a portuguese red and it was perfect.
It was a great night out with friends!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    113
    36
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had lunch here and the price is VERY reasonable. The offer a lunch menu for $12 which includes a smal salad and pasta, or pizza, or pannini. The portions a big enough to satisfy your hunger. The only issue I had with the place was that they charged me $2.00 for a small bread (french roll like). The staff eas friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Kitchen is a Friendly Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a great dinner with family at the Kitchen. The steak and roasted lamb were great and the home made pasta was very creamy and delicious. Loved the cheese balls and the octopus appetizers. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. The hostess was also friendly. Too often they tend to be aloof and uninterested in their guests. Not the case in the Kitchen. We felt like valued friends. We will be back.

Only criticism is one I have for many restaurants today, the staff in general needs to watch for tables that need bussed. Leaving empty dishes on the table too long is aggravating and needs management attention.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Great,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excellent site for a relaxing lunch. Get there early or make a reservation. On the mall, open air, lunch specials, med. priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Thank you TripAdvisor for helping us find this jewel of a restaurant! We were in Boulder to visit the campus and wanted a nice lunch and found the Kitchen. We had a FANTASTIC lunch! Our server Sergei could not have been more helpful. Everything we ordered from my daughter's mac and cheese to my son's steak frites was outstanding. Very fresh and organic ingredients. My wife and I shared the lamb burger and peeky toe crab salad (it was the standout) and they paired it with some very nice wines. BTW, I really like their wine list. It is well-selected and quite unusual compared to most wine lists. We loved the South African Rhone varietal with our lamb. We were all stuffed but the dessert menu was very compelling so we ordered the Eton Mess and sticky toffee pudding. Wow! They were amazing! Not a bite was left. Highly recommend the Kitchen. On par with Sweet Basil in Vail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.