We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bistro on Pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
1039 Pearl St, Boulder, CO 80302
(303) 544-5973
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 507 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 11th Street
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing bistro on Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arriving from LA, we were so excited to be recommended to this wonderful boutique restaurant nestled on the very popular Pearl Street. We sat at the bar, ordered delicious chicken, grilled octopus, roasted carrots and parsnips and the most tasty tomato soup.

One of the highlights of The Kitchen is the massive beer list - thank you Stefan! Over 60 handcrafted, unique beers, ranging from English style Ales and Lagers to Abbey Ales and Barrel Aged Wild Ales. This will definitely be our go-to restaurant on future trips to Boulder. Rumor has it The Kitchen may be making its way west to the very hip Venice, CA area **keeping our fingers crossed**

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    124
    40
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Situated at ths start of the Pearl St. pedestrian mall and all the people watching opportunities, The Kitchen is a marvelous restaurant. This was my 2nd second lunch visit, a favorite of some architect clients in a nearby office. A bright, open, simple interior space does not prepare you mentally for the food event you are about to enjoy. Starting with the crusty bread, or an order of their crunchy crispy fries, you will have a wide assortment of fresh, organic dishes to enjoy. The salads are all wonderful, but on this visit I had a wonderful tagliatelle pasta with a rich and flavorful bolognese sauce. This is a great place and deserves more attention. I'd love to try dinner there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fresh and Organic - Like Boulder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Kitchen has it all... a great location on Pearl Street, upscale yet comfortable ambience, fresh organic food, and friendly, attentive staff. Our group tried a little of almost everything and found all of it delicious. From the light endive salad in yogurt dressing to the duck or gnocchi, every bite is a burst of flavor. Pearl Street offers a lot of restaurant choices, and The Kitchen is worth checking out. If making reservations, be prepared to provide a $10 per person deposit which is refunded if canceled >24 hours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I visit Boulder often and the Kitchen is always one of my favorite stops, this visit I sat at the Bar for Lunch, the Bartender was totally preoccupied with chatting to the other staff, after I was served the Mushrooms on Toast he never once came by to check on everything. This dish is usually outstanding however on this occasion it was really Salty...I mentioned this to the Bartender when I was paying the Bill, his response to me was that he would let the Chef know...hopefully my experience was just a blip on the Radar of a usually great place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great service, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Came here directly from the airport on our way to a Denver meeting. We had heard about the concept and wanted to see the original vs the new one in Denver. We were very pleased. Gracious hostess, knowledgeable and personable waitress with great recommendations, good tight wine list and totally awesome extremely tasty food. Ambiance is great and a perfect fit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.