We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lee Yuan Chinese Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lee Yuan Chinese Cuisine
4800 Baseline Rd Ste A110, Boulder, CO 80303-2643
(303) 494-4210
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Delivery time was 1 hour 45 min.!!! It was my boyfriend and my 2 year anniversary and we always order from Lee Yuan. After an hour and a half I called and they told me that the cook in the kitchen was "old" and that's why it was taking so long. My problem? No. We had also ordered online and it said that we would get a free chocolate cake with a $20 purchase. When our food showed up an hour and forty-five minutes later, the delivery guy was laughing and they had forgotten the cake! I called and had to BEG them for a refund. Now, one week later, the charge is STILL on my bank statement and now they're saying, "there's not much they can do." I call shenanigans. We used to love this place and now I tell everyone I know how horrible this experience was. They ruined our anniversary dinner!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Consistent for decades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a little family-operated Chinese restaurant in a shopping center. It has been in the same location for decades. My experience is that the food is consistently good and well-prepared. But I must admit, I don't go to a place like this for fancy dishes with shrimp and lobster sauce -- I go for their basic lunch specials, starting 6 days a week at 11 a.m.

A lot of people get carryout here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My vegetarian daughter and I dined here on a whim. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was fresh, well-prepared and delicious. I had sesame chicken, she had family style tofu. We were both very pleased. There were nice hunks of white-meat in the sesame chicken (sometimes it seems you don't get much meat when you order this dish) and it included some perfectly prepared broccoli. My daughter loved her tofu and vegetables. Service was friendly and prompt and we were informed the restaurant has been open for more than 50 years.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The WORST Chinese eatery in Boulder”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

TERRIBLE!!! What a complete waste of money and time. We ordered the following:
House Pan Fried Noodle, Shrimp & Lobster Sauce, Crab Cheese Wontons, and eggrolls. I spent just over $30 on the food. HORRIBLE!!!

First, the pan fried noodles were BURNED BLACK, my 5 year old wouldn't even touch them. The lobster sauce was a full can of uncooked peas and carrots and I could see the black veins all over the dish where the chef was to lazy to clean them. Lastly, the crab cheese wontons were hard, cold, and appeared to have been made hours if not days before.

I am a TRUE fan of good Chinese food having grown up in NYC. There are some really good ones, Golden Lotus is great, Orchid Pavilion was great when they were open, right now the best is China Gourmet. So please, trust me, don't waste your money at this poor excuse for a Chinese eatery.

To top it all off I called to tell the owner about my experience and she called me a liar. Horrible food and horrible service.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Not too bad actually. I was surprised but a small place. Of course I asked for the chinese menu instead of their regular menu.

Their mapo tofu is good which I can recommend.

Overall, not much to complain. And I would come back when I am around Boulder again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Yuan Chinese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Lee Yuan Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lee Yuan Chinese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.