We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Real Vietnamese Food In The Scary People's Republic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Thuy Restaurant

Chez Thuy Restaurant
2655 28th St, Boulder, CO 80301-1219
303-442-1700
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 449 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb Real Vietnamese Food In The Scary People's Republic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I normally avoid Boulder, Colorado like I do Donald Trump's barber and Pakistan. However, I happily make an exception when I want outstanding Vietnamese cuisine. Chez Thuy is where I get that cuisine.

Since 1996, my wife and I have been coming to this very popular, award-winning (many) restaurant on 28th Street. When you pull in, park out back where there are more spaces than the handful you see in front.

Rub Budda's belly for luck when you walk in. He is on the right.

Don't want to wait for a table? Get there early. Don't like to read? Then you won't like the massive menu.

Start with the fresh spring rolls with shrimp. Dip them in the hot (spicy) sauce. Oh, man.

Many people get the lettuce wraps. I like the stuffed grape leaves, which have a unique and wonderful flavor. The hot pots are also very popular, as are the soups (excellent pho). I order the amazing soft-shell crabs or the five-spice duck. My wife likes the pork spring rolls, as do I.

Occasionally service might be a bit slow, but we overlook that due to the quality of the food.

Do yourself a favor and hit Chez Thuy.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing since it was so crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Since the restaurant was packed, I assumed it was great. Perhaps they were understaffed, but I found the service slow. The eggrolls were dry, and we didn't get enough lettuce to wrap them up. My pho had no flavor, but was like basic broth and noodles.

One good thing: a friend in our party left her purse there, and it was safely behind the counter when we went back to find it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“unfortunately terrible service and food quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We've eaten here several times and it has been ok. Our recent trip was a disaster. We were seated 47 minutes after our reservation, the food took another 30 minutes to arrive, the order had errors in it and we ordered a to-go meal for a sick relative and it wasn't prepared! The final bill was incomprehensible so we don't even know if we over paid. The chicken used in the dishes was fatty and squishy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trying to do too much - they should stick to the basics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

The service was quite good. Some of the food was terrific and right on. For example, the pad thai was exceptional, and there's a dish it's easy to make mistakes on - noodles too dry or chewy, too much tamarind, not enough fish sauce for flavor depth. This dish was very well-executed. The chicken basil was not. The sauce was good enough and the chicken cooked well (neither underdone nor rubbery) but instead of the green beans on the menu the chef used broccoli, and the flavor profiles of Thai basil and broccoli are not well-suited for one another. The worst was a tofu sesame dish. It was the only tofu dish where the tofu was actually cooked (instead of hunks of un-fried or -seared mush) but everything was coated in a sickly-sweet sauce straight out of a can. Unimpressed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Boulder Lunch Value Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We've been visiting Chez Thuy for the last six years on a regular basis. Excellent fresh food and best Value lunch in Boulder. Our family of five can get full of fresh and healthy food for under $40 and still have some leftovers to take home. Love this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Thuy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Thuy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Thuy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.