We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know it's good when ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atelier

L'Atelier
1739 Pearl St, Boulder, CO 80302-5516
(303) 442-7233
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Atelier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 18th & Pearl
Ken Caryl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You know it's good when ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

You know it's good when half the patrons in the restaurant are speaking French. Clearly the native French enjoy this establishment, as did we. The menu is heavy on french seafood dishes, however the wine list leans towards the traditional American palate (full bodied reds) , which have more limited pairings on the menu. A deeper listing of French wines, especially whites & lighter bodied reds , would compliment the menu nicely. The pricing was reasonable & the food was delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem right on Pearl Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've walked by this restaurant hundreds of times. The unassuming facade doesn't hint at the exceptional restaurant within. While seated at the booths, you feel like you're almost in a private hideaway. And the food! Be prepared for WOW! Each day the menu is printed, so you know the selections are fresh. When we were there, the Soup of the Moment (don't you love that heading??) was a velvety corn soup. The rack of lamb was done perfectly and the trout my husband had was great. When we made the reservation, we indicated we were celebrating a birthday. And dessert arrived with a candle! Exceptional wine list, marvelous food and a surprise interior. We had art work by our table, the glass fish on the ceiling are so colorful and be sure to visit the restroom area to see the doors!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food was amazing, everything on the menu looked great. The perfect date. Excellent service and recommendations. Beautiful space and everyone was dressed up, which is rare in Boulder so it was nice to go out somewhere that truly felt nice. This will be our new 'special' restaurant and I cant wait to go back already!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Complex tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. Neither of us have much experience with French cuisine but we thoroughly enjoyed the complex and intricate dishes. It is a great opportunity to try two things I've always wanted to try - sweetbreads and duck confit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natick, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Graduation from BDW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been traveling to Boulder for the past 6 years, while our daughter was first an undergrad and then a grad student. We decided to try something new for her graduation celebration and were delighted. The food was wonderful and the servings were generous. We tried the tartar, fois gras, lobster ravioli, double duck and half chicken. All perfect. The only "complaint" was meal took a little longer then expected to come out of the kitchen (very French) and we had to ask for a second bottle of wine, twice. Not a big deal, really. I would absolutely go back again. I loved the decor too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.