We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views at a high price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flagstaff House Restaurant

Flagstaff House Restaurant
1138 Flagstaff Rd, Boulder, CO 80302-9510
303-442-4640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Flagstaff House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 445 Restaurants in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
lesliegb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful views at a high price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This, no doubt, has some of the nicest views of the Flatirons, so that alone creates some special ambience. The service was impeccable, and the food was good. I guess I'm not as impressed as others, since in terms of quality of food, I've dined at other restaurants in the Boulder/Denver area where I thought the food was just as good, but at half the price. Perhaps if money is not your concern, this review really doesn't apply. But we don't eat out all that often, so when we do, not only do we want a nice experience, but want to feel like our money was well spent. It was a lovely experience, but I probably won't return, since $200 for a meal is a little above my budget.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    33
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A very special place for a very special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We celebrated our 29th anniversary and our daughter's graduation from college. It had been a while since our last visit to the Flagstaff. The views are still stunning, the food is outstanding, and the service is first-rate. There is no other place in the Front Range with this combination of fabulousness. Sure, there is great food in other places but no place else has the amazing views and few places can match the service (particularly the wine service). If you are looking for something really special, the Flagstaff House is the place. But, be prepared to pay handsomely for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“It's Celebration Time Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Four of us dined at Flagataff House last night.....June 8,2014. This was all arranged by my son and we were celebrating my birthday (June 10th), Father's Day next week and a friend's birthday in August.

The dining room was busy for a Sunday evening and I think last night's meal was the best we've had there.We shared 3 starters: the quail......the pigs ears.......and the bacon. ALL EXCELLENT. I could probably dream about the bacon weekly.

Son had pork tenderloin (divine), his friend had the steak(his eyes rolled it was so good) and DH and I had the strip loin w/short ribs.(De-lish).

While we begged NO DESSERTS, son ordered the sticky toffee pudding w/ice cream(it's mind blowing) and the creme brulee w/berries.(Excellent).

This is another time I'm thrilled this was a treat.......the guys had cocktails, there was 3 bottles of Pelegrino at the table and we had 2 bottles of wine. One was a Montes Alpha Cabernet from Chile($58) and the other was a Mendel Malbec from Argentina.($66). These are at low price points , but were lovely.

What a terrific dining experience and evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked a last minute reservation on a whim looking for a fancy dinner in Boulder, so glad we did. From the minute we arrived, the night was spectacular. I can't say enough about the excellent staff, both of our meals were large portions and prepared to perfection. The table appetizer was a nice touch as well as the sorbet after the salad course and the small dessert treats after the main course. The wine list was a bit overwhelming but fun to look at, we did find a nice affordable bottle in our price range with the help of the sommelier. Wow, and we can't forget what a view we had of Boulder. Price is high but what you get it was worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Special Occasion with an Excellent View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Took my sweety there for her Birthday. Food and Service were Excellent. Expensive however. Loved the view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flagstaff House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Flagstaff House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flagstaff House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.