We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband loves the weather, but was not overly impressed with NARC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Center for Atmospheric Research

National Center for Atmospheric Research
1850 Table Mesa Dr, P.O. Box 3000, Boulder, CO 80305
+1 303-497-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Attractions in Boulder
Type: Science Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore hands-on exhibits about weather, climate, the Sun, the atmosphere, and art-science connections in this famous I.M. Pei-designed building. Other options: a wheelchair-accessible outdoor weather trail, guided tours for the public at noon on Monday/Wednesday/Friday except holidays, and a Guide-By-Cell audio tour (using your phone). Free admission, open 363 days a year. Hours: M-F 8am-5pm; Weekends & holidays 9am-4pm. Visit our website for information about your visit, including organized group tours and to find out about our two annual maintenance closure dates.
Middletown, DE
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My husband loves the weather, but was not overly impressed with NARC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Self guided tour. Displays were done nicely, with each area designated to a specific topic. But, we could have just as easily read/seen the same information on the internet. It was not a very large facility, so didn't feel like it was worth the drive. We've traveled to Boulder several times, and my husband has always wanted to check NSRC out. We finally did, and he left disappointed.

We did see hiking trails on the property, but did not walk any. With all the other choices, not sure I'd go out of the way to walk these trails - sure they were nice, but there are plenty of nice trails in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Science and Nature in One Tidy Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The drive to NCAR is award winning as is the architecture of the building. They have a small, hands on science center that is child friendly and tours of the facility. I'd call ahead if you want a tour. A short loop trail in the mountains is perfect for those with small children or knee issues or those trying to acclimate to the altitude. Beautiful views and educational weather markers along the way. You can access a more difficult trail, sometimes steep and rocky, if you are interested. They have a nice cafe or you can bring a picnic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Museum of Weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The lobby of NCAR is essentially a weather museum. There are exhibits on climate, weather, and space weather which are all very interesting. It's free and open 7 days a week. The building itself is extremely impressive, and it is also surrounded by hiking trails. So there is a lot to enjoy if you visit NCAR.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Time Filler and Learning Opportunity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had some extra time during our visit....but not enough for a bigger event. So we headed up to NCAR. I wanted to see the view from there....and was curious as to their visitor center.

This ended up being a very nice visit. The views are fantastic as expected...and if your interested there are some nice hiking trails immediately around the facility.

We also went to the visitor center, which was up to date and very nice for educational opportunities to learn about our atmosphere. The displays cover a wide range of age groups of visitors.

I enjoyed the visit, learned a few things, got some great photo's outdoors with the scenery, it's easy to access....just a short ride from downtown Boulder.

Enjoy

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was a good 2 hour visit with the family. Very educational and informative but some of the exhibits were broken and out of service. We enjoyed the travelling photo exhibits.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Center for Atmospheric Research also viewed

 

Been to National Center for Atmospheric Research? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Center for Atmospheric Research, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.