We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interactive! And Free!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory

Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory
4600 Sleepytime Dr, Boulder, CO 80301
303-530-5300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Food & Drink in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover how tea is made on a tour that includes a video, a walk through the Celestial Herb Garden, a tour of the tea bag factory and a visit to the aromatic Mint Room.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and interactive! And Free!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great learning experience about tea from picking to drinking. Free tastings and sweet gift shop. Tour is informative and staff is pleasant and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    205
    30
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great way to spend a morning in Boulder. Start in the tasting room and sample many of their hot and iced teas and then on to the tour. It takes around 45 minutes and it's fun to see the working process happening. The mint room is incredible. Definitely worth a visit. Tours leave on the hour most of the day and there's also a restaurant and gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have to say that I'm quite passionate about tea, and while Celestial Seasonings is not my favorite brand, I was pleasantly surprised to find that they were located in Boulder. The 'ticket' for the tour is a free packet of tea and while you are waiting there is a large sampling of tea available for tasting. All of this and the tour free of charge. It was very interesting to see how the tea is packaged and made and I loved stepping into the mint room, filled with an overwhelming delicious aroma. The tour ends at a gift shop with every variety of Celestial Seasonings that you can imagine, some not available in stores and the prices are actually less than you'd find at your local grocery store. All in all, I was impressed. I'm generally not someone who goes out of their way for a factory tour and I know my love of tea had a little to do with my enjoyment but I think it's a worthwhile stop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took this tour after touring Ben&Jerry's and Cabot Cheese on our last trip. I mention that because unlike those tours Celestial does not charge a fee and takes you on to the factory floor rather than a glass enclosed viewing area. They also give a a 4 pack tea envelope as your "teakit". The flavor changes on each hourly tour.
As usual you end up in the gift shop, but here the prices are good and variety of teas large. Then you can go back to where the tour starts for unlimited sampling of at least 8 flavors of hot and iced teas.
About 15 minutes from downtown Boulder in a residential neighborhood, this is a nice tour for a rainy day. Don't forget to look for the large prairy dog communities on both sides of the road as you leave!
Children under 5 are not permitted on the tour and hairnets are mandatory (furnished)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun time and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you like or love tea a great place to spend a few hours. The tour of the facility is wonderful especially the mint room. All the tea in the stores is made right there. Then the store is so much fun. Get the tea flavor that you can never find. Plenty of sampling for all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory also viewed

 

Been to Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celestial Seasonings Tea Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.