We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food tastes good but bring a microscope” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riff's Urban Fare

Riff's Urban Fare
1115 Pearl St., Boulder, CO 80302
303-440-6699
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Riff's Urban Fare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 11th st
Transit: RTD and local bus service.
Description: tel 303 440-6699opened recently
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Food tastes good but bring a microscope”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

NOTE: Star rating reflects taste of food, not value for money paid.

What You Need To Know:

Menu is a la carte.

Food is admittedly very good but portions are not adequate.

When you look at the menu, it seems like the prices are fairly reasonable. Then the food comes:

I paid $60 for a smaller-than-average salad, an artfully-styled but laughably small entree (the food literally covered only 1/4 of the entire plate), 1/2 bottle of wine, and tip. If that's worth the money to you, then have at it. I won't go here again unless it's for lunch or happy hour. My friend ordered a burger and easily had twice as much food as I did (and for less money than my supposed "entree").

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    47
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Happy Hours in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great apps and wine which has good price points. Bartenders the best. Rellenos were great this summer, but not on fall menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicoastal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This is a cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

You know how it is. You visit a really cool restaurant while you are traveling, and you MEAN to review it on TripAdvisor right away, but you get caught up in all of the activities of travel and it doesn't happen. But when a great restaurant experience comes back to mind even months after your visit, you realize it clearly warrants review. Such was our experience at Riff's Urban Fare on Pearl Street in Boulder. My husband and I were shopping on Pearl Street last summer when we came upon Riff's. It just had that artsy cool vibe that draws you in. We chose a seat in the very comfy bar, and enjoyed the gorgeous decor and the wit of the bartender while we waited for our lunch to be served. When our food arrived, it was as artistically presented as the bar itself, and we were equally pleased with its flavor and quality. We couldn't resist ordering the peach shortcake for dessert, and it was simply magnificent. If we lived in Boulder, there is no question that we would become regulars at Riff's. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great veggies, busy but not too noisy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Shared several veggie samplers - cauliflower, brussel sprouts based which were tasty! Salad, salmon entres were great. We had a great time on a busy Friday night. We would come back, for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful imaginative dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

On Pearl Street in the heart of Boulder. Great food, fresh ingredients. Jimmy's 6 hour pork shoulder sandwich delicious $9. Open all day. Perfect.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riff's Urban Fare also viewed

 

Been to Riff's Urban Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riff's Urban Fare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.