We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Indian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Curry n Kebob

Curry n Kebob
3050 28th St, Boulder, CO 80301-1314
720-328-4696
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 508 Restaurants in Boulder
Cuisines: Indian
Description: From the owner of the renowned Maharaja Restaurant, a new, smaller, cozy space featuring the same chef and same delicious, authentic North Indian and Bangladesh Cuisine made to order. All entrees are gluten free and lots of vegetarian and vegan options. Hallal food.
Restaurant details
Description: From the owner of the renowned Maharaja Restaurant, a new, smaller, cozy space featuring the same chef and same delicious, authentic North Indian and Bangladesh Cuisine made to order. All entrees are gluten free and lots of vegetarian and vegan options. Hallal food.
COLORADO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quick Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I liked how fast the service was initially, but once you ordered it was difficult to get any additional service. It was crowded and all of the empty tables needed to be cleaned. It was self serve for tableware and napkins, which I don't mind, but the tableware and napkin bins were empty. The food looked great, but the sauces relied too heavily on salt for flavor. It was not the usual well blended variety of spices you would expect of Indian food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent curry and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The curry here was amazing. I like pretty much any curry, but there are those that are amazing and get added to my "keeper" list and this is one of them. I had the chicken curry at a med+ spice level and it was perfect. Extremely fresh and flavorful with loads of chicken. It came with a big plate of well-cooked rice. My husband had the lamb saag and it was good as well. We ordered the cheese naan and it was great too. All together for about $23. They do also have specials of a choice of entrees, naan, rice for $7.95. We just didn't want any of the entree choices. The place is small and filled up quickly while we were there. Friendly, quick, no-frills, just good curry service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Presentable hole in a wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Will it matter if I said that the food at this joint looks so good when served, that my greedy self completely forgot to take pictures of everyone's order.

The restaurant owned by a courteous Bangladeshi family is a presentable hole in a wall in the strip mall right next to Conoco. Typically I am very skeptical of such places when it comes to Indian/Pakistani food. It can either be a great hit or an awful miss but Curry N Kebob hits the spot just right. They are serving the best South Asian food in Denver hands down & on top of that they are not at all expensive like other Indian places in town.

You place your order at the counter & they bring it up to you. You can either choose form the daily special posted on the chalk board up front at $7.95 which includes your choice of entrée (there were quite a few to choose from) along with veggie samosa, naan, boiled basmati rice, green & red chutney & fruit or look at the menu & take your pick from there.

Our orders included:
Meat samosas $3.00 (made of lamb, seasoned just right, a crispier crust would have been just perfect)

2 picks from the daily special which included Chicken Makhni & Chicken Kabab. Chicken Makhni was good, not too hot or too mild. Definitely comparable to the stuff I make at home) Chicken kababs were boneless chicken chunks seasoned & cooked just right. Veggie samosas were mild but good, green chutney was medium spicy & the red sweet chutney was good too.

Seekh Kababs $10.00 which came with naan & rice were also made of lamb & served cut up into bite size pieces with green peppers & onions.

2 Mango lassis at $2.50 each. Lassi was actually really tasty as well, not too sweet or sour. I do wish that it was colder though

Extra naan $1.50

Food didn't take too long to come out & was nice & hot. We did have to remind them of the Mango lassi though.

All in all our party of 4 people including a 2 years old came out satisfied with extremely full stomachs at $42.00 before tip (something that hasn't happened in the past 3 years in Denver at least)

Also, what do you know every single meat item on the menu is Halal. Yes it freakin Halal. Way to go on that one Curry N Kebob.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New Favorite Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Had a great dinner there for a great price. I had the chicken kebob and my friend had tiki masala. It was a real treat. I had a friend recommend this place and then I in turn recommended to another, everyone loved the food.
The ambiance is very basic, this is a "no frills" place, but the focus is on the food and that is what it is all that mattered. Good daily specials for 9.95 included naan and dessert.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Indian food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had lunch at Curry n Kebob's today. What a great find! The food was very good (fresh and flavorful). Service was fast. The place filled up quickly. I plan to go back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry n Kebob also viewed

 
Boulder, CO
 

Been to Curry n Kebob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry n Kebob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.