We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the kitchen [next door]

the kitchen [next door]
1035 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
720-542-8159
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 496 restaurants in Boulder
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th Street
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fun Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We asked the locals, who sent us here. We are glad they did. The space is simple and comfy, and the food is a treat. We enjoyed the kale chips, their wonderful soups, and a great burger. Very friendly service, and very reasonable prices. Well done.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    26
    13
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Casually Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I like this type of restaurants (I call them pipeline style); they are hip and chic without too much pretension, very accessible and affordable. Got hungry, walked down the Pearl Street and stopped at a busy place, The Kitchen, they were closing at 2pm and suggested the Next Door, which is their place as well. Nice decor, which is naturally expensive but does not scream as such, just very tasteful. Pleasant atmosphere, good service. Fish and chips that I chose (suggested by our host) were a real delight. My husband expected his bratwurst to be served with mash, but it was on a white bread, so he thought they could modify the dish or at least describe it better, but he enjoyed the side salad. Mixed wine and beer were very good. In general it was a simple, to a certain extent, but pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“salads yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful outdoor eating experience. The staff was friendly. The salads were so good we also had the beet burger and ages beef burger that was also good. Would go back again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, the location is so convenient, right in the Pearl street mall area. The ambiance is awesome - modern and a bit rustic; perfect place to just chill, get a glass of beer with friends. But, what I love about this place is that it has this great unique menu with a healthy, organic take on diner / bar food. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Perfect place for a weekend afternoon!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the veggie antipasti!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fun place with good food and a hip Boulder crowd. Try to get a seat at the outside bar, great people watching. Wine is good but not great, simple wine that goes well with the food but don't expect too much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the kitchen [next door] also viewed

 

Been to the kitchen [next door]? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the kitchen [next door], register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.