We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rattlesnake Gulch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eldorado Canyon

Eldorado Canyon
Boulder, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 126 things to do in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Rock climbing
Attraction details
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rattlesnake Gulch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband, our friend, and I all did the Rattlesnake Gulch trail. The remains of the Crag Hotel were neat, but the best part was when we went a little off trail and found an amazing cliff that made for some great picture opportunities! The steep drop in the pictures stressed our parents a little.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    34
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“fantastic scenery,climbers and tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great to see the cliff faces and people climbing. Picnic areas and tracks. There is an admission charge but it was worth it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Scenic Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great hiking and fantastic rock climbing. Located at the southern end of Boulder at the base of the famous Flatirons.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful park - nice trail - crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

we made it in to eldorado canyon state park on our second attempt... first time all full by 9am, second time, it was full when we left. the canyon is quite lovely and the creek is great. we hiked the eldorado canyon trail and really enjoyed the views. only downside was that it was fairly crowded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nirvana with vicarious risks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've been coming to the Boulder area in summer for over 30 years, mostly to attend conferences but increasingly also to enjoy the bracing environment. Somehow, in all that time I'd missed Eldorado Canyon. What an error! This is a true gem that outshines most better known wild places in a state that has no lack of them. The Fowler Trail there is a new found favorite, especially suited to older visitors who have passed the point where uphill trudging is viewed as exhilarating. It begins at the roadside high up on the canyon wall and maintains a more or less level course to the canyon mouth where one is perched high above rushing water and tree tops with a magnificent view out over gentler lands that stretch away to the eastern horizon. Along the route you might view rattlesnakes, bears and mountain lions (all missing on the day we visited) but the sight of apparently tiny fearless human flies clinging to sheer rock walls is more or less guaranteed, especially during the cooler morning hours. This is where devotees of rock climbing come from all over the country to practice and test their skills. Meanwhile, down on the valley floor cascades of rushing white water provide plenty of picnic sites interspersed with quieter stretches of stream that are suitable for wading, even by small children. Parking is limited and requires an $8 day permit that can be picked up at the park gate. The best time to visit is probably mid-week when it is relatively uncrowded. If you only have a day to sample the natural attractions of the Front Range in this vicinity, come straight here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eldorado Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Eldorado Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldorado Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.