We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Real Time Research” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory

NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory
325 Broadway, Boulder, CO 80305-3337
303-497-4091
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 126 things to do in Boulder
Attraction details
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Incredible Real Time Research”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

There is nothing quite like seeing the real thing. I had no idea how much information is collected or just how its measured. it makes you so aware of what's happening when you get it from the source and not just read about it or hear it on the news summary. Not just eye- opening its mind-opening to see just what goes on there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very informative and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is one of those places you visit where you marvel at all the unique careers and specialized knowledge that people have. Much of what you see are people looking at computer screen but then the guides tell you what they are doing, how and why. While waiting, we heard a short presentation by a young man who explained about all that NOAA does. It is remarkable all the things they study and data that is collected and analyzed, all of which is somehow disseminated to the public and business sector in coherent and understandable bite sized pieces of knowledge. Some parts of the tour are more interesting than others but overall, it's a very interesting way to spend a Tuesday afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NOAA in Boulder”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There were parts of the tour that were interesting. The room with the large view of Earth was ok. They also go into great detail regarding the tests they've done to show that the climate is getting warmer & warmer. I'm not sure this would be a good tour for young children, but I think middle school & up would enjoy it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Everyone was very helpful. The security guard at the visitors' entrance was very friendly. As we had to wait for some in our party, we were a couple of minutes late to the tour, but we were not made to feel uncomfortable. However, you should arrive about 10-15 minutes before your tour time to give you a chance to check in and move your car to the tour parking area. You need to go through a metal detector and a driver's license was needed rather than my passport, since I was the driver. The woman checking IDs was not so pleasant, but the others in the office were.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little science on vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Wow, this place was pretty cool and makes your vacation feel intellectual. Learning how these scientists work is fascinating and the guides explain well so everyone, even children, can understand. The security to get in was understandably a bit intense.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory also viewed

 

Been to NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.