We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was happy to have stayed there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foot of the Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foot of the Mountain Motel
Save
You added Foot of the Mountain Motel to your Saves list
200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Boston
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“I was happy to have stayed there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was mostly looking for a place to use as a base for day hiking in the Indian Peaks. I was attracted to the west side of town location and reasonable price. I was a bit wary because the reviews here seem very polar - folks either love it or hate it. That is hard to reconcile. In the end, I was quite happy to have stayed here.

It's small. The rooms are quaintly rustic. On a side street next to the river. I was worried about amenities (after all, as many reviews note, bring your own shampoo and the soap bars are tiny!). But the beds were firm as I like them, big pillows (and I'm a big pillow kind of person!) and the towels plush and and soft (though hardly huge like a luxury hotel). The room was quite clean and was cleaned well every day, the plumbing worked, hot water really hot!

I liked the fact that it is small and friendly, you can feel the Boulder vibes. Other guests were friendly and we chatted some. We enjoyed eating our take out dinner on the picnic table one cool evening. Mark in the office would give us our breakfast danish the evening before as we were off hiking before he opened in the morning. Always hot water and tea available in the office, and often some fresh fruit. Very relaxed vibe.

The only issue is the AC, and it is an issue, and should be a deal breaker for some. Now we were there during some very hot summer days (may have set a record in Denver) and when we'd get back to our room late afternoon, it would be pretty hot and stuffy. But there was a high quality fan for each bed. And, in the evening, there was a nice cool downslope breeze from the mountain which would blow through the room and cool it nicely. Just had to tie up the curtains to get good air flow (someone complained about poor curtains? Ha, now they are totally darkening!). Yes if there had been AC I would have turned it on. But there isn't, and the owners are very clear about that when they confirm your reservation, so should be no surprises here. For me, on very hot days, it worked. If I'd stayed in my room all day I would probably not have been comfortable, but why would I come to Boulder, one of the outdoor recreation centers of the world, to stay in my room? Even if it's a cute room...

Electric outlets were a bit limited but I always travel with an extension cord. Fridge was a bit loud but we didn't hear it when we had the fans running. The fans were good, nice breeze, adjustable, and not too noisy.

The river is a nice attraction, but attracts family crowds on the weekend. That's not an issue. One night there was a wild party there and it was really noisy. Just when I was getting ready to call the police, they quieted down and left. Peaceful after that.

Note that though you can walk to the Pearl Street restaurant district, it's nearly a (flat) mile each way. But the location is super to get on the road headed west and up into the mountains in the morning. And it's a pleasant motel to return to at the end of your day; after a few days it feels like coming home.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgette L, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful and lengthy review! It was so informative for our potential guests. You are so correct in your evaluation that this older but well kept motel is not for everyone but we do have wonderful guests, lots of fresh air and warm hospitality. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    58
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
59
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Location is lovely. You can hear the water rushing. Park for hiking across the road with a private access. Room basic, but adequete. Nice simple breakfast put out in the am. Owner very friendly. Dog friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The motel was very nice and at a great price. It's tucked away in a neighborhood, which made it quiet. The service could not have been better. The guy in the office (I want to say his name was Matt, but I can't remember) was as friendly and welcoming as we could've asked for. He was accommodating when we thought we weren't going to be in 'til long after the office hours (because the highways were closed due to snow). The simple breakfast (juice boxes and packaged danishes) in the morning was just enough to get us going and back on the road. The room was clean, the view of the snow covered mountain was beautiful and it's close enough to the downtown area that nothing is too far away. It was not a luxury resort by any means, but it did the trick for a quick stopover in Boulder.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were driving to New Mexico from Minnesota and wanted the drive to be great, too. We had driven from Omaha and were tired, but they were so welcoming here and the setting was so beautiful we wanted to stay longer! A nice walk over to Pearl Street for dinner was recommended by our host and he was spot on! We loved our cozy, cabin like room and it was just steps to coffee and rolls for breakfast the next morning. If you appreciate unique charm, you'll love The Foot of The Mountain!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, ne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We loved everything about this place! prices are very reasonable, we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and it was very spacious. We loved the location. The staff was very friendly and were very good at giving directions and giving lots of great advice. We would love to come back this summer and stay with our girls.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a great little tucked away gem! Nice, cozy and gorgeous. Was there in winter but I'm sure it's even more awesome in warmer months when you can stroll down Boulder Creek to get to town and back. So convenient. Really nice and accommodating folks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room was very nice, cozy. The views were gorgeous! The staff was very friendly. The only complaint I had was the nose coming from the room next door. They were polite enough to keep it down after ten pm, and they were never really loud or rambunctious, but the walls were just a little too thin for someone who really needed to sleep after twelve hours of driving, looking forward to another day of twelve hours of driving. It wasn't bad enough to complain about, and the fresh air and beauty made up for it, just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgette L, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for appreciating our very special property. Although rooms are well sealed for heating comfort there is a noise challenge if your neighbors forget there are people next door as well. It is always good to remember that if a guest wants a quiet place to stay, which most of our guests do, that it is pertinent for guests sharing a common wall to understand this too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foot of the Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foot of the Mountain Motel

Address: 200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic 1930s log cabins nestled against Flagstaff Mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foot Of The Mountain Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foot of the Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.