We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Love It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foot of the Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foot of the Mountain Motel
Save
You added Foot of the Mountain Motel to your Saves list
200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Love It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Take a step back in time and stay a night or so at the Foot of the Mountain Motel. Bring a fly rod and fish the stream just steps from your cabin. The rooms are comfortable but beds should be upgraded. Lumpy and thin. That's the only downside. Rates are good, location is super and the staff is helpful. A great alternative to cookie-cutter hotels in Downtown Boulder. Try it.

Room Tip: If several rooms are available, ask to look before picking. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
64
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We were only in Boulder for two nights and this place kept us right in the heart if everything we wanted to do...hike and hang in town. Mark checked us in and welcomed us with a great overview of the area. The room was SPOTLESS and very comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Located literally at the foot of a mountain along an acequia and across from Boulder Creek and two parks, this modest, log cabin-set of buildings offers comfortable rooms with views. The bath facilities are adequate and the bed firm. We stayed in #10. Across the parking area in the office, one can find coffee, juice, drinks, fruit, and breakfast items. Parking near the cabin is easy, and the drive to businesses and public buildings under 10 minutes. It is also a good jumping off spot for drives to Nederland (18 miles), the Indian Peaks, Estes Park, and RMNP. The Motel reminds one of the family tourist courts that years ago one found along Route 66, but the quality is higher and the office staff gracious and helpful. Highly recommended for those who enjoy travel and the particulars of their destinations.

Room Tip: This motel has a some variety of room-types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location was great as well as the staff. The room itself was quirky, but we really like that part. We checked in and were welcomed by the lady who answered a lot of questions. Overall the room was neat, a little dark, but they had lamps. Both the bedroom and bathroom were extremely clean and the water is super hot. As for the beds and the nights sleep, that wasn't so great. The bed was old and not comfortable at all. Also the pillows were thin, we could have used an extra one a piece. Again not that I'm complaining, just stating facts, the walls are super thin. We could hear our neighbors and they were just talking. Come morning, you can hear everything, so no sleeping past sunlight. Again, clean facility and great people, but I would recommend changing the matresses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I graduated from U. of Colorado 30 something years ago, and back then lived in an apartment just a few blocks down Arapahoe Avenue from the Foot of the Mountain Motel. I thought it would be fun to give the place a try for a brief visit this past week. It was a great choice! I liked having the chance while in Boulder to avoid the "typical" hotel with all the sameness that they have, and loved the rustic feel of this place. When's the last time you stayed in "2" instead of a "Room 341", and were able to park ten feet from your door? At the same time, it has free wi-fi and a location within walking distance from Pearl Street or the campus. And, with the help of the desk clerk who gave us three different maps to use, we were able to hike from the motel to the Royal Arch and back. The room was clean and had new bathroom hardware. The temperature was down into the 30s at night, but the quiet gas heater worked as well or better than any hotel where I've stayed. I've reviewed a few places before and try to point out any negatives. The only one I have is that the lighting could have been brighter, but that's picking nits. If you want something a little out of the ordinary, the Foot of the Mountain will be memorable in a good way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I think it is the overall "package" that does it. First, you get a charming vintage 30s pine-paneled motel, updated with perfectly decent bathrooms, etc. Second, the relationship to Boulder is perfect - on the edge of town, in a pleasant, country setting, but within walking distance down beautiful Boulder Creek Path to the major restaurants and shops. Then all you do is turn left out of the driveway and you are on your way to the mountains, with no traffic lights! The price is reasonable, and as many people note, the staff is friendly and very helpful.

I suppose the FOMM is not for everyone. If you want absolutely new, first-class accommodations you had better look elsewhere. This place has too much character for that. But I suspect that people who fall in love with the FOMM are consistent return guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was great! Stayed here for a couple days in September. Arrived at night and in the morning we realized we had a little creek out our window. Oh and we were at the foot of the mountain. Super cute rooms in cabin like setting. Chairs and picnic table to sit outside. Free coffee, tea, and breakfast items in the morning in the office. Very nice staff. Loved the location, which was by a major road, but felt tucked away. Fridge in room. This was just where I wanted to be staying while in Boulder. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#6 of 21 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
University Inn
University Inn
#8 of 21 in Boulder
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Millennium Harvest House
Millennium Harvest House
#18 of 21 in Boulder
3.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Boulder Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foot of the Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foot of the Mountain Motel

Address: 200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming property, carefully preserved since the 1930's, and tucked at the base of Flagstaff Mountain, the Foot of the Mountain Motel represents the best of Boulder - personality, friendly service and fabulous views. This unexpected gem allows you to live like a local and enjoy city amenities as well as access to nature just steps from your door. As a guest at the Foot of the Mountain, you're biggest decision will be whether to walk the few blocks to Pearl Street or to cross the bridge over Boulder Creek for world-class hiking. At the Foot of the Mountain Motel...Let time stop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foot Of The Mountain Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foot of the Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.