We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foot of the Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foot of the Mountain Motel
Save Saved
You added Foot of the Mountain Motel to your Saves list
200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great value for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Near downtown Boulder, the least expensive lodging you'll find.
The rooms are not fancy but clean and well maintained. On a quiet side street. Pleasant owners.
Located just across the street from a nice city park and the Boulder Creek path - great connector to the Pearl St area, or for jogging/biking. Beautiful area.
Will definitely return for future visits to Boulder.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    54
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
52
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
RI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were passing thru Boulder on a cross country trip on 8/22/11. We were looking for reasonable accommodations near town. This hotel was rustic but comfortable. We were a little concerned because of no AC in August but we opened the windows and the breeze was wonderful. We were close to downtown so the location was perfect. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. We needed a late checkout because of a flat tire but this was not a problem. The manager was very understanding and did not make us feel pressured at all. The continental breakfast was good. Great coffee and fresh fruit. If we are lucky enough to go back to Boulder we would stay at the Foot of the Mountain Motel. We would love to see it in the winter!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were in Boulder to see Jonny Lang and for an engagement trip. All was wonderful. The staff was incredible. Thanks for the tips about Boulder from Mark, and Bridgett was wonderful in sharing our engagement moment. Thanks so much for the card and well wishes. We will be back. Probably bring our parents out. Thanks again from your new friends from Nebraska.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very nice place in Boulder - off the beaten path and extremely quiet. Great for our famioly, in particular, as the canyon/park across the street has a wonderful playground and a fantastic cycling/walk path that follows the creek all the way downtown - beautiful!
The hotel staff is great - and "on the ball" when it comes to service. Impeccable!. My only complaint comes out of my own decision...we would have chosen a regular room over the Hideaway suite:for the price, it didn't excel in comfort. Plus, our "neighbor" was a chain smoker who woke us up numerous times throughout the night with his hacking on our "shared" porch - NOT the hotel's fault, certainly. All in all a wonderful, if not 100% comfortable stay. We'd stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Ordinarily this motel would be a decent value in a great location in Boulder. The rooms are basic but fine, and the folks at the desk were pleasant and helpful.

However, in my stay in room 16, I was eaten alive by bedbugs. I caught them in the act on the last of my 3 nights and had over 75 bites on my hands, arms and torso. I wrote to the motel on returning home, but they have not replied. Now I can only hope I didn't bring their bugs home with me.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomm, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Tracking the traveling habits of guests and all the variables associated with traveling is difficult. Any indication of any situation is treated immediately. We treated the room extensively after this guest checked out, not knowing if the guest brought this with them or not. We cannot fix what was not broken. There was no indication prior to this guest of any problems. We did respond to this guest and credited him for his stay. We have had guests stay at our motel for over 80 years. That's not irresponsible business practices that's American pride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed here for a week while on vacation in Boulder. I will be back to visit Boulder again and I will definitely stay at Foot of the Mountain again. As other reviewers have said, if you are looking for super fancy with lots of amenities then look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with tons of character and charm, then look no further. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for us. Easy (15 min or so) walk along Boulder Creek to Pearl Street. The route of the path has changed slightly and it doesn't pass the library anymore, but it's still a beautiful walk. Lolita's on Pearl Street is a great market and is open 24 hours. We got breakfast and coffee at Lolita's most mornings instead of the coffee in the hotel office. As other reviewers have said, the walls in the room are not completely soundproof, but the other people staying there all seemed to be very considerate and we were not bothered by any noise. Really enjoyed watching the deer and other wildlife right behind the hotel. There was a small refrigerator in the room which was handy. Wi-fi is available and worked fine, although it seemed to be off between 11 pm and 7 am (when the office is closed). Bring your own hair dryer and shampoo...hotel doesn't provide these. Hotel doesn't have a/c...this may be a factor in July or August, but we were fine during our visit in May. All in all, a great place to stay and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reconkat, Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We are so happy this guest enjoyed their stay. Our Wi-fi is not shut down at any point by us, although we did find that there was 'interference' of some sort during a 2 week period of time...very unusual and we couldn't locate the source. It did, however, suddenly go away (?). We also have 'loaner' items in the office such as: hairdryers, iron & board, dishes, silverware, some coffee pots, hotwater pots, table cloths for the picnic tables, etc. Just ask and we will see what we can do. Being a 'Mom & Pop' type place, we will be happy to assist in any way, within our means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

OK, this isn't the Ritz. It's cabins with simple bathroom, lots of hot water, comfortable beds and the greatest staff in the world. Check out their web site to get an idea of the accomodations; they are rustic but comfortable. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foot of the Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foot of the Mountain Motel

Address: 200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boulder
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic 1930s log cabins nestled against Flagstaff Mountain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foot Of The Mountain Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foot of the Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.