We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chautauqua Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chautauqua Cottages to your Saves list
Chautauqua Cottages
900 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have to agree with pretty much everyone else who's written a review about the Chautauqua, this is a great place to stay in Boulder! The only complaint we had was that parking for our cottage (#13) was scarce, but that is mostly in part to the surrounding cottages have year-round residents. Everyone was friendly though, staff and residents. The location is great in Boulder and you can wake up to a quite excellent view of the Flatirons. There was a group of white tail deer that walked right up to our cottage.

Room Tip: Cottage #13 has scarce parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
37
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The cabins are simply beautiful and very comfortable, not to mention the excellent location.
The screened in porch was wonderful to sit on and enjoy the mountain air. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devo4924
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We love Chautauqua to hike and were so excited to stay in the cottages. We were not disappointed and can't wait to return. Awesome Flatiron view. Cottage was extremely clean and charmingly updated. Our kitchen looked like it had never been used. While we love the Boulder dining options, we were so relaxed and wanted to stay in the area so much so that we ordered pizza! Staff was accommodating and pleasant. Grounds are immaculate. Amazing hiking just steps from the cottages. So close to all of Boulder's amenities, and easy to hop on the highway to get to other points. We unfortunately didn't get a chance to go to the dining room, but will definitely try it next time. Also, even though we weren't traveling with children, I cannot imagine a better place for a family vacation.

Room Tip: We were in cottage 415 - it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Owner at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our first stay at the Chautauqua cabins. We stayed in cabin (#25) on the western side of the property. The cabin had two bedrooms, one bathroom, a kitchen, living room, and screened in front porch. The cabins are historic, yet contained modern accessories. The cabin had a full kitchen with coffee maker, dishes and silverware, toaster, etc (sans dishwasher) so making meals was easy. We loved the screened-in front porch with it's rocking chairs that allowed us to relax in the evenings. You would never know you are in the middle of Boulder as it was the grounds were extremely quiet the entire time we were there.

The only negatives I could think of were that the beds were a little hard and the wireless connection speed was a bit slow. The bed comfort was minor and with regards to the wireless speed, if you are staying at Chautauqua you should be outside hiking (miles of hiking / running trails just outside the door), taking in the views, or walking down to Pearl Street (approximately 1.2 miles down 9th Street with more restaurant opportunities than you could image).

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on the western side of the property as those cabins face the flatirons and allow for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We had a family reunion at Chautauqua over Thanksgiving. We rented the lodge and several of the cottages to accommodate us all. The meeting room for a perfect place for gathering between events. The kitchen was good for light breakfasts and lunches, we chose to eat out for dinners. The rooms were all very clean and most had there own bathroom. Boulder had plenty to offer from sunrise hikes, to rock climbing, to spas, tours of Celestial Seasoning, trips to Denver, professional hockey games and music venues. There was truly something for everyone. And when you have family around, who needs TV. After the trip, everyone agreed this was the best place we have every stayed for a family reunion and we do this every two years at places throughout the country.

Room Tip: Cottage 401 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying in a 3 bedroom cabin here and couldnt have asked for a better experience. The cabin was well furnished, modern with antique furniture! Our 3 bedroom had 2 baths, full kitchen, dinning room, living room and screened in front deck. We couldnt have asked for a better location or more comfotable stay. All the rooms were very clean and the kitchen was well stocked with plates, glasses, cups, etc. It was cold while we were there and Im a person that needs to be warm or im not a happy camper...needless to say the heat worked well and the cabin was warm at all times. Right outside our door was the hiking path and the view of the flatirons was amamzing! I have been to hotels and cabins before but this was the best! We will be back. I would like to mention that there is no television in the cabin we were in, which I thought would be a negative for my 6 year old but she had fun outdoors and didnt complain not once about not having one! This cabin made me want to stay in Boulder forever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsund, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Four of us stayed here for four nights. The cottage was amazing, furnished with antiques, but modern, comfortable beds, full kitchen (except dishwasher), but all the utensils, etc you would need. No TV or phone, which was fine with us. A free phone for local calls (and internet) was in the reception not far from our cottage. I am from Boulder, but have since moved away and it was my first choice of accommodation in the city if not staying with friends.

Room Tip: Ours was a two bedroom unit, you can review the cottages online and request specific cottages. Reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATT H, Manager at Chautauqua Cottages, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We will use your feedback to continually improve our performance. I can speak for everyone at Colorado Chautauqua when I say that we are proud of our accommodations and it is our pleasure to provide you with the most memorable experience possible. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Boulder.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chautauqua Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chautauqua Cottages

Address: 900 Baseline Rd, Boulder, CO 80302
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1898 this National Historic Landmark is nestled beneath Boulder’s Flatiron Mountains. We are 40 miles from DIA and 1.5 miles from the Pearl Street Mall in downtown Boulder. With year-round lodging in our 58 charming cottages and two lodges, we offer an exceptional setting for reunions, weddings, retreats or a romantic getaway. Enjoy dining at the historic Chautauqua Dining Hall, concerts, educational programs, silent films and the critically acclaimed Colorado Music Festival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Chautauqua Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chautauqua Cottages Hotel Boulder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chautauqua Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.