We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We checked and checked out a few minutes later” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Boulder Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulder Mountain Lodge
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   91 Four Mile Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Hampton NH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We checked and checked out a few minutes later”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have no idea why this place gets good marks from anyone. When we arrived there were guys sitting on the backs of their pickups throwing beer cans over their shoulders and yelling to each across the parking lot. The room itself was beyond Spartan with awkward, tiny rooms, bathroom furniture that may have been meant to be charming but was just weird. Everything felt not just damp, but soaking wet and moldy. Within moments, the person with me started wheezing dangerously. To say that it is on Boulder Creek is technically accurate, but it's no place you would want to fish or play in. The dirt parking lot was the first tip-off. I was ready for something rustic, but this was just plain dumpy. Forget romantic! And at $149/night it was ludicrous! We got no argument about refunding our prepayment because of the health issue and ended up back in town at a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, but DON'T try The Silver Saddle down the road. It was just as bad in its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    9
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rushville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If it wasn't for trip advisor I never would have picked this hidden gem. My husband and I had 48 hrs in Boulder. We walked into town on a Friday afternoon around 2. Path is scenic and beautiful and the boom! You are downtown Boulder. The rooms are clean and quaint. You can cook if you want or use the grill that is available. There is a peaceful creek running thru the rustic property. The price was right and it was really nice to be just a stones throw from the downtown area. I love love this place!

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the rooms are sparse, this charming motel from a year gone by provides an excellent affordable place to stay in Boulder. The beds are a little dated and the queen bed is not what I would call a queen everything else about the hotel is charming. The rooms are kept spotless, the staff are super friendly and helpful (the dinner recommendation of the Mountain Sun was spot on!) And I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Don't expect the Hilton but do expect to stay at lovely oasis in the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We traveled to Boulder Co. to visit son who is going to Univ. of Boulder. When checking for pricing for our accommodations Boulder Mt. Lodge had the best daily price. It is only 10 min away from downtown boulder, is set in the Mountains with Boulder creek running through the property. There is a swimming pool, spa hot tub, bikes to ride or several hiking trails for the outdoor enthusiast. They also provide picnic areas with BBQ's to use at no fee. Property is very beautiful and peaceful. We will use this facility on our future visits.

Room Tip: There are rooms available with your own private hot tub but needs to be requested. Spring and summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here with my husband, son, and two dogs in June. The property was beautiful with several places to sit outside and enjoy the peaceful stream or cookout on one of the grills. There is direct access to hiking by a trail at the back of the property or you can borrow a bike and ride into boulder along the bike trail. The kitchen was very basic and supplies were pretty sparse, but anything additional that we needed was supplied by the front desk on request. The rooms were immaculate and every hotel employee I encountered was very helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

After having read reviews before booking, the reality was much as we had expected. This is a lovely area, right by a creek, nestled in a canyon and very convenient to Boulder, hiking, biking. Bicycles are available to borrow. The room was clean and well-appointed; the bathroom clean and the tub/shower was great. It took a minute for the water to warm up but there was plenty of hot water for at least 2 showers. A small fan was provided and appreciated. It's an older property but seems well kept up and we enjoyed our stay. The downsides for us were that the kitchen was not very well equipped (only 2 spoons and forks, no paring knife, e.g.) and the freezer compartment in the small refrigerator didn't keep ice cream solid. But the microwave, stove and sink worked fine; dish detergent and paper towels were provided. The beds were quite comfortable. There was a landline phone in the room and the WiFi worked perfectly but there was no cell service on any of our 4 phones - we could pick up a signal about a mile away (out of the canyon). Noise could potentially be a problem since sounds did carry from other rooms, but our neighbors were all considerate and we were not bothered at all. I loved listening to the rushing water of the creek and would definitely go back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great value Motel with a clean, feels like home room, mountain hiking trail on property and away from busy boulder downtown. Breakfast and bike loaner included! On our morning hike on property we saw three mule deer at 30 yards. Bike trail is just across the road that takes you into Boulder or a short drive down Boulder Canyon Dr. We have stayed in four different Boulder properties over the last 3 years, both downtown and on the mountain, we liked this one the best. We will be back to Boulder Maintain Lodge

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Address: 91 Four Mile Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Boulder Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Mountain Lodge offers a beautiful and unique mountain setting just 5 minutes from Downtown Boulder and the University. Suites, kitchenettes, a cabin, some with jetted tubs, all with free coffee and wireless internet, Hot tub, pool and a 650 sq foot meeting room. Come visit with deer, wild birds and other mountain critters just 2 miles from Boulder’s amenities. Relax with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Boulder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;