We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Boulder Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulder Mountain Lodge
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   91 Four Mile Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Fremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vacation get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We traveled to Boulder Co. to visit son who is going to Univ. of Boulder. When checking for pricing for our accommodations Boulder Mt. Lodge had the best daily price. It is only 10 min away from downtown boulder, is set in the Mountains with Boulder creek running through the property. There is a swimming pool, spa hot tub, bikes to ride or several hiking trails for the outdoor enthusiast. They also provide picnic areas with BBQ's to use at no fee. Property is very beautiful and peaceful. We will use this facility on our future visits.

Room Tip: There are rooms available with your own private hot tub but needs to be requested. Spring and summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    9
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my husband, son, and two dogs in June. The property was beautiful with several places to sit outside and enjoy the peaceful stream or cookout on one of the grills. There is direct access to hiking by a trail at the back of the property or you can borrow a bike and ride into boulder along the bike trail. The kitchen was very basic and supplies were pretty sparse, but anything additional that we needed was supplied by the front desk on request. The rooms were immaculate and every hotel employee I encountered was very helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After having read reviews before booking, the reality was much as we had expected. This is a lovely area, right by a creek, nestled in a canyon and very convenient to Boulder, hiking, biking. Bicycles are available to borrow. The room was clean and well-appointed; the bathroom clean and the tub/shower was great. It took a minute for the water to warm up but there was plenty of hot water for at least 2 showers. A small fan was provided and appreciated. It's an older property but seems well kept up and we enjoyed our stay. The downsides for us were that the kitchen was not very well equipped (only 2 spoons and forks, no paring knife, e.g.) and the freezer compartment in the small refrigerator didn't keep ice cream solid. But the microwave, stove and sink worked fine; dish detergent and paper towels were provided. The beds were quite comfortable. There was a landline phone in the room and the WiFi worked perfectly but there was no cell service on any of our 4 phones - we could pick up a signal about a mile away (out of the canyon). Noise could potentially be a problem since sounds did carry from other rooms, but our neighbors were all considerate and we were not bothered at all. I loved listening to the rushing water of the creek and would definitely go back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great value Motel with a clean, feels like home room, mountain hiking trail on property and away from busy boulder downtown. Breakfast and bike loaner included! On our morning hike on property we saw three mule deer at 30 yards. Bike trail is just across the road that takes you into Boulder or a short drive down Boulder Canyon Dr. We have stayed in four different Boulder properties over the last 3 years, both downtown and on the mountain, we liked this one the best. We will be back to Boulder Maintain Lodge

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

....because I feel like this is our little secret hideaway now.

(Cost: During Summer about $150 for our suite and $90 for a regular room. It's less expensive off season, as low as $70)

Not exactly in Boulder, but just a hop, skip and a jump away, just off of Boulder Canyon. I was looking for a place for Date Night with my wife as we were heading to BoCo that day anyway for errands etc., so we decided to make a night of it.

Lo and Behold, it being Summer Time in Boulder every single place we looked at staying was either full or had jumped their prices up by 200-300%. We thought this was ridiculous.

We are no slouches when it comes to staying at nice places but I just couldn't justify paying $250-$300 a night in a hotel I really didn't want to stay in, so I researched and found this place.

I had actually looked at it once before but decided that with a 1 star rating it couldn't have been all that great, but then I read a few reviews and was pleasantly surprised that a lot of people actually liked it.

So we took a chance. And we're glad that we did.

While definitely not a 5 star palace, in my estimation I wouldn't say it was 1 star either, more like 2 and a half or 3 or thereabouts. We rented one of the Suites which had a private Hot Tub outside and upon our arrival we were greeted with a warm smile, and given the extra blankets and pillow we had requested online during booking, and grabbed a few cheap snacks (not overpriced like some hotels). The room wasn't far from the office, and every room in the place is near the river which immediately brings some tranquility to weary travelers. We got to our room which was smaller than we expected, but with the hot tub beconing we got in our bathing suits and started to relax.

It was quiet, green, beautiful outside. I could only imagine what it would look like in the Fall when the trees started to change colors. There were trees everywhere and we were in a little valley surrounded by Boulder Canyon mountains.

The bed was fine for one night, comfortable but I've had better. Wifi was fine and usable, but what really got to us was that this was such a nice, sweet, clean, quiet little place, almost like camping out but with a room or cabin.

I think that when we are looking at doing more overnighters, which happen from time to time, this place will be the first one we will look at. Sure I could stay at the Boulderado, or the St. Julien and pay top dollar for location, but if you want to hang out and drink a few beers (you'll have to bring your own), you can do that here as well, and if you want to bar hop, then just get a cab. There are picnic tables and Bar B Q equipment for use, as well as a pool and another non private hot tub for non suite guests. There are hiking trails as well all around the place.

This place is a rare find for those on a budget. I would recommend it. Just don't let the secret out to too many people. We don't want to ruin it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Boulder Mountain Lodge is a few miles outside of Boulder -- still very convenient -- and along the river path. It is very reasonably priced and a deceptively large property. We stayed in one of the older rooms and therein lies the problem. Like many older properties, especially those near water, there is a musty smell when you enter. There is one window onto the front and no other air circulation. This must be great during the winter but seems to maintain the mustiness when the weather gets warmer. The sound of the rushing river is fantastic. The room was clean but downtrodden. It is minimally appointed with a TV and basic kitchenette. They should think about creating an outdoor sitting area for hotel guests. We had people standing outside our room at night and in the morning talking and smoking cigarettes. The rooms aren't well insulated against noise. Service was mixed. We had one very helpful and friendly staff member and one who seemed to want to be almost anywhere else. Breakfast is served in a very small "library" room and isn't very special. It appears from the photos that some rooms are newer and have been upgraded so you might want to ask about those before you book.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I generally don't write reviews.... and typically stay in upscale chain hotels since I travel quite a bit for work. We spent a week in RMNP and had one night free. I booked Boulder Mountain Lodge in the morning for that evening. After splurging on the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, we wanted something more reasonable. The Boulder Mountain Lodge was around $100 per nite just a few miles west of Boulder. The walking/bike path extends all the way to the hotel. They are very friendly, the rooms where clean!! (key for me!!) - small kitchenette and even had a bag of famous amos chocolate chip cookies waiting. The hotel is right on the river, very quite, loved waking to the sound of birds chirping and the river running. They have a pool, bikes to borrow, small library of books, grills, picnic tables and making every attempt to make you comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Address: 91 Four Mile Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Boulder Mountain Lodge 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Mountain Lodge offers a beautiful and unique mountain setting just 5 minutes from Downtown Boulder and the University. Suites, kitchenettes, a cabin, some with jetted tubs, all with free coffee and wireless internet, Hot tub, pool and a 650 sq foot meeting room. Come visit with deer, wild birds and other mountain critters just 2 miles from Boulder’s amenities. Relax with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Boulder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.