We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think "better than tent camping"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boulder Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boulder Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Boulder Mountain Lodge
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   91 Four Mile Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
San Diego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Think "better than tent camping"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I read all the reviews and everybody is right. The ones who loved it and the ones who hated it. The facts are all the same. The perceptions are different. We needed a second bedroom and so it was fine for the price and great location. My husband and daughter borrowed the bicycles and had fun doing that. To me, this is a place for folks who always liked camping, but don't want to sleep on the ground in a tent. The rooms are very much like the cabins we've stayed in at National or State Parks. Breakfast was way better than expected. We didn't use the reading room, but liked that there was one. We'd stay here again if we needed the second bedroom and probably would opt for a hotel in Broomfield if it were just the two of us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    9
    10
    7
See reviews for
20
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, MO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

If you want plumbing to work perfectly and all windows to close tight and the kitchen floor linoleum to not be pulling up at the edges, etc. then you should probably look elsewhere. But if you want to stay at a cozy place that's clean and friendly despite the wear, this'll work. We in particular love the location next to the Boulder Canyon trail. Very pretty spot, friendly staff, good price, no complaints. Okay, maybe the plumbing could work better but hey, as the staff explained, "we have mountain plumbing." Understood. We'll be here again, hopefully.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had our wedding on Dec. 21st and got to Boulder Mountain Lodge at the beginning of a snow storm. The room was perfect! Service was great! We got snowed in and weren't able to leave the lodge for any of our planned outings, but being our honeymoon this created the most romantic experience. They have a magazine in the room called Restaurant Rollers that had menus of a very wide variety of Boulder's restaurants, with reasonable delivery and hot food every time.

Found this place on an affordable honeymoon website and I 100% recommend the Gold Run Suite to everyone who wants the perfect affordable location for their honeymoon in Colorado.

Room Tip: Gold Run Suite is the perfect honeymoon suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This was lodge #2 in our 5 day trip to Boulder and Im glad to say that it was only a one night stay. I believe there is a difference between rustic and run down and in my opinion this was a bit run down. We had a 2 bedroom with a kitchen but it wasnt exactly what we were looking for. The stove was something you would find in a old motel, and there was hardly any room to move around while cooking. The utensils looked very old and we gladly rewashed them because I wasnt about to eat with something that looked ancient. The bedroom were spacious but heres the major problem...the space heaters are located in the kitchen and living room area and so if you want any heat...you need to keep the doors open! And so there is no privacy. The bathrooms looked run down and like someone else mentioned the carpets looked like they have never been cleaned. Oh and I dont want to even mention the kind of bug we killed because I have never in life seen anything like it. The creek is nice but once again the hiking path leads to nowhere. The front desk staff was very friendly but I will not be comming back here again. I have stayed in rustic places and this is not it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was lucky enough to be field mapping Boulder, Golden, Morrison as well as the Lake Isabelle areas of Colorado for my dissertation (Summer 1994) - had to click Oct 2010 so please ignore the date.

We stayed here for 2 weeks camping and had a great time. The facilities we used were generally the hot tubs, shop and showers/laundry. The pitches were good and were of a decent size. We met quite few people travelling both camping and with RV's so socially the place was very good.

The scenary is spectacular. We travelled everywhere on foot and the trip into Boulder was very scenic from canyon gorges to large municipal parks to the city (took about 30 mins to an hour to walk from memory).

Originally we planned to stay for the whole duration of our field trip (7 weeks), but local regulations (at the time - may have changed) meant that we could only stay for 2 weeks.

I am planning to return to take my children and wife to see all the great sights I saw - but hoping to exchange canvas for cabins this time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Boulder Mountain Lodge is a funky motel about 15 minutes from downtown Boulder. Very convenient to town. Rooms are large enough and include kitchenettes. Our room had no A/C, but by borrowing a fan from the motel, we stayed cool.

The staff was great. Breakfast was satisfying. The setting was great with a creek running by the front door of our room. Nice music to sleep by! Pool and hot tub are right by the creek.

If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place. If you want a "down home" family run motel, and don't mind sacrificing the latest and greatest, give this one a look. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for several days, and while it's nice to be slightly in the woods (you can still see and hear cars driving by constantly), the hotel itself is very poor for the price of the rooms. Pool is tiny, hot tub didn't and would have had VERY limited hours even if it had, rooms were dirty (ours had several dead bugs upon arrival, a huge hornets' nest outside our window, torn screens, and on a multi-day stay all housekeeping does is make the beds). The rooms are small, there is no air conditioning, and the buildings look and feel like a cheap motel. There are a ton of beautiful places in this area, so setting alone does not justify spending much more money than the rooms are worth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulder Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Mountain Lodge

Address: 91 Four Mile Canyon Drive, Boulder, CO 80302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Boulder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Boulder Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Mountain Lodge offers a beautiful and unique mountain setting just 5 minutes from Downtown Boulder and the University. Suites, kitchenettes, a cabin, some with jetted tubs, all with free coffee and wireless internet, Hot tub, pool and a 650 sq foot meeting room. Come visit with deer, wild birds and other mountain critters just 2 miles from Boulder’s amenities. Relax with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Boulder Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Mountain Hotel Boulder
Boulder Mountain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulder Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.