We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Black Hawk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ameristar is a luxury hotel located in a wonderful setting high in the Rockies! The rooms are large and well appointed and the staff always makes us feel welcome. The buffet is excellent, by far the best in Blackhawk and the Fireside Kitchen serves a fantastic made to order breakfast. The casino has a wide variety of machines ranging from the old standards to brand new. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We prefer the "city view" rooms: a better view of both the mountains and the casino strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    169
    37
    39
    26
See reviews for
122
436
49
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the AmeriStar are always amazing. Friendly, approachable, kind, sincere, and comical. I have never had a poor experience here. It is well worth the trip!

During our last stay, our room was accidentally booked to another guest. We would have to wait an additional 30 minutes to check in. We gave the manager our number and hit the casion floor. About 15 minutes later, I received a call informing us our room was ready. The manager met us at the casino entrance and took us to our room. He had comped us the Mountain Pine Suite, which was the most amazing room I had ever stayed in. The staff checked on us frequently and made the stay exceptional. I was amazed by the staff and quality at the Ameristar.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We love the Ameristar. We go up there for relaxation, good food, & gambling at east once a month. I play penny slots & love their selections. Playing for "comps" is a great program. The rooms are luxurious, clean, have internet access, safes, large flat screen TV's, & all the amenities. There are many options for dining, including the Centennial Buffet, which we usually choose. There are many areas in the hotel to just sit, relax, & enjoy mountain views. We always feel at home there. I do wish they would bring back the "earn 25 base points Sun. - Thurs. for a free buffet". That was a great incentive!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor (we love the 32nd) on the city side (odd numbers) for a great view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Our experience at the Ameristar Casino Resort is always good. The rooms are nice and always clean. We enjoy playing the slot machines and sometimes have good luck. The atmosphere is warm and inviting, and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ameristar Casino in Black Hawk is a beautiful resort that totally pampers its guests. From the time you arrive you feel at home. Check in was a breeze and our room was clean and comfortable. Love the tub. I really appreciate that the work out room is available 24 hrs a day, as I run in the middle of the night. :) And I can't say enough about the buffet.
We had a great time on the slots. And came home with money. What else could you ask for.?
Will, maybe an area for small children so that family's could come together, but other then that it is an amazing resort to escape to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here again recently, and I have to say, it is still the best hotel in the area. Five stars in my book. And, if you play with their players card, you will receive discounted stays during the weekdays. We always gamble, go have dinner, gamble a bit more and at between 9 pm to 11 pm, go up to swim during the "Adult Swim Time" There is a beautiful indoor lap pool and two spas. We always enjoy our time. The front desk staff is very professional. My husband travels a lot and stays in many hotels, and he says this is one of the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Every visit to the Ameristar is the best. Great price and it is worth so much more. The rooms are so comfortable and clean. I think it's the best Hotel in Colorado. The staff are excellent and the casino is great fun. The food at the Buffet is GREAT. I always choose Ameristar. You should too!

Room Tip: I prefer 28th floor through 30th for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk

Address: 111 Richman Street, PO Box 45, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Black Hawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk is a completely new luxury hotel and spa in the Denver area. This Ameristar Hotel in Black Hawk has 536 spacious guest rooms with 64 suites, many featuring panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You’ll find a full-service day spa and the only pool in Black Hawk at this Ameristar Resort. Guests may also enjoy an on-site Fitness Center, indoor/outdoor swimming pool and a two-story casino with rustic elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk Hotel Black Hawk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa Black Hawk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.