We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecologically-minded home-grown luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colorado

Casa Colorado
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Black Hawk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Colorado
Save Saved
You added Casa Colorado to your Saves list
196 Bear Crossing Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Black Hawk B&B and Inns
Colorado
1 review
“Ecologically-minded home-grown luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I love good food, and Morgan's cooking is exquisite! I was attracted to Casa Colorado from pictures of their organic hoop-mansion garden, it’s so big I can’t label it a “hoop-house”! Scott and Morgan really are re-defining what it means to be able to grow food in difficult (mountainous) conditions, proof to the world that sustainable harvesting can be done everywhere. At the end of the growing season Morgan cans old-fashioned style right there in her kitchen, so we were able to enjoy some of their organic bounty in the winter. What they can’t grow is purchased with a mindedness to support local businesses as much as possible. The log cabin house was refurbished by Scott’s own hands, retro-fit with solar radiant flooring, using recycled construction materials as much as possible. And FREE lift tickets to a local ski resort, 15-20 minutes away, a stay at Casa Colorado is a precious indulgence like no other!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Our first trip to Casa Colorado was on Valentine’s Day weekend. Scott and Morgan provided an exceptional experience with no detail left out…from the roses in the suite…to the rejuvenating sauna, steam shower, and hot tub…to the most wonderful romantic dinner we’ve EVER had!!! We also enjoyed a great day of skiing at the nearby resort. Every aspect of their log home is amazing and the breakfasts are so unbelievable. We felt so comfortable staying at Casa Colorado!

We returned in the fall and enjoyed a great hike they recommended as well as all of the other amenities at the B&B, including several movies in the large theater room. The nearby wildlife Colorado has to offer is amazing. We got to see the mountain goats at Mt. Evans up close and personal...what an experience! From mule deer to big-horned sheep to bald eagles, there is so much to enjoy. And the wildflowers are beautiful.

This B&B is close to Boulder and Denver so we just visited again for the THIRD time. We are truly amazed by Morgan’s cooking talents…meals prepared from scratch using fresh, local ingredients…each one even more creative and delicious than the one before. We were able to reconnect with nature as we sat in their hot tub during a very cold, snowy night. We are so inspired by Scott and Morgan and have really enjoyed each stay with them in their beautiful, eco-friendly home.

We highly recommend Casa Colorado (especially the meals) and hope to return again soon!

Tom & Christine
New Jersey

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

In the winter it is truly a winter wonderland place. Comfortable room. The steam and sauna were so cleansing. Morgan's chef abilities amazing, delicious meals we had. Scott and Morgan are so easy and nice to be with. We drove to Nederland which was an interesting little town with great little shops. Casa Colorado came recommended to us and we are so glad we explored it. You should too!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I made last minute reservations at Casa Colorado to host visiting family from out of town. Scott and Morgan went out of their way to accommodate our needs and made us feel at home the minute we arrived. Much of my family had not seen the Rockies previously so they were awestruck on the drive up through the Front Range. On our arrival, this gave way to amazement at Casa Colorado. The thoughtful attention to detail on the design and decor made for a place that has real character rather than the cookie cutter layouts of so many other places. Since our stay I have been looking for another excuse to stay there, so I highly recommend it over anywhere else I've been in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

What a fabulous stay at Casa Colorado! Morgan and Scott are graciousl hosts and it was wonderful to spend time at their lovely B&B. Morgan is a fantastic chef and Scott's stories about building this lovely eco-retreat were a true bonus. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a beautiful getaway with amazing views, great food and a welcoming environment.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colorado

Address: 196 Bear Crossing Road, Black Hawk, CO 80422
Location: United States > Colorado > Black Hawk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Black Hawk
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.