We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for the Tough Mudder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts to your Saves list
Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts
311 Offerson Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place for the Tough Mudder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked this condo for the Tough Mudder, and I'm happy I did. This place is clean, and HUGE! It was a 2 bedroom 3 bathroom unit, it was fully equiped with everything you'd need to live comfortably away from home. The property is beautiful and it's about a 3 minute walk to the base of the mountain where the Mudder started, not to mention the restaurants and shops that are right there. I can't wait to stay here again when it's ski season. The prices are reasonable for being in Beaver Creek. Didn't have to deal with any staff so I don't know how the place is run, I picked up the keys from a vistor center. Stay here, spoil yourself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 5 kids(12,11,9,6 and 9month) and our nanny. There was room for everyone, we stayed in unit 428 and we had a 1 king size bed in the master, 1 bedroom with 2 king size beds, 1 w/2 queen size beds and a loft w/queen size bed. A table to sit 10 people and a large living, we had a small deck but a decent size enclosed hot tub and our kids loved that after a long day skiing. The CONS is that you do have to walk a little bit to get to the path of the bridge and then ski down to the ski school or the gondola or the Centennial lift. In the way back, you do have to take the gondola and then ski down to the condo. For us it was hard because of the kids but I’m sure it could had been ok if we were traveling with adults or you are willing to walk up the hill. The only downside is that in our master the bed was way to OLD! The mattress had sunk in the middle and we tried to flip offer the mattress.. I would expect for the cash we paid to at least get a decent mattress. Right??
You do get maid service (including clean towels) every day. I hope you do know that this resort is exclusive and be willing to pay for it.
For food try Beano’s (we got to sit in the cabin of the snowcat on the way to the restaurant)and if you want something modern, then the Ritz.

Room Tip: Ask for the hot tub.. you won't regret the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Just returned from a quick family trip to Beaver Creek Village, Colorado, and we loved it! Stayed over the long MLK weekend. Invited to join a couple other friends who were bringing their families. I was hesitant at first because I'm not much of a skier, and my girls (ages 3, 6, 9) are all beginning level skiers. But this was great!

Accomodations: Stayed at the Kiva condominiums. Excellent location because it was an easy walk downhill (about a block) to the Park Hyatt, which is pretty much the center of all skiing and activity. I always took the shuttle back to Kiva with the kids. Kind of icy to walk uphill with the small kids.

Had a two-bedroom unit with loft. Master had a king; guest had two doubles and a full bath; loft had bunk beds, a large couch and a full bath. Our friends shared a 3-BR with loft. Their unit was nicer and more spacious, had a hot tub on the deck. But both had plenty of space for us. Units are rather warm and the only way to cool down is open a window, but otherwise great. Need to bring your own laundry detergent. Dishwasher soap was there already. Each bathroom has shampoo, lotion, Colgate toothpaste, mouthwash, lip balm, generic toothbrush. Plenty of towels (four sets in each bathroom). And the front desk gives you big, thick towels for use at the pool (not small, scratchy ones).

Front desk people are super-nice. They set out a simple continental breakfast of yogurt, donuts, juice, banana bread in the morning. Papers are at your doorstep in the morning. I called a week ahead, and Claire at the front desk even arranged babysitting for all seven of the kids in our group (all girls ages 3-12) so that the adults could go out by ourselves one night!

Outdoor pool is not heated enough to swim in during the winter (heated to about 88 degree, I believe), so the kids just used the hot tub instead.

Our friends' even-numbered unit had a nice view of the woods and mountain in back. Saw a fox walking around there a couple times - he appeared to be living right there in that area. This was also an area where we would see people walking around with their dogs, so just know there are a good number of fox. You see fox crossing signs. Odd number units like ours had views of the street, but could still see the mountains.

Skiing: Kids enjoyed their all-day lessons. Definitely register on-line, and then get there the afternoon before (after 3:30 pm, but before they close at 4:30 pm) to check in, get sized for skis and boots, etc. This saves a lot of time and crowds in the morning. Did the same for the adult rentals. Rent on-line, then get there the day before for fitting.

During lessons, they have these nice conveyer belts to carry the beginner skiers up a short ways. Much better than tow ropes or having to shuffle up the hill!

I am a cautious skiier and wanted to stay down low on the mountain, but my friends (who are all good skiers) had scoped out the top of the mountain and said it was ok for beginners. They were right! We went up Centennial lift, and then took the next one, Drink of Water lift, up to the top. Much less crowded up there, making it easier for us beginners! Our kids did fine up there as well! Went down Red Buffalo most of the time. But not our 3-year-old. She fell asleep during her ski lesson, so we had to just enroll her into the daycare, and we ate the cost of her lesson and two-day ski rental. But the rest of us enjoyed.

Restaurants: Beaver Creek Village has plenty of good restaurants for the family, but better go early if you have a large group (like us with 3 families together). It was either eat dinner at 5 or eat at 8. And even to eat at 8, you better put your name in an hour ahead of time. All the casual places do not take reservations, so it's first-come, first serve. All of them are pricey. Only Blue Moose Pizza seemed reasonable. We ate with all our families at Toscanini's, Blue Moose, Dirty Cowboy. All were good for the family. Went to Coyote Cafe just with adults - has more of a frat party atmosphere and was on the smaller side, so I'm glad we didn't take the kids there. There is a small game room next to Dirty Cowboy where we would go to kill time while waiting for our table to be ready. Worked out well.

Expense: Yes, everything up here is way overpriced and expensive. So just be prepared for that. At lunchtime, when we were on the slopes, we would eat at cafeteria style places (like McCoy's at the Hyatt or Saddleridge Lodge on the mountain), and we could never get away with less than $40 for two people. At McCoys, I just had one piece of lasagna with a small side salad; husband had a chicken sandwich with fries; we each had a soda. Bill was $42 dollars. The sodas alone are a little over $5. So yes, be prepared for sticker shock.

Transportation: Since we stayed so close to the Hyatt, we definitely did not need a car while we were at Beaver Creek. Were able to walk to the village all the time (and I am the type of person that doesn't like to walk any farther than I have to). And at the end of the evening, we called for the shuttle to take us back.

So we didn't rent a car. Just hired Vail Coach services to pick us up at Eage Creek/Vail airport and also to take us back at the end of our trip. They even stopped at a grocery store in Edwards for us on the way so that we could stock up on basics before getting to the condo. Much better than having to use the general store in the Village, since it is a much more limited selection there as well as much higher prices. I would definitely use their services again.

Extras: The girls loved ice skating at the rink in the village. Tried to skate during disco skate time in the evening, but it was crowded, and they ran out of all the skate sizes that we needed for our kids and adults. So we went first thing in the morning when they opened at 10 am - much nicer because empty! Girls loved it!

And the free cookies at the end of the ski day can be found at the top of the stairs, mountain level, near where the ski school overnight ski storage trailer is (and near where they set out the pictures that the photographers took that day of your kids at ski school). So at 3 pm, be sure to find the white-coated servers with the silver trays of warm cookies there!

Despite the exorbitant expense, I would definitely go back to Kiva and Beaver Creek again. Next time, though, I wouldn't mind trying out the Park Hyatt. They have a ski concierge so that you don't have to deal with the hassle of getting out and putting your skis away each day!

Great getaway for the family and for all levels of skiers!

  • Liked — Friendly service, good location
  • Disliked — Pool could be heated much more during the winter
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Just returned from a week stay at Kiva. True ski-in, ski-out and good for beginners (easy slope down to main mountain lift). Nice shuttle service to village every 10 minutes until 5:30pm, then only a phone call away until 3am convient for dining and shopping, or catching a bus to Vail. We could have walked to the village, but with the snow conditions we opted to ride the shuttle. Daily housekeeping included. Continental breakfast is only donuts and juice/hot chocolate/tea, but we knew that ahead of time. We bought eggs and bacon at the general store in the village along with other groceries. Woodburning fireplace..plenty of wood and firestarter. We had a balcony with view of the mountain and lifts. Full kitchen, and cookware. Washer/dryer in condo. Pool, sauna, and outdoor hot tub were nice. We had a one bedroom condo, but there was a loft with bunk beds and a large couch.....could have slept 4-6. Only complaint was no laundry detergent, but it could be purchased at the general store. Had a wonderful time!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

Typical rental condo. Typical rental condo furnishings.
New beds, very comfortable.
Rooms are good sized and kitchen was well equipted.
Wood burning fire place. Newer units in B.Creek have gas.
Ski in/Ski out bridge located under Haymeadow lift.
Ski in brings you to within 20 ft of ski locker room.
You have to walk/carry skies about 25 yards to ski down to Centenial lift.
Helpful friendly staff.
Breakfast is doughnuts, muffins, etc. Do not expect to fill up for ski day.
5 minute walk to village.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2005

Just returned and was quite pleasantly surprised. Rooms were spacious and reasonably well decorated. Kiva had nice mountain views and was truly ski in-ski out to the Centennial lift (Beaver Creek's main high speed lift). It's a very short walk (downhill) to the village and no big deal returning uphill. Essentially, it's diagonally across Offerson from the Hyatt and uphill. The Beaver Creek "on request" transportation system made getting to less centrally located restaurants such as Grouse Mountain Grill and Splendido easy. The facilities were better than I expected with two good hot tubs, a sauna and a pool. While it is a limited service hotel, it has a very committed and friendly staff and was an unexpectedly pleasant surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaver Creek hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#1 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#5 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Mountain Lodge Beaver Creek by East West Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts

Address: 311 Offerson Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kiva is conveniently located in upper Beaver Creek and features its own skiway just steps from the end of the building that provides easy ski-in, ski-out access to the slopes of Beaver Creek Mountain. The Kiva, privately tucked away on the Eastern side of Beaver Creek in the Highlands area, gives you the feeling of being away from everything and close to the action at the same time. The two- and three-bedroom residences are spacious, with large bedrooms and en suite bathrooms. Some have a loft for additional sleeping space, and with full bath. The property has a large, year-round pool and patio area with two hot tubs, lounge chairs, BBQ grills, steam and sauna with a private changing area. While staying at the Kiva, you can enjoy on-site check in and front desk, a private ski locker room, complimentary wireless Internet, washer and dryers in every home, covered parking and recently upgraded common areas. Please note that there is no air conditioning in these vacation rentals. Complimentary Village Transportation shuttle is available to take guests anywhere within Beaver Creek Resort. Guests of East West Resorts have the added amenities including access to The Club at Allegria, full concierge services and daily housekeeping in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiva Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiva Beaver Creek by East West Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.