We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added The Pines Lodge, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 35% off!
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Beaver Creek
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I can't think of one thing that wasn't just perfect during our stay at the Pines. We were there 3 nights before Christmas and found every staff member to be incredibly helpful, jovial and accommodating. The room was luxurious and comfortable, with plenty of space for 4 people and their ski clothes/boots. The filtered drinking water provided in glass bottles in the room was just wonderful, it was so nice to have those, and have them refilled so promptly when asked! The pool was warm and clean, a beautiful peaceful setting, and the hot tub was perfect after skiing in the cold all day. Internet worked perfectly, beds were comfortable and the room temp was easy to control.

We only tried the breakfast buffet at the restaurant and it was definitely worth it - delicious!!! I can only imagine how good dinner would be there. And of course the chocolate chip cookies in the lobby at 3 each day were wonderful (on the days when we weren't getting them at the base of the lifts).

The location is just perfect, just a few minutes' walk from the village and lifts via the ski in/out trail. Very convenient whether walking or skiing. We used the shuttle a couple times at first but preferred the trail once we discovered how close we were to everything!

I'm going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear stephanie a,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our water on the rocks filtered water program is a hit with all our guests. It is very important to stay hydrated while staying at altitude and the program also eliminates use of plastic disposable containers.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,

Bill MacFarlane
wmacfarlane@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    69
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
101
117
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pines Lodge for two nights and loved the place. This hotel is a ski in and out hotel, it does take some pushing to do it as the area is very flat from the ski lift. If you would prefer they have a shuttle that leaves every fifteen minutes to and from the chair lift, the shuttle is prompt and the drivers very helpful. This same shuttle will take you to and from the village at night as well, you just call and they will drop you off or pick you up.
The hotel had free Starbucks coffee on our floor every morning from 7:30- 10:00 am, A nice touch, just walk down the hall and get it.
Lastly the employees were great, from the front desk to to the guys that helped load the car or get your skis for you. You will not find a nicer or more helpful group of people. I wish I had payed more attention to names so I could list them here.
The rooms are nice and finished with pine wood all over giving the hotel a casual look. The beds were extremely comfortable and the heat system was quiet and efficient- some hotels put those darn noisy systems that wake you up every time they come on.
Our room had a refrigerator and worked great. While we did not eat at the hotel the restaurant
looked nice and was rather expensive. I wish I could say something negative about the place but I would be lying. I will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear rakramer,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us! Always glad to hear how helpful and friendly our staff was to our guests. Please come back and see us the next time you are coming to Beaver Creek!

Kind Regards,
Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wow where do I start? Beaver Creek is stunning and The Pines Lodge is the place to stay. I had a large king room with a great view. The bed was great, the room was very comfortable and spacious. Free internet is a nice plus. I have to admit I didn't spent a lot of time in the room and I don't think you will ether. The bar and restaurant are really great. And the Ski Rental right inside the hotel is always a great thing. I would go back here in an instant if I go back.

Room Tip: My room looked out over the Valley and Village of Beaver Creek. Ask for a working humidifier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear the colonel1215,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay! I am so glad that you enjoyed Beaver Creek and the hotel! Please come back soon and try out the Grouse Mountain Grill Restaurant – # 1 out of 61 restaurants in Beaver Creek on Trip Advisor.

Regards,

Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We just finished another great weekend at the Pines. This place is the best - great location, great facilities and great staff. The shuttle to the Village is convenient and runs all the time. The pool and hot tub is always a kid favorite. Rooms are nice and big and the view is 2nd to none.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Jason C,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pines Lodge! I am so glad that you enjoyed Beaver Creek and the hotel! Please come back soon and try out the Grouse Mountain Grill Restaurant – # 1 out of 61 restaurants in Beaver Creek on Trip Advisor.

Happy Holidays!

Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had such a nice stay last year for Thanksgiving that we decided to repeat our trip for this year. There was a mistep in reservations when I tried booking an extra night. Was quickly resolved and front desk upgraded us for free. Another nice surprise is they started their breakfast buffet up again that week so we didn't have to go into the Village to eat each morning. For the price you really can't beat this place. A smaller venue for sure, but done very well. Staff is very accomodating. Warm cookies and hot cocoa are served each day at 3:30pm in the front lobby. We just love coming here for Thanksgiving week. Be sure to check out free ice skating show followed by fireworks in The Village they have on Friday, the day after Thanksgiving. A great way to kick off the holiday season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear kfriel,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pines Lodge over Thanksgiving! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay so much in 2012 you decided to repeat the trip in 2013. Glad to hear the one misstep regarding your reservation was resolved to your satisfaction. Look forward to your next visit to Beaver Creek.

Happy Holidays,

Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been driving across country, staying at Hampton inns and Hilton Garden Inns. We looked forward to our night at Pines Lodge high in Beaver Creek. Everything about the hotel (check-in, valet service, room, view, dinner at Grouse Mountain grill) was superb BUT we were quite stunned to learn that there was no breakfast service! This is a Rock Resort for heaven's sake; all these road hotels offer breakfast! We were told there would some muffins on buffet table, but only place in town for breakfast was Park Hyatt or we could drive into Avon! We are wondering what a $30/ day resort fee covers? Silly us to book a night in the "off season" ; how were we to know? We are a long way from home, and we won't make that mistake again! If hotel is open for guests, breakfast should be offered!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
DearTesoro760,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Pines Lodge. All of us at the hotel, and throughout RockResorts work hard to consistently exceed our guest's expectations and when we fail to do that it is a disappointment. For this please accept my sincere apology.

We will work with our reservations, front desk and concierge staff to do a better job of reaching out to our guests to prepare them for their stay. I am sorry you were not informed prior to arrival that the restaurant would be closed for breakfast during your stay. The fall and spring can be quiet in the Vail Valley, so many local businesses reduce their hours operation and services during these times.

I hope you will come back to see us again!

Regards

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the Pines on September 23/24 on our first-ever trip to Beaver Creek ! We were ending a weeklong road trip through the west from Texas and have often been to Colorado for travel, but as we aren't skiers, this is one area we had missed.
We actually chose this hotel because of its TripAdvisor reviews--but we will make a special effort to stay there in the future ! The setting is idyllic..away from the bustle of BeaverCreek Village and secluded among the trees, but close enough to walk to all the shops and great restaurants just down the road in the glorious fall weather we enjoyed ! This is the season between the family travel times of summer and the arrival of the great Colorado ski season, so it was not at all crowded, but actually allowed leisurely shopping, dining, and hiking without having to deal with larger crowds to access services in the area, restaurant reservations, etc.
The hotel was immacculate inside and out--the landscape was impeccable ! The interior appointments were tasteful and obviously of high quality. The front desk and door staff we met, especially Brett, Josh, and AJ, took care of absolutely everything we needed--great recommendations for dining in the area! Very friendly and knowledgeable , with a level of professionalism we very much appreciated..commensurate with the luxury expected in the Rock Resort system. We especially loved the complimentary fresh Starbuck's coffee service available early each morning right down the hall from our room-- very convenient, as their restaurant breakfast service was abbreviated due to the time of year. Room appointments were excellent, and while we did have a bit of an issue with the strength/ reliability of the wireless service in our room, we didn't mention it until we were checking out, and then found out they were scheduled in fact to upgrade that system on the 2nd and 3rd floors the week after we stayed...really a minor glitch in an otherwise over-the-top experience !
Though we were fortunate to book on a season special package, our room had a phenomenal view of Beaver Creek village and the town of Avon and the mountains in the distance..we couldn't have asked for a better "introduction" to Beaver Creek ! Even if you're not a skier, The Pines Lodge at Beaver Creek is definitely worth making a special effort to get there--anytime of the year !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear howdygal,

Thank you for posting about your stay with us! Nice to hear you chose the Pines based upon other past guest Trips Advisors reviews. September is my favorite time in the Vail Valley with the cool temperatures, beautiful fall foliage and limited crowds. Thanks for mentioning some of our amazing staff in your review and the issue with the Wi-Fi has been corrected with upgrade equipment throughout the hotel this fall.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Regards,
Bill MacFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.