We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis in bustling Beaver Creek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pines Lodge, A RockResort to your Saves list
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Europe
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis in bustling Beaver Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked this hotel using the 'you don't see the price until you've paid' method, as there was a great deal on. I was hoping for the Beaver Creek Park Hyatt, like I got last year, and will admit I was a bit sad to see I got The Pines Lodge. It didn't sound nearly as sexy.
We arrived and were the last people to check in at midnight. Wow, such a different feel already to that of the Park Hyatt, where the lobby is busy with people at all times of day or night. Our room was not as posh as the PH, and we overlooked the car park :( but it was quiet and did the trick. They offer free Starbucks coffee between 7 and 10 am on your floor, and that was a nice treat. Also, I really liked the 10 min walk into the village, it made it feel like we have our own chalet or something. In the end, I think I prefer this hotel to PH because it's more relaxing and you can get away. And, if you get a room on the mountain side, it's gorgeous. I saw one as it was being cleaned and sighted wistfully.
My only negative would be the pool. It's tiny and we went there three times. Each time all chairs were taken. Otherwise, it's a nice place to rest your head.

Room Tip: Ask for room not on the car park side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    74
    15
    12
    3
See reviews for
107
131
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pines for one night during August and we had a wonderful time. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and we had a great conversation about willamette valley wines. The hot tub was a great place to take a bottle of wine in the evening and relax.

Room Tip: Room 224 has a great view of the valley and is larger than most for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We got amazing views from our room of the mountainside. The Pines Lodge has a rustic and older feel with cabin-style decor. Although the carpet looks a bit dated, the resort itself is in great shape. The bathroom was large and appealing.

The only negative was the constant need for valet as there are no parking areas available. The hotel's restaurant is busy, but classy, so the noise is minimal. The staff was helpful, the room size was adequate and the beds were good.

For the value, I think this is one of the best deals in Beaver Creek during the summer season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A wonderful alpine hotel just above the hustle of BC village that seems miles away. Our room had breathtaking views of the valley and village. We awoke to morning sun and the sounds of hummingbirds and others singing their sweet morning melodies. An easy stroll into the heart of the village, this hotel has fabulous service, everyone is very attentive. Brett and AJ took great care our our needs. We were treated to wonderful jazz in the bar on the weekends by the very talented Tony Gulizia who had company this weekend on trumpet and sax. Although we didn't eat at the Grouse Mountain Grill this trip, I can tell you the food and service is outstanding. It's quiet and our room was spacious and made for a nice place to relax in-between hiking the area and biking Glenwood Canyon, just 30 minutes west. Internet was speedy and the bed is the most comfortable, which makes for a good night sleep. Highly recommend it for a relaxing long weekend or romantic getaway. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Even numbers have valley views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear fahlava,

Thank you for the feedback and the detailed review regarding the stay. I always enjoy hearing our guest mention team members who provided excellent service, so I will be sure to recognize Brett and AJ personally.

Hope to see you again soon and let us know if we can book a dinner for two at the Grouse Mountain Grill when Tony G is playing.

Regards

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I would not put a resort that caters to families with lots of small children as "romantic". We went for our wedding anniversary because this resort was highly rated. The service was impeccable, the food and drinks were wonderful, the room was clean and very nice. However, the moment we got to our floor we were assaulted by the sounds of screaming/crying kids on both ends of the hallway. We changed and went to the pool/hot tub area that was rendered completely unusable due to the numbers of unsupervised children with squirt guns. Dinner was not as perfect as we'd hoped, not because of the food but because of the table full of fidgety kids next to us. I would not recommend this place for adults who want a peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear ppolson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at The Pines Lodge. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you didn’t have the relaxing environment you expected during your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear of this situation and can confidently say that this experience is not at all the norm for our guests. To all of our guests, on behalf of the management team, we take comments like this very seriously and greatly appreciate your feedback.

While we are regrettably unable to change the events that occurred during your stay, I am hopeful that you will allow us the opportunity to renew your faith in us and revisit our property in the future. I would personally like to invite you to return as our guest for a complimentary night’s visit at The Pines Lodge. Please contact me directly so that I may personally oversee your reservation.

Sincerely

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Pines Lodge Resort is one of the most accommodating and welcoming resorts we have ever been to! My husband and I got married there 6 years ago and we were welcomed with an upgraded room with a view of the valley and a bottle of champagne! Brett and the rest of the Pines Lodge staff made our entire stay amazing! We can't wait to go back and have many more memories at this beautiful resort in Beaver Creek!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Brady,
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent visit to The Pines Lodge. I will pass on the kind words to rest the team. Hope to see you back for next year’s anniversary and have a great summer.


Brett
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

In the style of an alpine chalet, this large Beaver Creek resort is a great value and a very nice addition a few steps away from the village area. Pine molding around the doors, cabinetry in the rooms and around the beds painted with German style alpine flowers give this place a rustic feel. It is, however, far from rustic in the amenities available in the rooms.

The bathrooms are very large with gigantic double showers but no tubs. I loved the rock shaped soaps with pumice in the bathroom. The beds and linens are first rate as well. If you go, ask for a room facing the slopes for the best views. They do not charge tor overnight valet car service, and this also makes for a great deal.

Rooms contain large, flat panel televisions and dual ski boot warmer/dryers. The free wifi kept kicking me off, however.

The Grouse Mountain Grille serves meals all day. We enjoyed an amazing breakfast on the open air patio surrounded by blooming flowers and buzzing hummingbirds this July. Prices in the Grille are premium. However, they also have complimentary Starbucks coffees and teas on the second and fourth floor of the hotel for guests each morning.

The staff is respectful and professional. While everyone was friendly, they seemed quite young, like this was their summer job. They are not experienced professionals. This isn't necessarily bad, but it's what keeps me from giving them five stars, coupled with the fact that they seemed a bit understaffed while we visited. For example, we needed to get our car from the valet, but there was noone there. We walked back to the front desk to wait for someone to notice us, at which point he left the desk to get the car himself. I was just surprised that they didn't seem to have coverage for the desk and valet.

You can get good deals online for the rooms, and the main lift area and Beaver Creek village is about a 5 minute walk. For the room quality and value overall, I really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.