We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more from 5 star resort in Beaver Creek” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added The Pines Lodge, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Priceline.com
and 5 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summertime Rocks!
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Beaver Creek
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expected more from 5 star resort in Beaver Creek”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Six of us stayed in Townhome #7. Perfect for a family or group. We live in Denver and the rest of the group from NJ. We travel the world so I think our review is accurate and fair. /the reviews of the Pines hotel I read is very different than staying in the townhomes. The reviews of the hotel are rave so be aware if you stay in townhouses. The townhome was a 3 bdrm, 3 1/2 bath all of which were beautiful and updated, comfortable beds, new carpet. High ceilings, lots of light. It was disappointing that the main floor with living room and kitchen was very dated and didn't match rest of townhouse. Please beware that the Pines promotes that the townhomes have gourmet kitchens. This was NOT gourmet and was at least 30 years old. Ie: old electric stove, pans were very used, hard to cook eggs as they stuck, not consistent adequate cooking utensils like tongs. And about 30% glasswear and coffee mugs had chips in them. There was carpet in the kitchen that was visably dirty. Carpet doesn't belong in the kitchen. The hotel should have warned us ahead of time. Cabinet doors above refrigerator kept coming off. Light switches in kitchn and living area were filthy, needed a good cleaning. And when walking back into hotel lobby during our 5 day stay, their was a lack of staff around. And if there was staff, they kept heads down behind reception, no one on duty as a bellman. Lobby not inviting nor restaurant, something lacking. The Grouse Mountain Grill is good if you are looking for "she she" They definitely do not promote "casual fare" for dinner so if you want to eat at the bar area, be aware it's not casual, yet their portions are very small. Six of us ordered dinner, The filet mignon was about 2" x 1", 2 goat knochi and the gave us 4 knochi per order, the lettuce wraps were very good but small. So very disappointing as it was expensive and small portions. Point is, you don't want a "high end" meal every meal and I think they are missing the boat by not offering an alternative type of dining. My husband and I travel for business and eat out constantly. Sometimes its nice to eat at the bar area as an option. And its definitely a ski in, but ski out was a hike, but we made it work. Walk to village very easy, 10 minutes max and they do have a shuttle and they were great.

Room Tip: The townhouse #7 was all upgraded (bedrooms, bathrooms) except for the main floor and kitchen. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear KitKatDenver-Delray,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay at the Pines Lodge in Beaver Creek. Your valuable feedback on the condition of the main floor/kitchen ensures we are consistently improving our product and services to exceed your expectations. We have shared your review with the owner of the unit and they are scheduling to remodel the main floor this spring.

Please feel free to call me directly to discuss your stay further.

Regards,

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
(970) 754-7290
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    66
    13
    12
    3
See reviews for
99
107
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think this hotel is actually about 4.8 circles for me instead of 5, but I round up. The one thing that was missing for my wife and I was having a bath tub in the room. It is nice after a day of skiing to have a bath to relax in without having to go to the hot tub, but obviously, if that was the only issue we had, it speaks to the quality of the hotel. The service was exceptional from driving up through checkout. The ski storage was extremely handy and skiing right to the front door at the end of each day was really nice as well. Each afternoon we enjoyed the fresh cookies in front of the fire. The boot warmers in each room are very handy, and the heated parking garage ensures you aren't freezing when you retirever your vehicle. There is a free shuttle that runs to the main village areas, but it is also close enough to just walk via the ski path. Overall, this is an excellent choice if you are traveling to Beaver Creek.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Brian S,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay with us. Your valuable feedback ensures we are consistently improving our services to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon and you can request a room with a bathtub next time you book with us.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed the Pines Lodge for 6 nights, my grandson from Germany joined me for a few days, and my son visited many times, the service was magnificent morning coffee etc on our floor, and evening tea and hot chocolate by the fire in the lounge was a treat, the hot spa and pool was delightful we had it mostly by ourselves, rooms very spacious clean and lovely view from my window overlooking snow covered houses and trees and part of the mountain. which was beautiful as I come from sunny Queensland Australia no snow. A short walk to the shops and the ski parks was a bonus. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Deanna_96

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to the US.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location and servcie and the Grouse Mountain Grill is a must. The ski-out is somewhat difficult as you go uphill and the ski-in is hard to find the first time around. The ski storage was great. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. The pool and hot tub area are in a nice secluded area and not busy at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear tziarnik,

I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review of your most recent stay. Your valuable feedback ensures we are consistently improving our services to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While there are many great things to say about this hotel, what is most important to note here for anyone interested in staying in Beaver Creek, is that there are two facets of this resort: the actual hotel, and the adjacent townhomes. We stayed in one of the townhomes, and it was absolutely what we needed for a family of 6. The only issue we had was with logistics: the townhomes require you to walk up the street 100 yards to 4 flights of stairs at the hotel. From there, you access the ski valet offered by the hotel. You then have to walk an additional 50 yards up a slight grade in the snow in order to access the trail that takes you to the Strawberry lift line. So, from the townhomes, this is not a ski-out resort whatsoever. Additionally, at the end of your day, you must be on the west side of the mountains in order to ski back into The Pines Lodge. Not terrible, but you still have to descend the 4 flights of stairs back to street level. With 4 kids in ski gear and boots, it gets cumbersome.
We didn't spend much time at the actual hotel, but from what we experienced, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. When we had our terrace door lock fail, they sent someone to promptly fix it without issue. Oddly enough, the Pines has an outdoor heated pool that required you to call in advance to have them remove the cover. I have never seen that before at a ski resort. Also worth noting is that you are quite a walk from the village where all of the restaurants and shops are located, but the free shuttle service was virtually hassle-free, especially at night when they will come pick you up and take you back to The Lodge on-call. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone with a large family - rent one of the townhomes. They are 5-star, extremely large, and have any amenity you would need for the trip.

Room Tip: Townhome #7 was gorgeous - the townhomes toward the cul-de-sac require less of a walk to the nearest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
bill s,
Thank you for the great response and detailed opinions of your stay. This is very helpful in ensuring we’re providing the most relaxing and invigorating vacation for our future guest. In regards to the townhome, we also have 3 bedroom units that are located on the ski-in path. This unit is on the same level as the lobby and right outside the outdoor heated pool. If you have any questions about additional properties, please give us a call. Thanks again for the kind words and hope to see you back at The Pines Lodge.

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at the Pines and our first time in Beaver Creek. We are in our 40’s and fairly well travelled (and I am pretty picky). I must say we were thoroughly delighted with our experience!

We had a beautiful view (room 320) facing the valley/village, which I would highly recommend. When booking, I first went for the standard room but subsequently paid to upgrade to a King Superior and was very glad I did. They accidentally put us in the standard room first - facing the mountain but with barely a view of more than the hotel entrance. We immediately questioned it and were moved to the appropriate room. I think it was just a mix up due to the way I first booked and later upgraded. All was forgiven! The room itself is nice – good size, the bed was extremely comfortable, nice large flat screen TV, desk/table and lounge chair, boot warmers, mini fridge and lots of places to store all your ski paraphernalia. The heat worked very well too.

As far as ski in\ski out – it is more ski in\walk out, but it was not an issue for us at all. The walk out was minor and the ski in was fantastic. The free shuttles come every 10-15 minutes and are heated and very comfortable – so whichever way you go is really not a big deal.

While the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to town, the free night time shuttle service is on demand and extremely convenient to anywhere within Beaver Creek. Makes you feel very catered to and pampered.

Jennifer Pope at the concierge was great - she arranged our lift tickets, transportation and all of our dinner reservations. Joshua, the bell hop was very friendly and helpful. Everyone was truly wonderful. The first night I had a terrible stomach ache and a gentleman working at the front desk offered to drive my husband to the market to get me some medicine so he didn't have to wait for the shuttle. I didn't get his name, but he said he was new (I just mention this so he gets credit for his good deed!). Our last day the bellhops were there within 2 minutes when we were ready to check out and they even packed up our skis for us.

The morning tea/coffee/hot chocolate service is really wonderful. We brought packs of instant oatmeal with us and used the hot water that was there for the great variety of teas. This was very convenient and served as our breakfast along with a granola bar every day. We thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon cookies and hot chocolate/cider/tea service in the lobby. What a great way to end a day of skiing! Again, makes you feel very pampered.

The outdoor pool is heated and the hot tub is fantastic – highly recommended! The fitness room is perfectly adequate, although with all the skiing there isn’t much need for it. We had a fabulous dinner at the Grouse Mountain Grill in the hotel – again the service was wonderful.

Tip on transportation if you're coming from Vail/Eagle airport - the private car service is more expensive ($168) if you only have 2 people - but they will stop at a store on the way if you ask (they even have a Costco and you don’t even need to be a member) and you can pick up items like wine, liquor, etc. which will save you money in the end. Also, it gets you there quicker which is nice. Returning, however, the Colorado Mountain Express shuttle ($51 per person) is a great way to go and the pick up time was only 10 minutes earlier than if we had taken a private car.

You should be aware that Beaver Creek is a very family oriented resort. If you want a lot of night life and a large variety of shopping and restaurants, then Vail may be more your style. However, there are still plenty of excellent restaurants and enough shopping at Beaver Creek, just not as extensive as Vail. BC as a whole is a lot more "posh" and pampering, which I really enjoyed.

If you’re looking for some place more large, opulent or lavish, then consider paying more for the Ritz or Park Hyatt. But if you want a good room at a very nice hotel, with friendly, accommodating service and certainly no shortage of amenities, then the Pines is the place for you. You definitely aren’t roughing it at the Pines. We look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Valley view. Go for the upgrade to a Superior to secure the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Robin817,
Thanks for the great response and a sorry again about the initial room issues, but glad it was handled promptly. Next time you are back at The Pines Lodge, be sure to ask about our Movie Night for your family. We will be able to provide a movie, popcorn, drink, and relaxation all free of charge. Thanks for taking the time to share your thougthsvacation and hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are returning to this great hotel this year because of the great service we received last spring. My mother had a hard time climbing into the raised bed (European style), so the manager (Paul?) was able to change rooms (tough because they were booked). Every bit of our stay was excellent, wonderful dining, pleasant staff, beautiful rooms and attention to details (warm cookies in sitting area apres ski).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
bluskigirl,
I am happy to hear Paul was able to accommodate your request. As a property, we always try to fulfill each guest request, so if there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable, please let us know. Again, thanks for the kind words and I will pass this on to our other team members.

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel
Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Amex, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.