We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Pines!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Pines Lodge, A RockResort to your Saves list
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the Pines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at the Pines and our first time in Beaver Creek. We are in our 40’s and fairly well travelled (and I am pretty picky). I must say we were thoroughly delighted with our experience!

We had a beautiful view (room 320) facing the valley/village, which I would highly recommend. When booking, I first went for the standard room but subsequently paid to upgrade to a King Superior and was very glad I did. They accidentally put us in the standard room first - facing the mountain but with barely a view of more than the hotel entrance. We immediately questioned it and were moved to the appropriate room. I think it was just a mix up due to the way I first booked and later upgraded. All was forgiven! The room itself is nice – good size, the bed was extremely comfortable, nice large flat screen TV, desk/table and lounge chair, boot warmers, mini fridge and lots of places to store all your ski paraphernalia. The heat worked very well too.

As far as ski in\ski out – it is more ski in\walk out, but it was not an issue for us at all. The walk out was minor and the ski in was fantastic. The free shuttles come every 10-15 minutes and are heated and very comfortable – so whichever way you go is really not a big deal.

While the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to town, the free night time shuttle service is on demand and extremely convenient to anywhere within Beaver Creek. Makes you feel very catered to and pampered.

Jennifer Pope at the concierge was great - she arranged our lift tickets, transportation and all of our dinner reservations. Joshua, the bell hop was very friendly and helpful. Everyone was truly wonderful. The first night I had a terrible stomach ache and a gentleman working at the front desk offered to drive my husband to the market to get me some medicine so he didn't have to wait for the shuttle. I didn't get his name, but he said he was new (I just mention this so he gets credit for his good deed!). Our last day the bellhops were there within 2 minutes when we were ready to check out and they even packed up our skis for us.

The morning tea/coffee/hot chocolate service is really wonderful. We brought packs of instant oatmeal with us and used the hot water that was there for the great variety of teas. This was very convenient and served as our breakfast along with a granola bar every day. We thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon cookies and hot chocolate/cider/tea service in the lobby. What a great way to end a day of skiing! Again, makes you feel very pampered.

The outdoor pool is heated and the hot tub is fantastic – highly recommended! The fitness room is perfectly adequate, although with all the skiing there isn’t much need for it. We had a fabulous dinner at the Grouse Mountain Grill in the hotel – again the service was wonderful.

Tip on transportation if you're coming from Vail/Eagle airport - the private car service is more expensive ($168) if you only have 2 people - but they will stop at a store on the way if you ask (they even have a Costco and you don’t even need to be a member) and you can pick up items like wine, liquor, etc. which will save you money in the end. Also, it gets you there quicker which is nice. Returning, however, the Colorado Mountain Express shuttle ($51 per person) is a great way to go and the pick up time was only 10 minutes earlier than if we had taken a private car.

You should be aware that Beaver Creek is a very family oriented resort. If you want a lot of night life and a large variety of shopping and restaurants, then Vail may be more your style. However, there are still plenty of excellent restaurants and enough shopping at Beaver Creek, just not as extensive as Vail. BC as a whole is a lot more "posh" and pampering, which I really enjoyed.

If you’re looking for some place more large, opulent or lavish, then consider paying more for the Ritz or Park Hyatt. But if you want a good room at a very nice hotel, with friendly, accommodating service and certainly no shortage of amenities, then the Pines is the place for you. You definitely aren’t roughing it at the Pines. We look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Valley view. Go for the upgrade to a Superior to secure the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Robin817,
Thanks for the great response and a sorry again about the initial room issues, but glad it was handled promptly. Next time you are back at The Pines Lodge, be sure to ask about our Movie Night for your family. We will be able to provide a movie, popcorn, drink, and relaxation all free of charge. Thanks for taking the time to share your thougthsvacation and hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    77
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
117
141
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are returning to this great hotel this year because of the great service we received last spring. My mother had a hard time climbing into the raised bed (European style), so the manager (Paul?) was able to change rooms (tough because they were booked). Every bit of our stay was excellent, wonderful dining, pleasant staff, beautiful rooms and attention to details (warm cookies in sitting area apres ski).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
bluskigirl,
I am happy to hear Paul was able to accommodate your request. As a property, we always try to fulfill each guest request, so if there is anything we can do to make your next visit more enjoyable, please let us know. Again, thanks for the kind words and I will pass this on to our other team members.

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just spend five unforgettable days at "The Pines Lodge" in Beaver Creek. We were catered and pampered by the staff from the fist minute we arrived until we departed. This kind of service and attention to detail only can be achieved when it comes fom the top and we thank everyone absolutely everyone for making our stay magical. We arrived in a rental car with six large luggages and as soon as we arrived in the hotel Porte Cochera we were happily greeted by the car valet person and the luggage valet person, and just like that , as a magical act they took care of the luggaged and the car . We proceeded to the inside and encounter a cousy and well decorated lobby with a light up wood fire place . They were serving complementary chocolate, coffe and chocolate chips cookies which they serve everyday. The check inn proceess was courteous and informative.
We proceeded to our rooms, which we found them to be spacious and perfect to say the least. The hotel even has a turn own service at which time they bring you delicious chocolates. There is ice and vending machines in every floor. Beginning at seven in the morning everyday you have complementary Starbucks coffe, hot chocolate and a great variety of teas in the lobby of each floor . By the way this was my free breakfast every day. There is a great breakfast buffet or breakfast a la cart for those that want more than coffee .
One of the things that impress me the most was the ski valet services. The way they have it set up, it may you feel you are stying in your private residence with a private ski valet. It is just awesome . This is a short walk ski out and a truly and very convenient ski in facility. Again the ski accommodations were second to none and the ski valet persons were savy and courteous.
I did not tried the out door pool or spa it was to cold but they look great and a lot of people were using it. I did used the gym my last day and I was impressed.
We ate at the Grouse Mountain Grill Restaurant and it was delicious .
The complementary shuttle service was so good that you really do not need a car, if you can find a shuttle service from the airport , saved the rental car money because you really do not needed it.
We strongly recomend The Pines Lodge to everyone, we are planning to come back at least once more this year. Undoubtedly , The Pines Lodge give you the best value for your money in Beaver Creek.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Eddie R,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review of your unforgettable five days at the Pines Lodge in Beaver Creek. Your valuable feedback on the service, amenities, rooms and the restaurant ensures we are consistently improving our services to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again this year.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first stay at The Pines Lodge and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is located just off the mountain but is easy ski-in access at the end of the day, although ski-out is a little challenge. Our King Deluxe Room was reasonably priced, with a great view of the area and was very large. The lodge is very quaint, with that European ski village atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and the lodge has all the amenities you would expect. However, dining options are limited to The Grouse Mountain Grill (one of the finest restaurants in Beaver Creek) for dinner and a pricey buffet breakfast that is singularly priced whether you have a bagel or a full breakfast. Due to it's location, it is a good idea to take the shuttle to the village for dinner. However, after 530pm you have to call for pick-up. We opted to walk on one of the ski trials to/from dinner each evening, which was about a 20 minute walk in the snow. Not really that bad. Still, would return again. Be prepared though, as part of Rock Resorts, this along with other Rock Resort locations has a $30 per day resort fee for parking/internet access, even if you do not have a vehicle; so if you don't have a car, you are paying $30 a day for internet access; not an easy pill to swallow.

Room Tip: Deluxe King will likely get you a room with a nice view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Skipbarnett,
Thank you very much for taking a few moments to share your thoughts on your recent stay at The Pines Lodge. The daily resorts fees cover our morning Starbucks Coffee service on the floors, afternoon tea and chocolate chip cookies, daily water on the rocks program, complimentary daily newspapers, business center free printing, photo copies and facsimiles, parking, wireless internet service, ski valet service, free local and toll free calls, etc. RockResorts along with the other full service hotels in the Vail Valley do have the daily resort fees to cover all these amenities we offer daily. Thanks again for the response and you have the time to visit again.


Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just got home Sunday for our long weekend in Beaver Creek. We stayed at The Pines Lodge, and it was absolutely amazing! My plan was to propose to my girlfriend while in Beaver Creek. Jennifer Pope from The Pines was an absolute angel in helping me plan my proposal. It was a dream come true, and it was because of Jennifer, The Pines, and the staff at Beaver Creek that made it so special. My future wife and I will be forever guests of The Pines and Beaver Creek because of all their hospitality. It was a trip we will never forget, and I cannot wait to come back. We highly recommend The Pines and Beaver Creek to anyone looking for amazing service, incredible accommodations, and an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Pbutler35,
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding the property and Jennifer. She and rest the staff was very dedicated to making your stay a weekend to always remember and they did just that. It’s a special opportunity for our staff to make this type of weekend happen and we are pleased to hear it was a success. Let us know when the year anniversary is approaching and we will be sure to welcome you again


Regards,

Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our second stay here and it was like coming home. Greeted by name as we stepped out of the car by the amazing staff, thanks Andy and A.J. They unpacked the car as we entered the warm lobby and grabbed our room keys from a smiling and pleasant Leanne at the front desk. We made our way to the spaciously comfortable room, plopped ourselves down and within one minute Andy was there with our luggage. We were truly on vacation! This place has everything we could want, ski-in,ski-out, a ski shop that provides valet service, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, and of course a world class restaurant, the Grouse Mountain Grill. Thanks go to Kaitlyn for her first class service at dinner. This is the kind of place that you will truly enjoy talking to the staff and the other guests. You might even make new friends. A special thanks to Ryan who went above and beyond to show us the ins and outs of the free shuttle service, where to get the lift tickets with no lines, and got all our luggage back into our car when we had to leave. We even ran into him on the slopes and he took a few runs with us! We will definitely be back. When you come you must remember to get the tea and freshly baked cookies they have every afternoon in the lobby...come as you are, ski boots or bathrobe!

Room Tip: We had room 326, a pie shaped room with a beautiful view of the valley. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Thad R,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review of your second stay at the Pines. Glad to hear you were greeted properly upon arrival and treated as if you were arriving home. Your valuable feedback ensures we are consistently improving our services to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are looking for 4 star service and quality, but don't want to spend $1,100 per night to stay in the Village - the Pines Lodge is for you. I was skeptical at first, because in my mind you get what you pay for....as I'd experienced firsthand in Aspen. But I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the property was. I would say it's on Par with the Park Hyatt, just without the crowds and overworked staff. Warm homemade cookies are served around 3pm, and the Grouse Mountain Grill is an amazing restaurant located on the premises. In the morning you can enjoy a buffet style breakfast for about $17 per person. A shuttle will take you to the main Village for skiing and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
kfriel,
Everyone here at the property was very excited after reading your response and the detailed experience of your stay. We consider ourselves the #1 property in Beaver Creek and our service is what takes us to the top. Thanks again for the kind words and hope to see you soon at The Pines Lodge.

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.