We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski trip of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added The Pines Lodge, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 35% off!
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Beaver Creek
1 review
“Ski trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We just got home Sunday for our long weekend in Beaver Creek. We stayed at The Pines Lodge, and it was absolutely amazing! My plan was to propose to my girlfriend while in Beaver Creek. Jennifer Pope from The Pines was an absolute angel in helping me plan my proposal. It was a dream come true, and it was because of Jennifer, The Pines, and the staff at Beaver Creek that made it so special. My future wife and I will be forever guests of The Pines and Beaver Creek because of all their hospitality. It was a trip we will never forget, and I cannot wait to come back. We highly recommend The Pines and Beaver Creek to anyone looking for amazing service, incredible accommodations, and an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Pbutler35,
Thank you so much for the kind words regarding the property and Jennifer. She and rest the staff was very dedicated to making your stay a weekend to always remember and they did just that. It’s a special opportunity for our staff to make this type of weekend happen and we are pleased to hear it was a success. Let us know when the year anniversary is approaching and we will be sure to welcome you again


Regards,

Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    68
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
101
116
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our second stay here and it was like coming home. Greeted by name as we stepped out of the car by the amazing staff, thanks Andy and A.J. They unpacked the car as we entered the warm lobby and grabbed our room keys from a smiling and pleasant Leanne at the front desk. We made our way to the spaciously comfortable room, plopped ourselves down and within one minute Andy was there with our luggage. We were truly on vacation! This place has everything we could want, ski-in,ski-out, a ski shop that provides valet service, outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, and of course a world class restaurant, the Grouse Mountain Grill. Thanks go to Kaitlyn for her first class service at dinner. This is the kind of place that you will truly enjoy talking to the staff and the other guests. You might even make new friends. A special thanks to Ryan who went above and beyond to show us the ins and outs of the free shuttle service, where to get the lift tickets with no lines, and got all our luggage back into our car when we had to leave. We even ran into him on the slopes and he took a few runs with us! We will definitely be back. When you come you must remember to get the tea and freshly baked cookies they have every afternoon in the lobby...come as you are, ski boots or bathrobe!

Room Tip: We had room 326, a pie shaped room with a beautiful view of the valley. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Thad R,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review of your second stay at the Pines. Glad to hear you were greeted properly upon arrival and treated as if you were arriving home. Your valuable feedback ensures we are consistently improving our services to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are looking for 4 star service and quality, but don't want to spend $1,100 per night to stay in the Village - the Pines Lodge is for you. I was skeptical at first, because in my mind you get what you pay for....as I'd experienced firsthand in Aspen. But I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the property was. I would say it's on Par with the Park Hyatt, just without the crowds and overworked staff. Warm homemade cookies are served around 3pm, and the Grouse Mountain Grill is an amazing restaurant located on the premises. In the morning you can enjoy a buffet style breakfast for about $17 per person. A shuttle will take you to the main Village for skiing and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, Front Office Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
kfriel,
Everyone here at the property was very excited after reading your response and the detailed experience of your stay. We consider ourselves the #1 property in Beaver Creek and our service is what takes us to the top. Thanks again for the kind words and hope to see you soon at The Pines Lodge.

Regards,
Brett Schreiber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

There seems to be some controversy over whether or not this hotel is ski/in, ski/out. When you arrive the ski valet takes your equipment to a ski shop located in the hotel. The next morning when you are ready to go skiing, you go to the shop and put on your boots in nice warm comfort. You go out the back of the hotel, put your skis on your shoulder and walk about one hundred yards on a fairly flat snow packed path that is very easy to walk on in ski boots. Certainly, it is much preferred to getting on and off a bus in ski boots and walking across an icy parking lot in the same aforementioned ski boots! Now, you can get on your skis and have a short glide to the Strawberry Park lift. When you are ready to return to the hotel you can ski right up to the hotel gate. You might say the hotel is better described as walk out/ski in.
With that out of the way, we can concentrate on how delightful this hotel is. The rooms are very comfortable, even luxurious with mattresses about two feet thick. Bathrooms are well appointed. There is a mini-fridge in each room and Starbucks coffee ready in urns on your floor by 7:00 am each morning. If you want, you can take some breakfast items to the hotel with you and put them in the mini-fridge. Each afternoon about 3:00 pm cookies with tea and hot chocolate make an appearance in the lobby by the wood fire that is keep going at all times. The wood fire is especially nice after skiing or with coffee after dinner.
All that is fine but what really makes this hotel work is a very helpful, caring and gracious staff. That does not happen by accident. They have obviously been very well trained by someone.
Over the years I have not had a good relationship with RockResorts. I have not been to one in about ten years. The Pines Lodge was a wonderful experience over two ski trips so far this winter. We hope to be back to Pines Lodge a couple more times before the end of the season. RockResorts, all is forgiven!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was in Denver for a Business trip and my husband decided to fly in last minute so we could ski for a weekend. I found The Pines Lodge on line last minute and so thrilled that we did. The staff was really helpful , the room was so cozy and very clean- had everything we needed on a very cold weekend including ski boot heaters. You can ski/walk to lift and ski almost all the way back to the door of hotel- it was great. The hotel is very pretty, Amazing Views and cozy!
We had a wonderful weekend , thank Pines Lodge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Excellent and Outstanding staff. Way beyond our expectations. Amazing views of the mountains and the lifts. Short walk to the village. The property was pristine and our accommodations was extremely clean. The in house restaurant "Grouse Mountain Grill " is outstanding . The staff made us feel like we were the only ones staying at the lodge. Anything we needed at any time they were happy to comply with. I highly recommend the Pines Lodge as this is our third stay and will be returning this year. I would like to THANK Mr. Macfarlane the lodge manager for his attentiveness and for making our stay a special one. You the best.

Room Tip: Choose unit 401 or 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Caridad F,

You are welcome and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review your recent stay at the Pines Lodge. Your valuable feedback ensures we are consistently improving our services to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again soon and please call me direct so I can reserve condominium 401 or 412 for your next stay.

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAGirl01
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here February 1 and fell in love. The hotel is beautiful. The staff was amazing as well, very helpful front desk. We were able to rend our ski equipment onsite, and then ski right down to the lift. Very simple. The views were breathtaking as well. Would certainly recommend it! There wasn't a spa onsite, but a quick shuttle ride to one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.