We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Mid-Priced Hotel in Beaver Creek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added The Pines Lodge, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 35% off!
Ranked #2 of 21 hotels in Beaver Creek
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Very Good Mid-Priced Hotel in Beaver Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Pines Lodge is an excellent mid-priced hotel in Beaver Creek. Its main strength is its exceptionally accommodating and friendly staff. From the front desk clerk to the restaurant's waiters and bartenders, we found the staff to be well above average in their attentiveness. The property was also very clean so credit needs to be given to the housekeeping staff as well.

I would describe the decor of this hotel as "Rocky Mountain Lodge," which is pretty typical for this area. It also has a small touch of Southwestern character. It is not ultra luxurious, but also not shabby. Pine is pervasive. It is used in the furniture, doors, moldings and even some of the walls. Mattress quality is average.

The location of the hotel is good, but not outstanding. It is not located at the Beaver Creek Village. To get to Beaver Creek Village, guests need to take a short, less than five minute, shuttle ride. Alternatively, you can walk about 300 yards down one of Beaver Creek's ski slopes to access the village. The slope is a traverse so it is mostly flat, but it is still a ski slope and can be slippery in areas. It also has no lights so walking on it at night is not really an option. This very same traverse provides ski in and ski out access to the Strawberry Park Express chairlift during the day.

The hotel has a small outdoor pool and hot tub. It also has a ski rental and tuning shop on property. There is no spa. There is one restaurant, The Grouse Mountain Grille. It has excellent food and a friendly staff. It served the best Colorado Elk I have ever tasted. There is one small bar in The Grouse Mountain Grille that seats about six.

In summary, the Pines Lodge is an excellent mid-priced hotel in Beaver Creek. I would stay there in the future. If you are looking for super-luxurious, you may want to look elsewhere, but expect to pay far more than the Pines Lodge's very good price point. For its price in Beaver Creek, it's pretty tough to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    68
    14
    12
    3
See reviews for
100
115
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Sink right into these relaxing rooms, cozy robes and top-rate service. There's nothing like coming back to a cup of hot cocoa at the end of the day and enjoying the efficiency of coffee service outside your door in the morning. No skimping here, you won't even want to leave the room but if you do, the gym and amenities have all the comforts of home and more.

Room Tip: You must try the lettuce wraps at the restaurant. Billed as an appetizer, but makes a great light di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great service and charming hotel - our room had a 180 degree view of the mountains- reminded us of skiing in Europe and European charm with painted doors and wooden window frames and a warm personal feel. Nice hot tub for apres. Great location - with easy ski-in and out access and close to Beaver Creek main area. My husband and I stayed here for a get away and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows on two sides for a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

At the hotel on a business meeting with a small group. The service staff were super. Very attentive, kept our meeting room well stocked and clean. Valet staff were excellent taking care of skis and the car. They were proactive in getting us to the slopes when we missed our group leaving. You can walk to a ski lift or they can shuttle you. You can walk to bars and restaurants but you need good shoes as you will be walking on snow/ice in the winter. Food in the restaurant was very good. Had a low floor room overlooking front of the hotel - its was OK, no view.

Room Tip: Try for a high room overlooking the back of the hotel. Lower front rooms overlooking the arrival car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear GlobalServicesGuy,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. I agree with you that I have great staff that genuinely love to exceed our guest’s expectations. The next time you come to visit, please call me so I can put you on the upper floor in a room with a view of the mountains.

Regards,

Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
(970) 754-7290
wmacfarlane@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

No complaints with the hotel and staff were great. Room was pleasant but expected a bath and disappointed with shower only. It would have been better though had they been more proactive with information about altitude sickness. The restaurant was good but a little expensive and a limited menu.I was on a conference and the included breakfast was not great eg. supermarket yoghurt and no muesli or granola and breads/bagels not fresh baked.
Starbucks coffee on floor each morning was welcome as coffee in Beaver Creek itself was awful.
In fact the food options in Beaver Creek were not to my liking or I just picked the wrong places.
Overall it was a bit disappointing because I had altitude sickness, it was incredibly cold and and no fresh snow at all. I did not like relying on the shuttle bus and would next time stay in a hotel closer to the lifts.

Room Tip: Dont know but suspect there were better rooms that the one I had
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First of all, let me say that The Pines Lodge is a very nice hotel. I would gladly stay there again. We had a large room with lots of storage space and nice ammenities - attractive but not very luxurious, with floor-to-ceiling windows and a magnificent view. The staff was attentive and friendly. The common facilities were nice, but not spectacular. There are always a roaring fire in the lobby fireplace after skiing, as well as cookies and hot chocolate. The pool and hot tub were nice,with nice views. The location was good - ski in, but not ski out. The lodge is about a 10 minute walk from the village. The restaurant is top notch - not very ornate, but the food was excellent. I'm not a spa person, but I was surprised that there was none.

I have nothing but good things to say about the Pines. Still, it's hard to believe Travel and Leisure rated it #3 in the country (Behind the Osprey and the Sebastian). I'm not even sure it' the 3rd best in Beaver Creek. But as I said, I would go back.

Room Tip: We got a discounted rate by registering and booking through Perfect Escapes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pines L, General Manager at The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Stuart59,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at The Pines Lodge. Guest service is our highest priority, so I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be attentive and friendly during your visit. I am also glad you enjoyed the afternoon cookies and tea service by the fireplace in our lobby. This is a very popular service that we provide daily to all of our guests throughout the winter season.

The Travel + Leisure award we received last year was for #3 of Top US Continental Resorts and was voted on by guests that have stayed with us. The 2013 polls are open now, so if you are interested in voting google search TL World's Best.


Regards,
Bill MacFarlane
General Manager
(970) 754-7290
wmacfarlane@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a stay of 6 nights.

Our king room was spacious with lovely views of town and mountains.

Service was good from front desk, in the restaurant and from the ski team. They can arrange overnight equipment tuning.

Shuttle service or lifts were very handy given the extremely cold weather. Restaurants in town were also happy to arrange shuttles back to the Pines Lodge.

I'd only suggest that the minibar is stocked with some snacks and the apartment come with cutlery and microwave given the very limited eating choices on site.

Also I was disappointed that I was charged the "forest donation" of $1 a night when I'd specifically requested no donation. Not a large amount, but directly against instructions that I initialled.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver Creek
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
8.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#1 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Spa, Pool, Roma...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Lodge, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Lodge, A RockResort

Address: 141 Scott Hill Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#7 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pines Lodge, A RockResort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slope side at Beaver Creek, The Pines Lodge is a luxurious yet intimate lodge that features ski-in access, exceptional accommodations, and remarkable views throughout the year. Nestled between aspens and pines and overlooking the majestic beauty of The Rockies, The Pines Lodge offers the luxury ski resort experience of a lifetime. While staying at The Pines Lodge you, your guests, and your family will be mere steps away from the ski slopes and the Grouse Mountain Grill, a AAA Four Diamond Award-winning restaurant, where you’ll be treated to some of the finest fare in all of Colorado.The Pines Lodge was recently awarded the #3 in Top Resort in the Continental United States by the 2012 Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards readers survey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Pines Lodge, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Lodge, a Rock Hotel Beaver Creek
Pines Hotel Beaver Creek
The Pines Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pines Lodge, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.