We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, chilly ride!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beano's Cabin

Beano's Cabin
Beaver Creek Resort, PO Box 915, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
(970) 754-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Beano's Cabin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 72 restaurants in Beaver Creek
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Guests staying within Beaver Creek Resort should take a complementary, Village Transportation shuttle by calling 970-949-1938.
Description: Amazing cuisine, well-chosen wines, impeccable service, and a unique transportation option to the restaurant have made Beano’s Cabin a favorite destination for years. In the winter, the only way to get up to Beano’s Cabin is via an open air sleigh ride, pulled by a snow cat. Live music is performed while guests dine on an expertly prepared meal by Executive Chef Bill Greenwood. Adults enjoy a five-course dinner with live musical entertainment for $97 per person. Discounts are available for children 11 and under. Please note these prices do not include alcoholic beverages, taxes or gratuity. All reservations made online are for the shuttle van up to the Cabin. In the summer guests have the option of taking a scenic horseback or tractor pulled wagon ride up to Beano's Cabin for an additional charge. To book the horseback or tractor pulled wagon ride please call the restaurant directly at 970.754.3463.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, chilly ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The service and food was excellent. The highlight for us was the Wood Grilled Filet. My wife chose the special of the night (fresh caught Colorado bass) and I ended up splitting my filet with her because it was just so good.

The service was top-notch as well. Water glasses never had the chance to get below half-full and the waiters were quick to answer any questions and give recommendations.

We didn't know what to wear and ended up being a little too dressed up - it seemed like jeans and a sweater was the norm. Also - be sure to bundle up for the sleigh ride! They provide parkas but ours were damp since it was snowing all day. Be sure to wear gloves and a hat! Although we were cold, it was a very memorable experience being hauled up and down the mountain behind a snow cat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    80
    28
    20
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beano's is a wonderful experience. You just don't eat, it truly is an experience. The sleigh ride was wonderful and is unique. The guide was knowledgeable and engaging. When you enter, you can change into a warm pair of wool slippers. The restaurant is beautiful but it would have been better if they had a fireplace to set the mood. The service was excellent. The food choices had a great variety. The price was expensive but like I said, it is not just dining, it is an experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience, but brace yourself for the check”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, three kids and I had a fantastic meal at Beano's Cabin this past weekend. The only hitch is that your dinner reservation time is actually your sled reservation-- an important tidbit they neglect to tell you, so keep that in mind when timing your dinner. Aside from that, the brisk sled ride up the mountain with the beautiful, clear Colorado sky and bright stars really is an experience to remember. Once you arrive at the cabin, you are brought into a warm room to hang your coat and put on slippers if you'd like. The dining room is rustic yet elegant, and the cozy atmosphere is enhanced by live music-- we had a great musician who played guitar and sang great covers of both classic and current songs.
The food is fantastic- very high quality. We were actually surprised at how large the portions were given that it was a five-course tasting menu. The service was excellent-- it is very evident that the wait staff is passionate about the food, and they are very eager to thoughtfully answer any questions you may have. They are very accommodating with food allergies/tailoring the meal to kids etc. You know walking in that it is going to be very pricey (our meal for five was $800), but well worth the splurge. All in all, it was an excellent experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Experience is always a treat. Service is good and food is excellent. Stick with the local favorites like Elk and Lamb. Dress warmly for slayride.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Your Local's Guide to Beano's Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I have been living in Beaver Creek part time for many years and have gone up to Beano's Cabin several times at all different times of the year. We went up again last night in temperatures hovering around 4°. In the winter, the conveyance to Beano's is via sleigh pulled by a SnowCat. It has several rows of benches and you are given a fleece lined poncho to wear for the trip. WEAR IT!!! Also - add a layer to whatever you would normally wear in whatever conditions you are having on the night you go up. There is usually a wind chill to factor in and if there is any fresh snow at all, it will be blowing up from the Snow Cat and all over you. Hint: Sit in the benches closest to and facing away from the SnowCat so that all that blowing snow doesn't go straight into your face. This also gives you an awesome view down into the Vail Valley as you go up and the starry night sky and moon-lit ski runs as you go down. Wearing a coat with a hood is much better protection than just a hat - no snow down your neck. The poncho if you wear it instead of using it as a blanket will give you that protection as well. In the winter, there is no other option transportation wise. Even the waiters go down on the cat after their shift. Since they arrive during the day, many of them ski or snowboard in - fun! The restaurant is toasty warm and there is a roaring fire in the bar that you can snuggle up to when you first arrive. And there are boxes of tissue all over the place to stop the cold weather sniffles. In the snow-free months you can go up via a shuttle van or on horseback. We love going up on horseback. Go ahead and wear jeans - you won't be out of place with the other diners at Beano's Cabin. If you are horribly afraid of heights or a bit afraid of horses, riding the horse up is not for you. There is a short period of time where the trail is very narrow and drops off rather precipitously on one side. You also ford a creek which requires a rather steep descent into the water where if you are not used to riding, you may feel as if you are going to tumble forward off your mount. But we think it's a great way to go up and have been taking our kids up that way since they were small. It's super safe and lots of fun. Your ride down will be in the shuttle van. You will smell like horse after your ride so if you don't like that idea, bring a fresh pair of pants in a back-pack. There are nice washrooms at the restaurant with plenty of room to change and freshen up. The dress is Mountain Casual - pretty much anything goes. I've gone up wearing my jeans, riding boots and a fleece and I've gone up wearing a fancy top and slacks. You will fit in no matter what. In the winter, boiled wool slippers are available in just about every size if you want to remove your cold, snowy footwear but you are not required to do so. Beano's serves a prix fixe meal with five courses. At the time of this posting the cost was $112 per person not including drinks or tip (there is a special price for kids before 6pm). The first three courses are kept to tasting size which I really appreciate because you don't want to be over-stuffed for the main course. I felt the servings were still really generous. Last night we started with a really tasty potato leek soup drizzled with a bit of truffle oil and served in a copper dipper. It was the tiniest bit on the salty side but super delicious. A great selection of baked on the premises bread comes out with your first course. For our second course, my husband and I both chose the wedge salad - a quarter of a head of iceberg with Maytag blue cheese, bacon, tomato, etc - very tasty (and yes - this is kind of a typical appetizer/salad course at many restaurants currently so not super special). The other salad choice is a red kurri squash served with a walnut vinaigrette which we did not try. For his appetizer, my husband chose the rabbit which comes in croquette form and is served with a sweet/spicy aioli. I tried a bite and it was hefty and delicious - loved the sauce. I had the Elk tartare which comes out looking like a thin raw hamburger patty and is unbelievably tasty with wonderful layers of flavor. It's served with home made potato chips (again a bit salty), pickled radish and creme freiche. A great choice! My husband had the Wood Grilled Elk Chop for his entrée - super delicious and not a bit gamey. It was served with squash and a pork belly hash (the new chef loves his pork belly and uses it in many mouth watering forms). I had the Whiskey Glazed Berkshire Porterhouse which was a gigantic bone-in pork chop cooked for hours so that the glaze is carmelized and sweet. Amazing flavor. The chef leaves a great deal of fat on the chop which just adds to the juicy deliciousness. I could only manage half of it and had the other half for lunch today and it was just as amazing. The chop is served with retro grits (ask your waiter to explain) and squash. For dessert my husband had a layered chocolate mousse which was quite tasty and I had this amazing lemon dessert - lemon mousse with a raspberry gelee center served wedged between a delicious lemon bar and a crispy, buttery bit of carmelized sugar. Since it was my birthday, the dessert chef had piped Happy Birthday around the sides of my plate in chocolate and topped it all with a candle. We enjoyed wine by the glass with our dinner but Beano's has a very nice extensive wine list to choose from as well as drinks from the bar. Port, Scotch, Whiskey etc. are available as well. Special thanks to our 'head' waiter Jeff, his co-hort Chris and a couple of additional servers that never hovered but were right there as soon as we finished a dish. Timing between courses was really nice - not too long or short. As we finished our dessert, the hostess dropped by to alert us to the sled schedule going down. We had two different departure times available and didn't feel the slightest bit rushed. Obviously, you can stay longer and enjoy after-dinner drinks at the bar and take a later sled. Last night, we chose to dine early and there were a number of families with kids but it was still quiet and ambient. The restaurant is warmly decorated and beautiful and a table for two by the windows feels quite romantic. In the warmer months, you are likely to see deer grazing in the meadow just outside Beano's Cabin. And you may be lucky enough to get a visit from Priscilla, the porcupine. I think there have probably been a couple generations of Priscillas for us but it's such a delight - especially for the kids. She will waddle onto the restaurant porch and wander about from person to person sniffing shoes and just enjoying the attention. Quite the photo op! All in all, a wonderful way to celebrate a special occasion or no occasion at all. We love Beano's Cabin and highly recommend it for a special mountain dining experience. During ski season, you will want to book your visit long before you arrive in the Vail Valley. If you want to dine during Christmas break make your reservations as soon as the winter reservations open for the season - usually in mid-November. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beano's Cabin also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Beaver Creek, CO
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Beaver Creek, CO

Been to Beano's Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beano's Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.