We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk and Bison Lovers should eat here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Inn

Golden Eagle Inn
118 Beaver Creek Plz, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
+1 970-949-1940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 72 restaurants in Beaver Creek
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a relaxed fine dinning restaurant located on the plaza in Beaver Creek serving lunch and dinner for over 25 years, specializing in creative American cuisine cooked from scratch and presented with a courteous attentive service.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Elk and Bison Lovers should eat here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have visited this restaurant regularly over a number of years. It is conveniently located in the heart of the Beaver Creek village. The menu is varied but they seem to specialize in meats such as Elk, Boar, Bison etc. The preparation is is such that you are not overwhelmed by any one taste and the portions manageable. This is a very good quality restaurant with a good wine selection and tasteful decor. It is worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    61
    34
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food here is amazing. Creative and delicious. Staff was wonderful. Loved the boar and the elk. Decor is basic, but the food and surrounding environment make up for it. Don't wast your money and go elsewhere!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the Quality of the Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I had dinner on a Sunday evening. In a word the cost matched the locale but the quality was substandard. Here are a few specifics.

Ceasar Salad - nothing more than iceberg lettuce BOTTLED dressing and a few stale croutons. Less than ordinary and not even up to the standards of a fast food restaurant.

Hot Seasonal Beverage - not even luke warm.

Elk Tips - Cooked liked tuna tataki. Not even medium rare.

Lamb - overly fatty piece of meat and tasteless.

Server - tried very hard to please us but clearly he was struggling with the kitchen.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a very enjoyable lunch at the Golden Eagle. Both the Cobb salad and the trout were excellent. I will go there again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you're looking for something more than pizza or a sandwich, this is your place. Two different trout dishes, the gnocchi is out of this world, elk meatloaf--all scrumptious & perfectly prepared. My husband loved the lamb chops. We even had dessert--my fav is the creme brulee, & hubby had some kind of chocolate concoction w/ice cream. And to make it even sweeter, they offer an off-season discount of 40%! (and did I mention the coffee?? Da bomb.)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle Inn also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
Avon, Beaver Creek
 
Beaver Creek, CO
 
Avon, Beaver Creek

Been to Golden Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.