We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked

Hooked
122 The Plaza, Beaver Creek, CO
+1 970-949-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hooked is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 72 restaurants in Beaver Creek
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ice Skating Rink
Transit: Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)
Description: Hip and happening seafood restaurant with sushi bar and Market with s great daily hook up from 1:50pm to 5pm.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a leisurely lunch there on a recent ski vacation. The food was delicious. Everyone enjoyed the calamari, we was NOT the typical deep-fried mass of grease. It was lightly breaded and seasoned, with a terrific dipping sauce. We had some of the hand rolls (fresh fish flown in) and sandwiches. The sandwiches were impressive and substantive. The tuna fish sandwich was a beautifully seared slice of ahi on a tasty roll. You can order fish prepared just about any way off their daily blackboard. We will definitely go back, especially when we're really hungry!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    63
    25
    7
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misunderstandings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

While on vacation in Beaver Creek, we found out through online research about a new sushi place with a happy hour discount on sushi and sashimi. We thought we'd give it a try for a mid-afternoon light snack. I stopped by in the morning to ask to look at their happy hour menu - the very nice hostess told me they had run out of happy hour menus, but gave me the rundown of what they offered. She was happy to let me know about it. When we returned that afternoon around 4 pm, we were seated and given the actual menu, with no mention of the happy hour prices. When we asked about it, the server reacted quite differently than the hostess - NOT happy to let us know about it. We were told they don't keep actual menus for happy hour, and that its usually only for the locals and regulars - not really for "visitors" like us (isn't this place located in a ski resort, with hundreds of people visiting each day?). From here on, there seemed to be bad vibes from the server towards us, and big misunderstandings about what we were ordering (we were mischarged twice). We left feeling anxious and worn out. We are hooked on the Beaver Creek area and atmosphere and will return again, but I doubt it will include a visit to Hooked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley R, Owner at Hooked, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Here's our happy hour everybody is welcome. It's just one of those things you need to know about. We are happy to have you join the party amongst the locals and enjoy the apres scene here from 1:50-5:00 every day. If someone seems to be given you a hard time or making you feel unwelcome ask for Riley and I'll be sure you get the true local experience from a colorado born and vail raised local. We appreciate everyones business and we expect you leave our restaurant with nothing but life long exciting memories.

$1.50 Daily Hook-up(what we want to make thats amazing in a couple bites)
$2.00 Beers(coors draft and other world notable)
$3.00 2pc nigiri/ sashimi (tuna,salmon,eel, kampachi)
$4.00 Rolls (spicy tuna, spicy salmon, cuc and avo, shredder)
$5.00 hot sake or 2 top shelf oysters

GET HOOKED!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great sushi and seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

They don't take reservations so first come, first served, which is fine. Six of us went Sat March 9th and Kai was our server. Remember this is Beaver Creek so don't pass out when the bill comes! Expensive but very good all around. We had a variety of whole fish, oysters, clams, sushi, sashimi. Kai was terrific and they were very busy. I highly recommend the whole fish...they flash fry 1/2 and serve other 1/2 as sashimi...awesome. Oyster selection great, we had on half shell and some fried in a blue corn meal....awesome best ever.
It's on the small side and noisy but that's the beauty of a great sushi/seafood restaurant....means its busy and good. Go there, ask for Kai as server and try the variety, you won't be disappointed! Ciao!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sushi in ski boots”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfectly situated and surprisingly relaxed, this little gem is not to be missed. We wandered in for lunch straight from the slopes. We sat close enough to the sushi bar to take recs from the sushi chef (I am so sorry I didn't catch your name) who steered us toward a divine special and also made a ceviche-not on the menu-for my husband. Yes, it is a little expensive but I've never had excellent fresh fish that was cheap. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Four of us, 2 adults and 2 children, went to Hooked at about 5:30 yesterday, Monday. It is a busy week in Beaver Creek and we expected the restaurant to be busy...it was. When we got there, the very nice woman at the reception desk said it would be about 1/2 hour wait, and that she could take my cell phone and call me when the table would be ready, so we could wander around the Village Square, etc. Great idea, and she called just 1/2 hour later and our table was ready. We ordered the Miso soup, which (when we finally got it) was like a bowl of warm water with some tiny pieces of things floating in it. Awful! And why it took 10-15 minutes to put warm water into four bowls is a mystery. We also ordered the endamame. It was SO salty that we threw it into our "soup" to try to get some flavor. A pretty bad start. Then we ordered 3 sushi rolls to share. As soon as they were delivered, we could tell it wasn't enough so we ordered 2 more sushi rolls and 4 orders of sashimi. The sushi and sashimi was good. Not great, but good. The tab for all that with one beer and one glass of wine was $204.00, plus tip. The place was very noisy. Our server did a nice job but we thought the service was slow. That was probably due to the kitchen, which may have been understaffed. They have a huge fish menu in addition to sushi, sashimi, etc, etc. Probably too broad of a menu for such a small place. We'll try again. They are new and there is hope.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley R, Owner at Hooked, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We have a great new concept. We would love for you all to come and see what HOOKED is all about we are revolutionizing the world of eating seafood. Not complicating it we are actually simplifying it. Bringing in the freshest fish and preparing in ways that let the freshness and the flavor of the the fish speak for themselves. Come and get HOOKED everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.