We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked

Hooked
122 The Plaza, Beaver Creek, CO 81632
+1 970-949-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hooked is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 74 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ice Skating Rink
Transit: Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)
Description: Hip and happening seafood restaurant with sushi bar and Market with s great daily hook up from 1:50pm to 5pm.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

For our final night in Vail we decided to try Hooked and we were very satisfied. Our wait staff was great (Eric) and he told us his favorite things from the menu. The red snapper was Devine and my entire family devoured it. the brussels sprouts are worth giving s shot as well. The menu is very different than any other sushi place that i have visited. Keep in mind that the location is small and reservations are not accepted

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    44
    14
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut-USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Better than Matsuhisa!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

A new little restaurant has opened in Beaver Creek, Colorado village and I can't say enough good things about this place! I was wandering around the village and needed to have lunch. Being a sushi affection-ado I was intrigued but skeptical as I always am about trying out a new sushi restaurant. This place rocked! The sushi was fabulous..cut generously and well marbled ...but just as important, the rice on the nigiri sushi was excellent...flavorful and classic. The wasabi was just right as was the marinated ginger. In addition, the miso soup was just right with tofu, a few ushrooms and seaweed. Three large screen TVs are visible, playing Inuit movies as well
as the required ski videos...Everyone was friendly...seating for singles, families and couples is artfully arranged and comfortable...I sat on a raised chair at a counter facing the TVs but there was also seats at the sushi bar. If you happened to be in Beaver Creek and want some excellent sushi...this is your place. By the way, on the menu there is also, Angus eye of rib and king Crab, fish and chips and even a winter nicoise salad, plus many other selections if sushi is not your thing. No reservations, first come first serve.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've been coming to Beaver Creek for 20 years and this is THE BEST and most fun restaurant the village has seen! Fresh fish flown in daily and beautifully prepared plus interesting sushi rolls plus fish and chips plus oven fried chicken. We highly recommend the snapper prepared 2 ways - 1/2 as sashimi and the other 1/2 flash fried and served with a fabulous herb sauce! The staff is young and friendly and spirited. Just what Beaver Creek needs! The only slight drawback is the noise level.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
1 review
“Great Business Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Needed to take a client out for lunch and someone suggested this place and I am so glad they did. Great atmosphere and location right in the heart of Beaver Creek. Lunch was awesome and reasonable to say the least. I will continue to go back again and again. The Shredder is to die for as well as the Honey Moon Roll. Go try it now before the secret gets out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Innovative and excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hooked is new, small, almost a hole in the wall. It is not pretentious in size or design--the interior is understated and tasteful, but not fancy. Hooked is ambitious in terms of cuisine. The focus, as everyone made clear, is on the food. I rarely eat sushi anymore because it has become so hard to find any place that serves decent quality fish. Hooked isn't one of those places. They take great pride in the quality of their fish and in their innovative preparation of each dish. I was very impressed with the rolls, which combined some surprising flavors, but in every case, balanced that flavors and textures without overdoing it--rare these days at any sushi place. The quality of the seafood and whole fish was outstanding. The staff was friendly and enthusiastic about the food. Good quality seafood isn't cheap, especially in Beaver Creek, but to me the food was definitely worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.