We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous sushi, Restaurant too small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hooked

Hooked
122 The Plaza, Beaver Creek, CO
+1 970-949-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hooked is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 72 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ice Skating Rink
Transit: Beaver Creek Shuttles (only in Beaver Creek)
Description: Hip and happening seafood restaurant with sushi bar and Market with s great daily hook up from 1:50pm to 5pm.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous sushi, Restaurant too small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved the sushi here and the other menu items. Good quality and fresh. Not cheap. I like that in a sushi restaurant! Our only complaint was the seating. Not enough of it. Long line ups to get in Jan 7 --11, 2013.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    69
    28
    8
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This place won't last”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I know it's Beaver Creek and I expect to pay high prices for good food. However, this is ridiculous. We started off by ordering their house/cheapest Chardonnay which was $16 a glass. When it arrived the glass was less than a quarter full. It was so under-poured I questioned the waitress about it. Her response was "...these are Beaver Creek prices; we only pour 4 ounces." Since it was half the quantity that you would receive from most any other restaurant you are actually paying $32 for their cheapest glass of Chardonnay. For an entrée I had the sesame/pepper corn pan-seared tuna for $28. The portion of fish on the plate was also half or less than you would find at any other restaurant (6-7 very thinly sliced medallion sized bites) with no sides... everything is a' la carte. And to top it off the Miso soup had virtually no tofu in it. This has got to go down as the worst sushi restaurant I have ever experienced. Don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley R, Chef/Owner at Hooked, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Well we are very sorry you felt this place wont last. I'm happy to let you know that we will be a staple in Beaver Creek for many years to come. If you read the other reviews you will notice our guests are very happy with the product and price and understand what it takes to obtain the freshest fish in the middle of the country. Our wine glasses are stemless this can be misleading but you did get 4-5 oz of wine as we do use a decanter behind our bar to insure proper portion control. Check your local law enforcement to see what a glass of wine should be as they say shots 1.5 ounces beers 12 oz and wine 4-5 oz its not just us its industry standard. We would be happy to have you in again to show the same great experience everyone else is experiencing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try to pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The rolls are tiny and prices high. The fish was fresh service friendly. I ordered two rolls added extra prawn tempura and guess what it was missing.. feeling sorry I got it to go.. I cant even find a phone number to call them so I recommend not doing the same mistake just go for a pizza or the place next door

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riley R, Owner at Hooked, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank You for coming to hooked where we use top of the line product. It shows in your review when you stated you liked the fresh fish.... Well we don't use imitation crab or costco rice to make our sushi so the prices reflect high end product for the world class resort we are located in. If your looking for the deal come and see us for our happy hour 7 days a weeks from 1:50p.m. to 5:00 pm with sushi and drink specials priced from $1.50 to $5.00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

On a recommendation from Charlie at the Hyatt Mountain Lodge we ventured over to the Hook. He said everything is flown in fresh daily. We gave it a shot. Our waitress Kia was very knowledgable and suggestive and friendly. The food was not only pleasing to the eye but very tasty. We were very pleased with the atmosphere and the food that we received. We would highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hooked is the new Hot Sushi spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything from walking into Hooked to sitting at the sushi bar talking with the sushi chefs and the AMAZING food they created for us to the entire experience of the night made the night truely one of a kind! The fish was the freshest in the valley and the atmosphere along with the staff friendliness was like no where else in the valley! I am a local and will now only eat sushi at Hooked!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

 
Beaver Creek, CO
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;