We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting and incredible hotel. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0130 Daybreak Ridge, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hit the Slopes Package
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Kentucky
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Perfect setting and incredible hotel. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Can it get nicer than this Ritz? Perfect location and the hotel is well done with a responsive staff. They do all the little things right here especially the giant bonfire outside--even the ice sculptures are works of art. Highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Beaver Creek. One point of note; it is a long ski from Beaver creek resort to the hotel so prepare accordingly.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    99
    30
    27
    9
See reviews for
133
164
11
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This Ritz was just terrific to our family for a very special family birthday event.
The staff was incredible! Not only are they professional, but very kind and fun. The rooms were spacious, clean, bed ultra comfortable and the bathroom was so elegant.
The hotel has a wonderful mountain feel. The Cowboys who were our car valets were just adorable. They set the tone for the entire weekend.
The S'mores around the fire pit were a HUGE hit.
I would have given this 5 stars and wished I could, but the food in the Buffalo restaurant was fairly mediocre given the price. The children's meals were not presented as the menu was written.
Perhaps it was an "off" weekend? We will not let this deter our return, however. There are amazing restaurants in Beaver Creek.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you don't want to be on a private road. Although these lower rooms are g...
See more room tips
Green Features: Beautifully done keeping within the Rocky Mountains feel. We have a lot of fire restrictions here in Colorado and they seem to do a great job.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was here for a business event and found the facility to be lovely and the staff to be very friendly and happy to help with whatever we needed. My King room was spacious and the bed very comfortable, so getting a good night's sleep was easy. And, I couldn't resist taking a nice soak in the generously sized soaking tub in the bathroom...a little 'in-room R&R'.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a little need for a room change when we first arrived. The staff were immediately put into action and found us a wonderful residence the next day. The staff amenities were second to none in my travel experiences.
Thank you once again Wendy , Sarah, and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I didn't appreciate this place as much as I should have! Now that I've stayed elsewhere in BC I must say this is primo! Lovely service and the best setting. Rooms are too die for. A perfect treat. It's expensive but I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash.DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent 3 days over the father's day week end attending best friends daughter's wedding.
Arrived at 11pm at the resort and immediately were whisked away by friends who were in the lobby. Two hours later, realized that we had not checked in, or dealt with the rental car and luggage. When we finally made it to the front desk, everything had been handled by the staff.
Car parked, luggage in our room and key at the ready at the desk. Service was flawless and it continued that way for the entire three days.
Room was not opulent but large, comfortable and well appointed. Large marble bathroom with plushy robes, slippers and a separate toilet room...I always like that.
Having had drinks and no food, we ordered room service at 1am. Dinner came within half an hour, with roll in table, white linens and complimentary drinks.
We enjoyed the spa the very next day before the evening wedding.....very cavernous and quite large. Indeed one got the feel of being in some subterranean place.Took a while to develop a sense of direction it is so large. Two large whirlpools with sauna, steam room and cold plunge. One for women only, one coed.
While enjoying my soak in the whirlpool one of the attendants came over twice with a cold bottle of water. Adequate gym, overlooks outside pool. Neither are very large, but very nice.
Definitely a monied place, but the service and the ambiance make it all worthwhile.
Breakfast was a little slow the first morning, lots of people showed at at the same time. It improved greatly the next two morning.
Truly a wonderful place with great service and ambiance

Room Tip: Choose upper floors for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

When traveling, I try to stay at Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons if possible. I've found both chains to be very dependable with respect to service and amenities, albeit hideously expensive. We've been to the Beaver Creek area several times, in both summer and winter, and while we'd skied the Bachelor Gulch area, had never stayed at the Ritz there. We recently had the opportunity while attending a wedding at the resort.

This sprawling resort rests at the base of Bachelor Gulch ski area, just up the mountain from Edwards/Avon, west of Beaver Creek. It is a beautiful facility, in the style of a western ski lodge (exposed beams, elk heads, log siding. etc.). The arrival area is a little bit of a mess. Picture an area approximately 20 meter square and 100 cars arriving, departing, discharging and loading luggage. Something of a free for all. Nevertheless, check-in and luggage delivery was seamless and we were in our room before noon.

We had a junior suite which was ideal. Very spacious, well appointed, good temperature control, complimentary internet and though not on the Club level, enjoyed Club access. Very satisfied with all aspects of the check-in and room experience.

Ritz Carlton-Bachelor Gulch is a "pet friendly" resort. I wasn't really aware of that when I made the booking and they certainly don't let you know the ramifications of that, which are that the resort is absolutely packed with very large dogs, all throughout the resort. Now, I'm not a dog hater, but when paying $750/night (plus about $150 in assorted taxes and fees), I'm really not up for being surrounded by a bunch of other people's dogs. There is pet hair all over the lobby furniture and barking can be heard morning, noon and night. Though we were told that hotel policy forbids barking dogs, I am unaware of a method of enforcing the policy.

As you might expect, the resort is packed with young children during the summer and has a very loud and active pool scene. We ate at Buffalo and Spago and enjoyed both meals, though can't say they were anything special. My wife had a spa treatment and pronounced it "very nice".

Aside from the abundance of canines, my only real criticism of the resort was that the level of service was not really up to Ritz standards. All of the staff were VERY nice and accommodating, however, there were areas that didn't really stack up. For example, we sat in the Lobby bar area for quite awhile waiting to place a drink order before finally going to the bar. This happened twice and I can only assume that they are understaffed or provide no service. One day a short shower blew through the area, wetting all of the outdoor furniture. Nobody every came to wipe it down, despite dozens of people walking out, looking for a place to sit and leaving because all the furniture was wet and there were no towels or staff in the area.

The real standout, and one that we have encountered elsewhere, is the Club floor. The one at Bachelor Gulch is the best we've ever encountered. You can easily eat four meals a day, and VERY nice meals, with good selection, if you so choose. A family with children can save a fortune by staying on the Club floor. We ate breakfast there every morning and saved $75/day, in addition to the snacks and drinks we consumed throughout the day.

Of course, saving $75/day staying at the Ritz is like trying to empty the ocean with a tea spoon. I'm not going to complain about the cost, because if you are budget conscious, you just don't need to stay here. Parking, whether valet or self park, is $50/night. Spa services are a fortune. A vacation here is going to blow a huge hole in your credit card, so just know that going in and don't let the money flying out of your wallet ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: The lobby is on the fourth floor, so don't think that a fifth floor room provides a view. The C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch

Address: 0130 Daybreak Ridge, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
#4 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Family Hotel in Beaver Creek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch Hotel Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Ritz Carlton
Ritz Avon
Ritz-Carlton Avon
Avon Ritz-Carlton
Ritz Carlton Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.