We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Beaver Creek
South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Rooms and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is very nice and in a great location. The price point is great for the area. The rooms are beautiful and very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Has a nice living and kitchen area. The bathroom has a large whirlpool tub. The fitness area is nice, and the staff are extremely helpful. The only negative about the property is that the it doesn't have air conditioning, but the windows open, and for most of the year in Avon, this is not a problem. I would highly recommend this location for any trip to the Vail Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    111
    45
    27
    11
See reviews for
112
74
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in July, had 4 people in a 1 bedroom with sofa bed. Tight squeeze but we knew that going in. For the price the rooms were fair and clean.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but they don't offer many of the SPG benefits such as the late checkout.

overall decent stay, if you have more money to spend the Westin a couple block away is a much better Starwood property!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for you weekend getaway and for the feedback. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful in making your getaway a memorable one. Since we are a vacation ownership property, our Elite SPG member’s benefits consist of SPG points or our local gifts, which are displayed at the front desk at time of check in. Thank you once again for staying with us and hope to welcome you back on any future visits to the Vail Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort is a nice resort. The room we stayed in was well maintained (wasn't outdated and was very clean). The bathroom is one of the largest and nicest I've used in any hotel I've stayed in. The hotel is also centrally located; it's easy to walk or ride your bike to many restaurants, as well as a wonderful trail near the river.

We spent quite a bit of time at the pool, which our 9 year old daughter enjoyed quite a bit. It's a nice pool and was well maintained. It wasn't too crowded too, which we liked.

My main issues with the hotel are: (1) no air conditioning. Obviously the lack of a/c won't be an issue for many people depending on when they come; however, even with the overheard fans, it was extremely hot in our room. It was difficult to get a decent night sleep because it was so hot. (2) noise from I-70. our room faced I-70, and it was quite noisy. We spent a decent amount of time at the pool (at the back of the hotel), and it wasn't nearly as loud. So, I suspect if you get a room that faces the pool, you'll be fine. Our room was really loud though. Again, to the point where I had to wear ear plugs to get to sleep.

Overall, I liked this hotel, but the lack of a/c and noise from I-70 made me mark it down. A good night's sleep is a pretty big part of my vacation experience and, unfortunately, our room did not lend itself to a good sleep experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for writing this review of the Sheraton Mountain Vista and for staying with us on your family vacation. We are located at centrally which makes it easier to walk to the different restaurants and recreational locations that are available in Avon. I am glad you took advantage of the amenities we have on property. I do apologize for the discomfort you felt due to the warm temperature in the villa. Unfortunately, our property like many others in the mountains, does not have air conditioning and with the unseasonably warm summer we have, the rooms do get somewhat warm. Thank you for your feedback once again, and hope to welcome you back to our property on any future visits to the beautiful Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a GREAT room. Full kitchen, separate living room, separate bedroom with jacuzzi tub and a deck with a gas grill! Living room and bedroom have ceiling fans so with the windows open, no air conditioning was needed. The staff was friendly and concierge was wonderfully helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here as a Starwood owners. We traded our 2-bedroom unit for a 2-unit lockoff meaning it was a premium single joined to a regular single. LOTS of space.Two complete units, two balconies, two everything. Perfect for the 5 of us. The villa set-up itself is excellent. However, the location and overall atmosphere is less so. The building is in the 'city' so it has views of streets or parking lots in all directions. It is 8 floors, and the higher up you can go, the better for having a view. It is L shaped and we were in the inside corner. WARNING - the inside corner rooms are noisy because the building reflects all the sounds of the pool, parking lot, reception and everything else going on outside.

It does not have a restaurant. The pool is small and is more or less in the parking lot. It has a nice game room on the top floor and a decent gym with a lovely outdoor rooftop spa tub. Parking is free and under the building, but space is tight

It is easy walk to several restaurants. We recommend Maya and Gondola Pizza. It is 3 minute drive to a supermarket so very easy to pick up snacks, drinks foods, whatever you need in the unit since you have full kitchen.

There is not much in Avon itself but you are 5 minutes from the highway and easy access to hiking, biking, rafting, ATV-ing, ballooning, and lots of craft breweries and pubs up and down the valley. Of course in the winter it's all about skiing but in the summer, it's a very good location for exploring widely.

It is a 5 minute walk to the Westin Mountain Villas. The Westin is higher value but also MUCH nicer with nicer amenities, pools, restaurant, etc. The Westin is also right on the bike path and faces the mountain view. So If you can trade-up to the Westin it's definitely worthwhile. But for the value and space, the Sheraton Villas is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor so you don't have to look at the parking lot and don't stay in the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am glad to hear that your family was able to take advantage of all the Vail Valley has to offer and also our property’s amenities. We are located in the heart of the Vail Valley which makes our location centralized and as you mention a very good location for exploring widely. Our 2 bedroom lock off villas are very spacious and do have full kitchen with cooking and serving utensils and all villas have a barbecue grill on the balcony. Also our parking is complimentary and it does tend to fill up when we are at capacity but the overflow parking lot does help remedy this issue. We thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your getaway and for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The previous reviewer just about nailed it. We stayed here over the Fourth and had an over all positive experience. We had the two bedroom unit (large plus lock-off). It was big compared to other SPG properties. We too are owners, but were not at all pressured into a sales pitch. There was nothing special about the unit or the property. It is relatively clean, though not spotless. It is in decent shape, but showing some age. The location is central, but there isn't much in walking distance. In the final analysis I would say stay here if you can secure a comparatively favorable rate, but shop around first. (it was hot - and lack of AC was really annoying during the day - that said it cools down at night and if you are hanging out in the room during the day you are vacationing in the wrong state!)

Room Tip: Ask for a view away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONGMONT, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

First let me start with we are owners in SPG and as such we have stayed in several SPG resorts. The unit that we stayed in this time was a larger 1 bedroom. It was good sized and well appointed. It had a full kitchen, nice dining area, large bathroom and a funky jetted tub in the bedroom.
Now let me tell you what we found to be not up to SPG standards. The sales staff at this property has a reputation for being really pushy and they lived up to that reputation with us. We had just had our update in April of this year so we didn’t need another. We were practically called stupid for not giving up 90 minutes of our very short week-end to get 8000 points added to our account! So be prepared for that.
Some of the issues with this property are the fact that there is no air conditioning in the units but the hall seems to have it. The day we were there it was over 90 degrees and the unit had been shut up all day. It never really cooled off even with the door open to the hall and everything else open to the outside. The bed was really bad. Both of us slept terrible and woke up sore! I think the biggest disappointment for us was the size of the balcony; it is so small that you couldn't sit two people comfortably.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Address: 160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mountain Vista Hotel Beaver Creek
Sheraton Beaver Creek
Sheraton Avon
Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort
Avon Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.