We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 Ski Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley to your Saves list
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
cleveland, ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“2013 Ski Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my sister in law's family. She booked it with her timeshare. The location was great for skiing at Vail and Beaver Creek. The staff was friendly and the concierge was very informative regarding restaurants and transportation to the ski resorts. The lobby was very nice and the two bedroom condo we stayed in was very nice. The only thing I didn't like was the heat was not easily controlled. There wasn't a lot of storage in either of the rooms but we made it work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
As you mentioned, our property is located at an approximate location to the bus stop which gives easy access to the ski resorts. We excel in our customer service and we are to hear that our associates were able to assist in making your vacation an outstanding experience. Our villas do tend to run a little warm, so we recommend that guests run the tower fans in the unit and place them by the sliding door(cracked opened) which can definitely help with cooling the rooms down. I do apologize that our villas though very spacious do lack somewhat in storage area. Thank you for your review of our property and choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your family vacation and hope to see you in our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    122
    50
    27
    12
See reviews for
119
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sheraton Vista last week and it was absolutly amazing. It was our first time traveling to Colorado and the experience couldnt of gone smoother. The front desk and the concierge were amazing and extremely helpful and the room was better then my own apartment! The kitchen adequatly equiped and the grill made it very easy to made a lot of our dinners at home. The only part that was unpleasent was having to leave, the best part was the rooftop jaccuzzi that was amazing after a hard day of snowboarding. It was definitly a homeaway from home for us and we miss it already!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your first visit to beautiful Colorado. We are happy to hear that your vacation was great and that all of associates helped in making your first experience in Colorado unforgettable. It is also my enjoyment to hear that you were able to take full advantage of all amenities at our property, especially our roof top hot tub which has great view of Beaver Creek and Vail Mountains. We are elated to hear that and associates and our property made you feel at home, and look forward to welcome you back to the Sheraton Mountain Vista on any future visits to the Vail Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the first accommodation I stayed in on my arrival to the USA when I flew in from New Zealand.
It is gorgeous. The furnishings and kitchen and fireplace! how beautiful.
We had a street view looking at the post office across the way.... would have preferred something better, like mountain view.
There was no electric jug or kettle in the room sou I could make a cup of tea, and when I rang receipion and asked for one he asked me why I would want to boil water for? Funny! the cultural difference.
We got the bus up the mountain to Beaver Creek where its all happening. nice.

Room Tip: we had a street view, not very exciting.. luckily the room was enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your getaway and the great review. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was memorable. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in our premium villa that include fireplaces and full kitchens. I want to apologize for the missing kettle in your room, but hope the request for a new one was done in a prompt manner. As you mention we are located at a proximate distance from the bus stop that takes you to Beaver Creek Village where there are plenty of winter activities to take advantage. Once again, thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista, and expect to welcome you back on any future visits to the Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Aspen thinking we would break up the drive and ski Vail on the way. Arrived the hotel and immediately got pitched to see the timeshare, assured since I was a valued SPG guest, that they would be low pressure. I had never gone for a timeshare pitch, and had time so i was curious.

The pitch was fine for the first part, but the math was confusing and I could not understand how exactly it worked. I asked for a brochure that explains it. He wouldn't/couldn't give one. He tried to overcome objections, in a typical sales training way. He never got to what the costs were. I said I need to see it written. If not we are done here. So we were done and i Walked out irritated. This left a very bad impression of Starwood Preferred Guest program!

Rooms are nice, large and comfortable. No issues with the room. Would be good for families.

Nothing around the hotel. Really boring area for ski "resort". Glad I was only staying one night. Wish I had not stayed at all! Definitely would not come back and would not recommend.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mountain Vista for your stay. I want to start off by offering my sincere apology for the presentation not meeting your expectations. As you mentioned our rooms are very spacious, comfortable and meet the needs of a family of four in our one bedroom villa, by adjourning the deluxe and premium villa, the two bedroom lock -off would be spacious for a family of eight. While there are plenty of restaurant s and bars around the area, we are located a short distance from the actual ski resorts. Please accept our sincerest apology. There is so much to enjoy at the hotel and in the area we hope you might consider coming back. We would be thrilled for an opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The rooms are huge and have a kitchen. Great if you want to cook instead of eat out all the time. The garage is heated which is nice when your unloading. This hotel is convenient to Avon, but not to the ski mountain. If you want to be close to the action this is not your hotel. Don't drink the waters in your room either. They have tags saying they are complimentary, but they are $2 a piece and you will be charged. It was a pleasant stay. Not the best place I've stayed, but certainly not the worst.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your vacation. As you mention our premium villas are spacious with a full kitchen, which includes all kitchen supplies that allow you to dine in. Our complimentary heated parking garage is convenient for our guests to unload and park especially during those cold snowy days. We are located in Avon which is 2.5 miles away from Beaver Creek, and 8 miles from Vail. Avon does have plenty or night life available, but if you are looking to enjoy the nightlife at both Vail and Beaver Creek villages, there is public transportation and taxi service that can get you to those places promptly. I have doubled checked the tags on the water bottles that are provided in the units. Our goal is not to deceive, but to provide great service for our guests. We will be reviewing the print on the tags as the font of the price is somewhat small. We thank you once again for choosing to stay with us for your vacation and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is probably the only lodge in the entire Vail-Beaver Creek area does not provide a shuttle to ski mountains. You have to take public bus which is crowded and unreliable. The bus takes a big loop with many stops. It is very time consuming and unconformtable. You don't expect this when you paid $500 a night. The parking space in the front of the hotel is limited. This makes loading and unloading is inconvenient. It is an issue when you come to ski, which you have quite a lot of luggages.
We had a One Bedroom Premium Villa. The furniture quality is good but the room is ill-shaped and small. Internet connection is fast. The hotel is at an isolated location. It has a samll market but only open a few days a week at morning.
Overall, this is not a good place to stay when you come to ski or snow boarding, which is the major attraction of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton mountain vista and writing a review on our property. I do apologize for the multiple inconveniences that affected you during your stay at our resort. The shuttle service does tend to get extremely busy during the holidays since most of the hotels in Avon do not have shuttles, and for most skiers the town shuttles are the only means of transportation to the mountain. Our internet has been upgraded in the past year and like you mentioned it is fast and efficient. The parking spaces in front of the hotel are limited and can get a little crowded with multiple guests unloading to check in or being dropped off. We do recommend to our guests to use our complimentary parking garage which is heated and very convenient for unloading luggage we also do provide luggage assistance for guests that require it. Like you mentioned we do have our Vista market onsite, which has variety of products including Starbucks coffee. During that period it was open limited hours due to staffing. We have resolved that issue and the hours of operation have increased. I do apologize for the size of our premium villa not meeting your expectations. We hope you decide to comeback, and we recommend our 2 bedroom villas, which is our premium villa at 760 sq. ft, and our deluxe villa at 590 adjoining to make what we call a 2 bedroom lock of villa which is very spacious and would be suited to your needs. Please accept our sincerest apology for the many inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us, we hope you might consider coming back, We would be thrilled for an opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were able to trade our timeshare for a week at the Sheraton. Our timeshare was a 2 bedroom villa with cozy decor. Not as many amenities on site as the Westin but we had a full kitchen and washer and dryer in our unit. Charter Sports is located in the building if you need to get your skis/snowboards waxed. There is gym, sauna, and hot tub (inside and outside) located on the 7th floor. A shuttle comes every 15 minutes that will take you over to Beaver Creek Mountain. It picks/drops off right in front of the Sheraton. They have very helpful concierges and offer a welcome BBQ dinner every Monday night. They also provide garage parking which is nice on those really cold days.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean with flat screen tv's in the living areas and bedrooms. We stayed at the Westin last year which was gorgeous but we really enjoyed staying at the Sheraton as well. It's a different atmosphere - very cozy vs. the modern feel of the Westin. We would definitely stay here again. One downside to the place is that the main area of the villa got a little warm. The smaller one bedroom on the other side seemed to stay much cooler. But we easily adjusted by turning on the fan or cracking open the sliding glass door to the porch. And although the couches look nice, they aren't super comfy.

The location is great too - plenty of restaurants within walking distance if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property and choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista for your getaway. As you mentioned, our property is located at an approximate location to the bus stop and the amenities within our hotel do make it convenient for all of our guests, including our complimentary parking garage that really helps on a snowy day. All of our villas have been upgraded with LED TV’s and also all new appliances have been installed. Our property like many in the mountain community here were built without air conditioning and the villas do tend to get a little warm, but like you mentioned we do have ceiling fans, and also opening the sliding door a bit, will definitely help in cooling down the villas. Once again thank you again for choosing the Sheraton Mountain Vista, and we hope to welcome you back on any future visits to the Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Address: 160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mountain Vista Hotel Beaver Creek
Sheraton Beaver Creek
Sheraton Avon
Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort
Avon Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.