We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley to your Saves list
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% on 2nd Night
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked a trip to Beaver Creek kind of late, and found this property at a very nice price. When we checked in, the lobby seemed a bit bare, but then we remembered that it is a time share villa, and not a hotel. If you want a nice hotel, the Westin is 2 blocks behind it and an amazing place to stay, though more expensive. When we got up to our room, we were very nicely surprised by the size and newness of it. It was a spacious 1 bedroom, with a full kitchen which was great. There were also 2 gas fireplaces, 1 in the living room, and 1 in the bedroom. The bedroom also had a jacuzzi in it. The bathroom was nice space, with 2 sinks. The toilet had its own door for privacy. The bus stop was right across the street from the hotel which takes you to the mountain. The separate bus that runs to Vail is right behind the Westin. The hotel was quiet, there is an outdoor hot tub on the 7th floor with nice views of the mountain. The gym up there is also nice. There are not a lot of amenities there, but the rooms are great, especially for the price. There are plenty of good restaurants and bars within walking distance right in Avon. The supermarket is 10 minutes away, or you can ride the bus to it. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Sheraton Mountain Vista experience! We are pleased you found our rooms to your liking and apologize for a lack of amenities at the property. In addition to the pool and gym amenities we offer, we have added a family gaming area on our 8th floor that will provide air hockey, billiards, foosball, Xbox, Wii and many more exciting arcade games for the whole family to enjoy! We don’t have any onsite dining, but our location at the center of Avon gives our guests many options of nightlife, restaurants, and shopping only a short walk away. We appreciate your comments and hope you’ll stay with us again and take full advantage of our newest amenity for your next Avon visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    123
    50
    27
    12
See reviews for
120
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a perfect stay at the Sheraton. Friendly staff, nice outdoor pool and hot-tub areas, state of the art gym, on-site ski rentals, walking distance to restaurants, grocery store and shops. Transportation to both Beaver Creek and Vail across the street. Any request from guest services was prompt and friendly with follow-up. Only downside was that sometimes the room was very hot but we opened windows and it became fine (but that should be fixed)

Thanks

Room Tip: nice view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It’s the goal of our staff to strive for excellent service and guest satisfaction with every stay and it is great to hear we achieved that goal with you during your stay. We do apologize for the heating issue in your villa. As most of the resorts in Avon do not provide air conditioning, one of the steps we take at the Sheraton is provision of cooling units in each villa. We would be happy to provide an extra fan for your unit to ensure comfort for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We arrived with three children and five grandchildren and had a wonderful week. The 7th floor outdoor jacuzzi is great. Best jets anywhere for sore muscles.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased to hear you and your family had a wonderful experieince. We are very pleased you were able to relax your muscles in our hot tubs both located on our 7th floor Fitness Center, over looking Beaver Creek Mountain. a gorgeous view. We appreciate the great feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We are Starwood owners and were unable to get into our "home" resort of Steamboat for our daughter's college spring break so traded for a week at the Sheraton in Avon.
Our room was not ready when we arrived at 3:30, nor at the promised 4 PM. Despite ownership elite we were given a room on the second floor, just above the lobby with attending noise at all times. This was made worse by the need to keep the windows open as the unit was VERY hot, despite turning off the heat (we thought), not using the fireplaces, etc. They offered to transfer us to a different "villa" in two days, but we would have needed to come off the mountain, move all of our things and food at NOON. They were not willing to help us move anything or wait until the end of the ski day. Since it is not ski-in/out, it would have taken away two hours from our day. We choose to stay in the origianl place.
We had a two bedroom villa (premium one bedroom, plus regular one bedroom) which was more than enough for my husband and I and two of our twenty-something daughters. The space was strangely designed in the "premium room" with the jacuzi in the bedroom, everything on angles and more space in the WC than clothes closet which was filled with a vacum cleaner and luggage rack. Considering that it was at a ski area, there was little room for bulky clothing and no place for ski boots, helmets, etc. There were ski lockers on the first floor, but it was hard to fit two pair of skis in each, as the bench for the boots, poles, was at the same level as the bindings. It seeemed that most guests took their skis to their rooms, but I don't know where they would keep them.
The appliances were old and out dated, the television, a small, clunky type, no flat screen here. The television did not work if we had a fire (tried it the first night when we first arrived, before realizing out hot the place would soon get.) The maintaince man came right away and explained that we had to unplug part of the TV if using the fire, because the wiring got too hot. This would not allow the DVD player to be used. The furniture appeared to be fairly new and we were told that some of the floors were being updated. Not ours!
The staff was not espeically friendly and the concierge was pushy. We had just "discussed" the room situation at checkin before he accosted us for an overview of the area, steering us to restauranst without asking what our tastes might be and puching the "owners' update" at the Westin to sell us more Starwood time/points. After a long day of traveling, he was the last person we wanted to talk with. We had not even been to our room yet.
On the postive, it is easy to get the Beaver Creek with the free bus stopping at the property. We choose to go on the bus as opposed to walking to the gondola. Personal preference. On the days we skied at Vail, we drove our rental car and paid $25 to park. It was all easy if you pay the money. It would be difficult to get to Vail without a car. There is free parking along the frontage road, but not so convienent. My husband was thrilled to have a gas grill (two actually) on the balconies and we grilled dinner several nights.The balconies are small, just room for the chef. We found the units were lacking several of the items listed as supplied, but were able to put togther a full set by combining what was in both units.
We have been spoiled by other "villas" we have stayed in, so our opinion of this one is tainted abit. It was OK, but certainly nothing special. The places at Steamboat are sooooo much nicer, bigger, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was less than expected. At our property we strive to provide excellent service and comfort for our guests. The room management team has been informed of the timely inconvenience of your room’s readiness so the issue doesn’t happen again. We have staff available to help with luggage assistance when needed and apologize for the “unwillingness” to provide the needed service. As for the old and out-dated appliances, we are undergoing renovations on our property and apologize that you were assigned a room on the wing of the property not yet renovated. The renovations will be completed this spring and every unit will have 40” LG flat screen tvs in the living room accompanied by a Boise sound system and Blue-ray DVD players. There will also be 32” LG flat screen tvs in each bedroom. In addition to the new tvs, this year there will also be appliance replacements including: microwaves, refrigerators, stoves, and dishwashers. We are deeply concerned with your disappointing stay at our property and with our ski locker availability. We are more than happy to provide extra storage for you ski gear when the ski lockers are not sufficient to your needs and we will be installing newer and larger ski lockers this coming season. All of our units have the same floor plan and we appreciate your feedback on the awkwardness of the suite set up. Each premium unit is 760 sq ft and the jacuzzi tubs are set in the bedroom suite for ambiance. Each deluxe unit is 590 sq ft and has a queen bed with separate bathtub area. We are glad the response time to your television was immediate, but are disappointed the issue was not resolved to your satisfaction. Once the renovations are completed in all of our units the tv arrangement and usage will be much more efficient. The free parking at the property and free city transportation are definitely some of the perks most of our guests enjoy. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and encourage you to contact us so we may ensure your next stay matches up to the excellence we strive for and our guests expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

If the description of the rooms had been accurate then it would have just been a slightly over priced Sheraton and I would have given it a reasonable Sheraton review. But the site is simply absurd - in what seems to be an attempt to capitalize on the market of people looking for mountain cabins / villas then they have called all their rooms 'villas'

The rooms are simply rooms with a microwave, sink and dishwaher. Note that there is no stove or oven making it somewhat impractical, particularly if you want to stay a few days and have a family with you. In our room the dishes, mugs etc are old and not appealing to eat on or from.

The balconies describe seating for two - this is not really practical given the size and with two people sat outside you would not be able to use the grill.

The staff seem commissioned as every moment is an upsell with lift tickets (note they cost more in the hotel than the mountain), pushy concierge etc. There was no help when it was actually needed (i.e. call me when room is ready).

Overall if you want a standard Sheraton thats walkable to the gondola (a great perk) then don't hesitate to stay here, as a Platinum member I have stayed in more than my fair share and I can def say this one is nicer than many. But go there expecting a standard stay in a fairly standard room, not a villa, otherwise you will be very disappointed like I was.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMVHotelManager, Manager at Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
We profusely apologize if we misled you, but frankly are not sure where you found inaccurate information about our villas. In response to your posting we have reviewed our website and have not found any inaccurate information. It appears you stayed in the one-bedroom villa which is accurately described on the Brand website as being 540 square feet with patio, dishwasher, dining area, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, kitchenette, full size refrigerator, master bedroom, washer/dryer, microwave oven. The only error we could find was information left out like the fact that the patio has a gas barbeque grill and the microwave is actually a microwave/convection oven. Keep in mind if you are requiring more space we offer the premium one-bedroom that is 710 square feet and offers a full kitchen, or the two-bedroom lock-off unit which offers 1250 square feet. For the record lift ticket prices at the front desk are exactly the same as the prices you will find at the ticket office on the mountain. We make no money on lift tickets and provide this merely as a convenience and service to our guests. We thank you for complimenting our Resort and describing us as “nicer than many”, we think so as well and are extremely disappointed to have you feeling that you were misled. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

After a not-so-great stay the night prior at the Westin Riverfront Villas, I was skeptical of this property as it is a sister property. My family stayed in a 1-bedroom suite. This is the regular 1-bd. They also have a premium which is larger, has a king bed and queen sleeper vs this room as queen bed and full/double sleeper sofa. Just be aware when you are booking. We booked directly through Starwood website and got a rate of $209 a night. Great price considering this is peak ski season (even with little snow this year). We checked in on Friday around 1 pm and left around Sunday at 10 am. They did not have a room ready for us at 1:00, but took our cell number and said they would call when the room was ready. We walked over to Ticino for some lunch. The room was ready around 2:30 and they did call us as promised. The hotel has self parking which was free, but CROWDED! Do not come back to hotel after 8 pm as you may not find a spot to park in. Many circling the garage waiting for someone to leave. Many also parked outside for the night. Our room was nice enough. Small table for 4, sofa bed, full kitchen. Bathroom was roomy enough. We had a crummy view of neighboring rooftops. We were on the 4th floor. We were in town to ski, so didn't much matter. There is a market downstairs with morning and afternoon hours. We got breakfast down there and took it up to the room. Also a ski rental shop on premises. They had a movie rental machine (like a red box) so you could rent a dvd and watch in the room. Our room had a fireplace, but the room as VERY warm all the time so it was not needed. Both days we came back from skiing and the maid had turned on the fireplace (for ambiance?). UGH. TOO HOT!! I must say the bed in the bedroom was VERY comfortable, far better than the bed at the Westin Villas!! Very soft sheets and comforter and lots of pillows. The full size pull out was not comfortable and lots of springs poking in your back (so my daughter says). The room was also very quiet and comfortable. I didn't expect it to be so comfortable. It seemed more utilitarian vs the Westin, but our family found it to be quite comfortable. The only downfall is the access to the mountain. We went up into the village to have Blue Moose pizza (try it if you have time, yummy pizza) and we took the Avon bus. Easy to catch right out side of the hotel, but it stops EVERYWHERE! It is free and worked fine for the purpose of going to the village to dine/shop. In the morning, we decided to trek over to the Westin to catch the gondola up to the mountain. For my snowboarding husband and son, it was no big deal. For my skiing daughter and self, the walk felt like MILES (especially coming back!). They say its "2 city blocks" but in ski boots, it can be a pain (and schlepping equipment). The gondola goes up to the "Landing" where you catch a chairlift onto the mountain. I notice the Seasons Avon is closer to the Westin Gondola-We might give them a try next time-easier ski access and less expensive than the Westin. All in all, our stay was nice. I was pleasantly surprised! Worth a try.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom premium rooms are larger and have larger beds vs the 1 bedroom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We came up for the weekend (last minute trip up with the family for two nights). Super easy to book via SPG's phone line (even though its an ownership-type property)
Family + skiing = lots of gear to maneuver late on a Friday night. Super easy location to find, free parking underneath with an abundance of luggage carts for easy self-service access your car and your gear.
From here, there's a shuttle every 20 minutes across the street up to Beaver Creek, or you can drive it in 5 minutes. I'm sure there's a Vail shuttle too, but we weren't planning to ski there. You are in the town of Avon, not slopeside.
This is more of a 'owners/stay by the week' type of place, (and we've stayed in many like this with sheraton/westin) , so there's an activity calendar, but really it felt like any other apartment hotel (than a super intense timeshare resort). .
We had a smaller side 1 bedroom, only downside for us was no oven for the pizza we brought up (though I guess we could have grilled it on the gas grill on balcony), but enough room/kitchen supplies for 2 adults/ 2 kids.
The woman who runs the cafe downstairs (and the arts & crafts for kids in evenings) could not have been sweeter in dealing with the guests seeking lattes and breakfast burritos. So you don't need to self-cater if you don't want to, and plenty of restaurants in Avon area to drive/walk to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley

Address: 160 W Beaver Creek Blvd, Beaver Creek, CO 81620 (Formerly Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Beaver Creek
#5 Business Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mountain Vista Hotel Beaver Creek
Sheraton Beaver Creek
Sheraton Avon
Sheraton Mountain Vista Resort
Avon Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.