We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a few days to acclimate before doing this hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaver Lake Trail

Beaver Lake Trail
Beaver Creek, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moderate-to-difficult hiking trail that extends 6.6 miles from the Mitchell Lake Trailhead, beginning at 10,500 feet up to 11,300 feet elevation.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Take a few days to acclimate before doing this hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I'm in ok shape, but coming direct from sea level the day before this hike left me gasping for breath. Great scenery.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything on this trail.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beaver Lake is a beautiful lake and makes the hike up to it worth doing. As of right now, part of the beginning of the hike goes by construction on the mountain. The trail has a detour out of the woods and onto a gravel vehicle road, but this doesn't last forever and once back into the woods the trail is beautiful....a bit rocky and steep in places. The lake is beautiful and full of trout so bring your fishing rods....although, they aren't always willing to bite on your bait. Depending on your physical condition this trail can be rather easy to rather hard....I found it quite easy, although steep in places, but my husband being a little more out of shape had a harder time with it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Challenging for Beginners, But Worth It.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It's a climb for beginners, but the goal is a beautiful lake a few thousand feet up. Even coming down can be challenging with the narrow paths and rocks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hiking and overnight camp at Beaver Creek Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I agree with some of the other reviews - the entire Beaver Lake Trail is not perfect - there is a maintenance area that is an eye sore. Avoid this section entirely by taking Village to Village loop around this section. The other issue is that this is also a horse trail. Be prepared for some serious horse manure that you have to work around. About halfway up the horse trail wavers off and the poop stops and the trail gets more rocky and advanced - a great workout with very scenic views! If you want, hike on to Lower or Upper Turquoise lake (another 3 + miles) or hang out and even camp overnight like we did at Beaver Lake. There were only two other people there and on the other side of the lake from us so very secluded. Bear proof your items if you camp!! Beaver Creek has a lot of black bear. We use the rope method between two trees about 50 + feet away from our tent. The weather is very erratic. Wear layers and bring a light rain jacket. It is very common to get caught not only in rain but thunder/lightening/hail in the middle of summer! It is a great day trip and most people should be able to hike up and back in one day. I would recommend bringing lunch and eating lakeside. There are no tables - it is very rustic. So be prepared to sit on the ground. Lots of birds (stellar jays, gray jays) and chipmunks and squirrels. Enjoy your visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Nice trail in a beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I think we were lucky as Beaver Creek had recently had a significant amount of rain and there were flowers everywhere. Everything was green and lush with an amazing number of wildflowers. The hike was wonderful and the weather amazing. I hope anyone who does this is as lucky as we were as this was a truly amazing place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Lake Trail also viewed

 

Been to Beaver Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaver Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.