We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe-takingly beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaver Lake Trail

Beaver Lake Trail
Beaver Creek, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moderate-to-difficult hiking trail that extends 6.6 miles from the Mitchell Lake Trailhead, beginning at 10,500 feet up to 11,300 feet elevation.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breathe-takingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We set out on this beautiful trail in the morning, with a bag full of lunch, and we hiked all morning and by lunch, found ourselves sitting on large rocks in a waterfall/river that fed into a pristine, sparkling lake, eating our lunch. This was one of my very favorite meals ever consumed!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    1
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We hiked up to Beaver Lake, and it wasn't too bad. I would say it's a little more strenuous than moderate, but not technical or difficult. The trail follows beaver creek all the way up, and the views are fantastic. It's pretty much straight trail up about 1,700 feet of elevation and about 3 miles each way. You get to the lake and it's like something out of a movie, just a picture perfect alpine lake. It's so clear you can see the trout feeding on bugs very clearly. It's a cool thing to do one morning.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Strenuous hike if you are not in condition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traveled this trail about 8 years ago. We are in our 50's and although we exercise regularly, we couldn't make it this time. We walked 1.75 miles...about 1/2 way....... it is rather steeply inclined, with no swithbacks... I will say that both of us have recently had respiratory infections, so perhaps that played a part. I was very disappointed we couldn't make it......there is a very lovely lake at the top that I badly wanted to see again. I think we perhaps could have made it, but you just have to allow yourself plenty of time. We were here in September, and the trail is very nice, some of the time it runs along the creek. Very picturesque trail. I highly recommend this!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tough, but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm of average fitness and 28 years old. It was a hike (definitely take water and snacks for the top), but the view is beautiful. Certainly worth the effort.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcentral Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous but strenous hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Since we stayed in Beaver Creek and planned to do a lot of hiking, this was one hike we had not done in our previous visit. We were told it was a moderate hike and did not read other Trip Advisors write ups! We really did not need a strenous hike early in our acclimation to Colorado elevations! Overall, we are really glad we did it, but should have taken a lunch with us as you really burn up the calories on the hike up!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaver Lake Trail also viewed

 

Been to Beaver Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaver Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.