We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Big Green Egg of Beaver Creek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beaver Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Beaver Creek Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Avondale Lane, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Beaver Creek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Big Green Egg of Beaver Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Yes, I am a fan of Dr. Seuss but this review has nothing to do with the famous author. While this is a review about Beaver Creek Lodge (and Resort), I will come back to that in a moment. If you are into grilling, serious grilling, then you need a Big Green Egg (www.biggreenegg.com). The company sponsored this year's "Blues, Brews and BBQ Festival" held near BC Lodge and held a competition whereby 15 teams grilled up some of the most amazing chicken dishes (all contestants were given the same ingredients and had to cook them all on a BGE). The meats were all so juicy and tender, the veggies were crispy and delightfully smoked. Other award-winning chefs dished up bacon-wrapped, asparagus-stuffed pork chops. Highly recommended! And, no, I am not on their payroll...

Now, for what you really came to read. This the 8th or 9th year that my wife and I have stayed at BCL. It feels like a second home to us and we will be back again. The Lodge is cozy and intimate. If you need or want swank, posh and ritzy, this may not be the best place for you. BCL has all of this but on a personal level rather than an in-your-face affront to your senses. We have always stayed in a creek-side room as we enjoy the roar of the creek flowing by; the bed is very comfortable with a pillow-top mattress; the bathroom is roomy (I believe there are ADA rooms available); the gas log fireplace adds ambiance and there is a small kitchenette with a small fridge and microwave, enough for a quick breakfast or lunch. There is a nice indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna and workout room. Finally, there is a restaurant (Rocks) in the hotel for those rainy nights when you don't want to go out, plus a few gift shops. The only reason I give BCL a 4-star rating instead of 5-stars is that I have had some minor problems which maintenance or housekeeping quickly resolved but the property would be better served with more proactive maintenance and an eye to detail.

The best time of the year to go depends on what you want to do. If you want to do adventurous, outdoor activities, then May-July will be great as the nearby rivers are raging with the melting snow, perfect for white-water rafting. The aspens were just coming into full bloom while we there over Memorial Day weekend. There are also ATV rides, jeep tours, horseback rides, hiking trails and zip lining in the summer and, of course, skiing, horse-drawn sleds, and snowmobiles in the winter (we have yet to stay in the winter months as the rates rise very dramatically during this peak season.) The best time to watch leaves change is around mid-September to the end of the month, perhaps early October. Any time outside of the Memorial Day-to-Labor Day window is off-season with some restaurants and shops in the Resort village closed for the shoulder season, but if you want to be alone or with your loved one, this is a great time to come.

One more place to mention is the Northside Kitchen, located just north of I-70 on exit 167 in Avon. They place has some of the best food at the best prices in the area. The bake their own pastries in the morning and serve seafood pot pie, heavenly salmon that is cooked perfectly (for us, at least) and some of the best filets anywhere.

Room Tip: If you need a room with a view, get one on the Valley side. If you want the sounds of the creek rush...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    64
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
109
102
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful setting! Rooms were clean, quiet, and spacious. Hotel staff was always ready to help. We cooked s'mores on the patio. Great shops and restaurants in walking distance. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: You can't make a bad choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed at Beaver Creek Lodge two weeks ago. Since it was the off-season, it was very quiet and quite pleasant. We stayed in a room overlooking the creek however it also overlooked wall-to-wall hotels so I would recommend staying in a room with the Valley view. The front desk and concierge service was outstanding. Everyone made us feel welcome and were very helpful with suggestions for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is spotless and the King suite was lovely with a separate living room with TV, fireplace, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, etc. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was very modern and clean. I recommend staying at this fine establishment.

Room Tip: I recommend the King suite with a Valley view. Bring your own pillow, if possible. The pillows are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Beaver Creek Lodge for the past three years in October (shoulder season). The staff has always been very accommodating and hospitable. The hotel is very well kept and during this time of year, not crowded at all. If you are not into skiing but like the fall, I reccommend staying at the Beaver Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: We prefer the brook side rooms for a little more atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I visited Beaver Creek for the first time over Memorial Day weekend during the Blues, Brews and BBQ Festival. The Lodge staff was very nice and helpful. The restaurant was very yummy and we were pleasantly surprised by the size/layout of the room. It was also a perfect location for attending the festival. We had a great time and are already planning a trip back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MusicTraveler2
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

No place better than the beaver creek lodge for a family trip! We are regulars there now, so I want to make a couple hopefully helpful comments. For the folks who complained about carrying their skis back to the Lodge from the slopes (which isn't very far) there actually is ski in access via the skiers bridge. Just ask the staff. And for the woman who complained about the gate attendant in "what a disappointment" you should know that is not related to the lodge and not really relevant in a review.

As to our last trip, the late season snow was awesome, as usual. Just don't go up too early or it could be icy in spots. Generally speaking they have the best grooming around so it is good any time. Our kids loved the pool too, it is better than most up there. They will bring room service drinks to the hot tub but in a perfect world they would have a phone right there. Either way, we had a blast, again. We will be back next ski season.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My family had a great experience at Beaver Creek lodge over spring break. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful. The resort was beautiful and our suite was really nice and comfortable. Loved having the kitchenette and the fireplace. Christi ski rental on site and a restaurant was on site as well. Only complaint is to have to carry skis from slopes back to Christi sports. Highly recommend Beaver Creek Lodge!

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet as it's an open setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Creek Lodge

Address: 26 Avondale Lane, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaver Creek Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Beaver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Creek Hotel Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaver Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.