We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge, great staff, better locations on the mountain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elkhorn Lodge

Save Saved
You added Elkhorn Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elkhorn Lodge
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   51 Offerson Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miramar Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice lodge, great staff, better locations on the mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Giving the lodge credit on its own merits, it is a very nice place to stay. Very comfortable condo, great front desk staff no doubt. The only reason I wouldn't rank it excellent is due to its location. If there is any question about the snow conditions, check it twice, because Elkhorn lift will be one of the last to open. The booking agent told me the village shops and restaurants were a short walk on a heated side walk, NOT. The village is almost a quarter mile uphill and the side walk can be treacherous. We lost a good bottle of wine due to the ice. The shuttle is convenient but if you want the convenience of the village by walking, this is not the best choice. But all in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine7411, General Manager at Elkhorn Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thought the staff did a great job. the ski lift opening is not something we control and do try to let guests know what the operation dates are-we're sorry to have not communicated this more thoroughly to you. thanks for an otherwise great review! Kathy Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed at many wonderful places, but this ranks as one of our favorites! The lodge is beautiful, warm and inviting...A relaxed and amazingly decorated lodge..but the real difference is the staff..They met us with smiles and offers of assistance in unloading all our stuff from the vehicle..Then drove it to the parking garage! Now that is customer service at it's best!
They were always pleasant with all our interactions, even when we wanted to change rooms because of the lack of a view...They gave us a choice of two other rooms, and moved all our belongings while we went to the grocery store. We ended up in a fantastic room, with a patio for our afternoon drinks, and morning cup of coffee. Delightful, is the only word to desribe our long weekend at the Elkhorn Lodge. We will come back again, for a weekend of recharging our batteries...and enjoying the high country of Colorado...Red Sky Ranch golf course, isn't bad either!!!

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have great patio's . And they are just steps away from the hot tubs... no pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenslander
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited Beaver Creek from Australia for the first time for a family wedding in July at Beano's Cabin. We absolutely loved the decor of our apartment at the Elkorn and appreciate the thoughtfulness in decorating the apartment.
The staff were fantastic and greeted us in the carpark and willingly assisted with our luggage, getting us settled and any bookings that we needed during our stay for horse riding and bus to market square. Market Square was a short walk to bus trip away and a great meeting place at the end of the day. The ice skating rink was great entertainment for everyone including the young at heart.
The apartment was very spacious with 3 bathrooms and a wonderful laundry area and a great dvd selection, which the children were able to enjoy. The extra bathroom off the entrance hall was great for visiting guests. The bedrooms were enormous with comfortable beds as was the huge walk in wardobe which came in handy for storing the wedding outfits.
We wish we had decided to spend longer in Beaver Creek and are looking forward to coming back in January 2014 for the winter skiing and fun.

Room Tip: Any room you choose would be great at the Elkorn as they are so spacious and all decorated different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Thank God for ski-in ski-out in the true sense of the word! With its own seemingly private chairlift right at the backdoor and 10m from the ski-locker room, this is a true ski in/out lodge. We had a fabulous large and extremely comfortable 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment on the 2nd floor with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains and the ski lift behind, and could not have been happier. Beds where massive and very comfortable, the lodge was well decorated with no expense spared (as its Owners use it several times a year and we presume thankfully that they are wonderfully wealthy...they can afford to do it nicely for themselves, and we are much the better off because of it..!) The lodge staff are great and the service friendly without being "OTT USA", maybe thats a nice Colorado thing ?! The common areas were really good and comfortable and its a very relaxing family friendly resort lodge - highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the peak season Christmas to NY as thats when the Owners probably like to use it thems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

had a great time! so close to everthing yet very private and convienient. staff was excellant and knowledgable. felt like we had our own private lift! second time back would definately go back for third trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was our first trip to Beaver Creek (or any US ski resort, for that matter), however we have travelled to resorts in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Europe - so we have an idea what we like.
And this - WE LIKE!!!!
It is always difficult to book accommodation in a new ski resort, as you never quite can tell the topography. I was a little concerned we might be a little far away...
Not at all...
The location is perfect, and assisted both by luxurious shuttle buses and the ski lift out front (although it does not down-load - so it is not strictly a ski-in resort)
The condo was above expectations - with magnificent Ski-chalet chic and plenty of room for all (party of 2 adults and 2 teens)
The hot chocolate at the end of the day was much appreciated, as was the hot tub.
Beautifully clean, and the service was outstanding. - thank you especially to Lori.
Beaver Creek is a great resort for all ages - plenty of challenging skiing for all, and apres for adults (kids only need the interwebs and cable!)
Great restaurants, and plenty of bars....and cookies at 3pm!
Transfers from Denver with Mountain Express were very easy.

Advice - if you need to purchase groceries - pre-order for delivery, or make a trip to the Avon supermarket (can get there by shuttle and Gondola, with a bit if a walk). The BC market has very limited variety of gourmet foods -although great variety of wines!!

Loved Beaver Creek - and I doubt that we would stay anywhere else. Can't wait to return to the Elkhorn Lodge!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Booked the Elkhorn lodge for a one-week ski vacation in Feb. on advice from a family member who works with Vail Resorts. Everything was perfect, the location is convenient, the service was amazing and the room was beautiful and comfortable. I have never experienced better service! We were contacted pre-trip via email by the front desk/concierge staff and they gave us great recommendations for ski rentals (delivered directly to the lodge's lockers), transportation from the airport, restaurants, anything we needed! They encouraged us to gather around the "living room" fireplace and kept the fire roaring when we did; there is a media room with a big screen tv and complimentary hot beverages. They have their own ski lift just out the back door and there is an easy trail to ski back in. We could not have been happier and will definitely return to this wonderful property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elkhorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Lodge

Address: 51 Offerson Road, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty lodging in Beaver Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elkhorn Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Elkhorn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elkhorn Hotel Beaver Creek
Elkhorn Lodge Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elkhorn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.