We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, Excellent food and a sno-cat adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zach's Cabin

Zach's Cabin
214 Beaver Creek Place, Beaver Creek, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 76 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: (970) 754-6575, Zach's Cabin 214 Beaver Creek Place, Avon, CO 81620 (970) 754-6575‎
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service, Excellent food and a sno-cat adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Took the sno-cat ride up to Zach's with my family on a beautiful clear night in March. Service was attentive and knowledgeable and food was terrific. Though in some respects the food and the service were a bit over the top and it was pricey, it was all-in-all a great meal and great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great fold,atmosphere and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful restaurant and nice staff. We always go to anothe restaurant similar to Zachs in Beaver Creek. This was just as wonderful. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A "Don't miss" dining experience unlike any other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing views on the sleigh ride to and from the cabin in the mountains. Bundle up because it is chilly!
Cozy cabin feel with intimate setting.
Spectacular wine list with a menu to match. MUST try the foie gras with peanut butter and jelly monte cristo. We recommend you ask the chef what to order. You can't go wrong with this menu.
Just be aware that where you take off your coats is in the same area for everyone so keep your belongings together or marked to identify which one is yours to avoid mixups. We had a coat taken by someone else who mistook it for their own.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Snowy Sleigh ride to a fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to Zach's with high expectations that were certainly met. The friends we went with had been there before and raved about it. We anticipated that this would be the highlight of our ski trip to Beaver Creek. It was a snowy (open) sleigh ride - not as romantic as in a Norman Rockwell painting, it was cold and wet, it was very fun though! The restaurant is in a huge old cabin (more like a mansion than a cabin, on the ski slopes in Bachelor Gulch, that is only accessible via open air sleigh ride. We were greeted by a roaring fire in the massive central fireplace and EVERY employee greeted us! It was a warm and inviting atmosphere. Another note...the restaurant was fairly full, but you could still speak in a normal volume and be heard across the table, a rare situation in an American restaurant. Ah, and now about the food. We all ordered something different: Elk Tenderloin, Muscovy Duck, Beef Tenderloin, and the Ahi special. It was great being with such good friends that we were trading forkfuls of each entrée so each of us agreed that we liked what we ordered the best, but everything was magnificent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant sits on the mountain and you arrive by sleigh. Just a beautiful way to begin the evening. I ate the elk which was the best I have ever had. The wine list is one of the best I have ever seen with a number of top vintages. The sommelier, who personally created the wine list, is extremely knowledable and very friendly to boot. The staff was very friendly for the most part.

My only knock was that one of my friends had carried in a beer from the sleigh ride. The waiter basically scolded her for bringing it in to the restaruant, which is apparetely against Colorado law, and took the beer away. We didn't know and she certainly would not have never intentionally caused a problem. I just felt this could have been dealt with a little better.

Overall though, we really enjoyed the dining experience as well as the entire evening. Be prepared to spend some money, but if you love to dine, it is worth the expense.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zach's Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Zach's Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zach's Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.