We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy Sleigh ride to a fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zach's Cabin

Zach's Cabin
214 Beaver Creek Place, Beaver Creek, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 71 Restaurants in Beaver Creek
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: (970) 754-6575, Zach's Cabin 214 Beaver Creek Place, Avon, CO 81620 (970) 754-6575‎
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Snowy Sleigh ride to a fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to Zach's with high expectations that were certainly met. The friends we went with had been there before and raved about it. We anticipated that this would be the highlight of our ski trip to Beaver Creek. It was a snowy (open) sleigh ride - not as romantic as in a Norman Rockwell painting, it was cold and wet, it was very fun though! The restaurant is in a huge old cabin (more like a mansion than a cabin, on the ski slopes in Bachelor Gulch, that is only accessible via open air sleigh ride. We were greeted by a roaring fire in the massive central fireplace and EVERY employee greeted us! It was a warm and inviting atmosphere. Another note...the restaurant was fairly full, but you could still speak in a normal volume and be heard across the table, a rare situation in an American restaurant. Ah, and now about the food. We all ordered something different: Elk Tenderloin, Muscovy Duck, Beef Tenderloin, and the Ahi special. It was great being with such good friends that we were trading forkfuls of each entrée so each of us agreed that we liked what we ordered the best, but everything was magnificent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant sits on the mountain and you arrive by sleigh. Just a beautiful way to begin the evening. I ate the elk which was the best I have ever had. The wine list is one of the best I have ever seen with a number of top vintages. The sommelier, who personally created the wine list, is extremely knowledable and very friendly to boot. The staff was very friendly for the most part.

My only knock was that one of my friends had carried in a beer from the sleigh ride. The waiter basically scolded her for bringing it in to the restaruant, which is apparetely against Colorado law, and took the beer away. We didn't know and she certainly would not have never intentionally caused a problem. I just felt this could have been dealt with a little better.

Overall though, we really enjoyed the dining experience as well as the entire evening. Be prepared to spend some money, but if you love to dine, it is worth the expense.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

From the lovely sleigh ride up the mountain from the Ritz Carlton, to the enthusiastic and knowledgeable wait staff to amazing food Zach's cabin has it all. We sat by a roaring fire in a beautiful high ceilinged cabin enjoy fabulous food. Great for kids since they have a kids buffet as well. A must do experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“More about the experience than the food ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We took our family to Zach's Cabin at the suggestion of the hotel concierge. The main attraction of the restaurant lies in the fact that the restaurant is located on the mountain and you get there by a "sleigh ride" which is fact is a snow cat pulling up a huge trailer up the mountain departing from the Ritz Carlton. The views over Beaver Creek on the ride up and down are spectacular. The restaurant itself is cosy and inviting, although the food is at best mediocre. They offer a limited kids buffet (chicken thighs, beans and mac and cheese) which was pretty disappointing and our three children barely ate anything which was frustrating. However, I would say that Zach's Cabin is worth a visit for a memorable experience dining on the mountain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Save your money.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We finally gave Zach's a try after several years of trips to Bachelor Gulch. Well, it's okay, not great and frankly other than the location and decor it's really not much better than say a Morton's or Palm. They do offer some interesting entree choices like venison and bison, etc., but the entire experience was a bit too "corporate" for my taste. It didn't feel all that special. The wait staff really didn't seem to care and rarely came by our table, it was difficult to get their attention. I understand that given its location it costs a lot to bring up supplies, but the wine prices were ridiculous. All in all, I give it a "fair" rating. I think there are several other fine restaurants in area that I would prefer over this place.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zach's Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Zach's Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zach's Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.